We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grones
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

As every other reviewer has stated, this place is as close to perfect as possible. The Grones family who owns and operates the hotel all take a personal hand in management and hospitality; it must be in the genes, because they all strive to make the visit pleasurable for all. Take advantage of the 1/2 board and enjoy vast breakfast spreads and very high quality cuisine for dinner. The chef happens to be married to the Grones daughter, so the family has extended it control over all aspects of the hotel.

There is a wonderful spa in the downstairs area with several different types of saunas. These are of the highest quality, but are nudist only. It is still worth it to experience these world class saunas.

I could go on and on, but it would all be positive and highly complimentary of the Grones family, its staff and the top drawer accommodations. We intend to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

Only an ardent skier, looking to roll out of his bed directly onto the piste, would be hesitant about staying at the Hotel Grones. Our stay - a family party of six, including two 10yr-old boys - was one of the best we have all had. The hotel was spotless and modern, but with a traditional feel, and the staff were most helpful, friendly and attentive in the way found only in a family-owned and run hotel. The food was consistently excellent, and the wine cellar well stocked, especially with local wines, which were superb if sometimes a little pricey. The facilities for those of us not on the pistes all day were also excellent - a large pool, jacuzzi, solarium and the most impressive sauna complex. My wife celebrated her birthday while we were there, and the management and staff all helped make her day a wonderful occasion. All in all it was a wonderful week, and I can't recommend this hotel enough for either winter or summer holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burlington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Difficult one this. Part of me wants to keep this family-run hotel a well-kept secret; but it is difficult not to give rave reviews. We spent a week here and were blown away by the efficiency and warmth of the hospitality. The food is sublime. The place is spotless. The staff were just great and made the kids really welcome. The atmosphere among the other guests was terrific. Don't miss the sauna facilities downstairs: there are three saunas (Turkish, Finnish and bio); just the thing you need after a hard day's skiing.

For ardent skiiers who like to be closer to the slopes, you may want to be further up the valley, closer to the Sella; but for us at least, this was absolutely perfect, since we had good access to the cross-country skiing slopes and if you can easily acces the main domain via Seceda (but get up early to miss the crush at Furnes during the holiday period).

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

A great holiday,in a perfect resort and a very special hotel!
The hotel is sensational! All glitters, staff and services extraordinary!We felt as good as home.It is really a home away!
Room is very large and for the first time in a mountine resort,so furnished that you can put in the cabinets all clothes,when you're a family of 3 persons!
Pool large enough, very beautiful and never crowded!
Fabulous food at the restaurant and very diverse!Also excelent breakfast.
Indoor parking place for all rooms...for free! Excelent!
Congratulations Grones Team! You are doing a great job!You have definitely win us as frequently customers for the next years!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Everything was perfect in this hotel : the garage, the room, the restaurant, service....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

we spent two nights at the Hotel Grones in Ortisei and enjoyed every minute. We have traveled many times to Europe and Italy and this was one of our best stays. We stayed there with 1/2 board, breakfast and dinner - the dinners are not to be missed! The food was better than most 5 star restaurants we have eaten at. There is not a single thing that I would improve upon in this wonderful small inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Just Great. Couldn't be better.

Great Staff
Great Service
Great Rooms
The food was excellent (not worth going anywhere else for dinner).

Family Grones - always very friendly and helpful.

FAMILY CAMILLERI

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_Camilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
2.5 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 45 in Ortisei
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#6 of 45 in Ortisei
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
1.2 mi away
Grien
Grien
#13 of 45 in Ortisei
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grones

Address: Via Stufan 110, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#3 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range: £179 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grones 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grones is a recently built 4-star hotel located in Ortisei in Val Gardena, surrounded by the famous Dolomite Mountains. The family-run Hotel Grones offers tranquil accommodation and spa services such as swimmingpool, whirlpool, saunas and steam bath in an ideal setting: panoramic, quiet and sunny, only 5-6 minutes walking from the center of Ortisei town! 23 spacious rooms, all with balcony or garden. Garage parking place included in price. Try our gourmet kitchen: various and elaborated menus with high quality products and homemade specialities will surprise you day by day! We look forward to meet you! Fam. Grones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grones Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Grones Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing