We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great food, Great service”
Review of Hotel Grones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grones
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed four nights at this hotel and could not have asked for more. We enjoyed room service three of the four nights, and the employees were more than happy to accomodate us. The food was excellent; the view overlooking Ortisei and the mountains was spectacular, and our stay here was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimneyflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

All of the previous reviewers are correct; this hotel is outstanding in everyway. From rooms to service to food there is simply nothing with which to find fault. On a personal note, one of our party of four was feeling quite ill while at the hotel a doctor was found who spoke excellent English and treatment was prescribed and produced in short order. From then on the owner checked on our friend on a regular basis to make sure all was well. We felt at home and very pampered. The surrounding area is so lovely and with accommodations of this calibre we are already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Hotel Grones in Ortisei, Italy, is one of the best places we have encountered in our numerous trips to Europe. This family run hotel is only a few years old and in every aspect, the owners have thought of every detail …. the lights, the computer connections, the bathrooms …. all designed perfectly. The chef and the restaurant are superlative … the meals beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The staff is exceptional and the owners take particular care in introducing themselves to the guests- and they make sure that everything is as it should be. We look forward to returning to this delightful hotel set so magnificently in the Dolomites.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

In part thanks to previous Trip Advisor reviews, I selected the Hotel Grones for a one week stay. The newly built, family run hotel is extremely nice with excellent, spacious rooms with many up to date conveniences. A number of the rooms have terrraces with views over the town and Sassolungo in the distance. Ortesei/St Ulrich is in a beautiful location in the Val Gardena and makes an excellent base for hiking. The hotel is not inexpensive but appears to be competitively priced with other comparable four star hotels in the area.

The management and the staff of the hotel were extremely efficient , very friendly and very helpful with every request that we had ranging from recommendations for good hikes to quickly finding a local doctor when one was needed for our son.

We booked the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis only because of previous bad experiences with meals when we booked on a half board basis. However, as other reviewers have pointed out, the food at Hotel Grones is excellent. After trying the hotel dining room on our first night at the invitation of the manager, we ate all of our dinners for the week there due to the extremely high quality of the food. The food was an outstanding value- among the best we have found in many trips to Europe. The menu was a good mix of local specialties from the area with some more typical Italian dishes. There was also a good, well priced wine list with many local wines among the choices.

We highly recommend Hotel Grones and hope to return there someday. When we do, we hope that the experience will be every bit as enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

As soon as I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and checked out the hotel’s website I knew it was the ideal hotel for us.

After spending the previous week at Malcesine on Lake Garda, we travelled up to Ortisei and stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Grones to complete our lakes & mountains holiday in Italy. We were greeted warmly by Wilfried Grones and shown to our lovely spacious room on the 3rd floor, with beautiful views to the West from the flower decked balcony.

Everything about this family run hotel is excellent. An English version of the dinner menu was on our breakfast table each morning for us to choose which starter & main course we would like. The food is beautifully presented and tastes delicious. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect.

Our hire car remained in the hotel garage for the whole of our stay, because we purchased a 3day Valgardena Card for 55Euros (a 6day card is available for 69 Euros) which gives unlimited and free use of all the cable cars and chair lifts in Val Gardena that are open in the summer, as well as free travel on the local buses. We thought this was the perfect way to see the local area and was good value for money.

We enjoyed a lovely 4 days in Ortisei and even had perfect weather. We had never visited this area of Italy before, but fell in love with it and look forward to returning soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Hotel Grones… What a wonderful, beautiful, amazing place to stay! The food was absolutely exquisite. We had Tyrolean appetizers and live accordion music before our Friday night meal and a Gala dinner Saturday. Our teenage daughter thought they served the best food she had ever tasted. The location, unparalleled. The spa – 3 different saunas, all different temperatures and styles, complete with aromatherapy, candles and fresh lemonade. The staff—the most helpful, professional, and attentive we encountered in our 5 weeks in Europe, and previous trips as well. Just so you know this is a legit review, my wife offers a critique (it took work to get it out of her!): They gave lovely shampoo, but no conditioner. Teens need to be 16 to use the sauna and clothes are forbidden. Although the sign requests this, people wore clothes if they wanted to. The Jacuzzi is on the coolish by North American standards. We intend to return to Grones for a week in a few years. It was a most special experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hersh_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

What a find this family run hotel was for us. Every member of the family takes their full part in making you feel welcome and obviously work very hard to make this such a successful hotel. Their staff were so friendly and could not have been more helpful. We were only able to stay a few days and arrived the day before our wedding anniversary. After our arrival, my husband asked them to arrange for a bouquet of flowers for me and, with such short notice, there was a beautiful (what we call in Britain) classy, hand-tied bouquet on our table when we came down to breakfast the next morning. After breakfast, on our return to the bedroom, we had been left a bottle of champagne, strawberries and fruit and a card from the Grones family and their staff. This helped to make our anniversary very special.

The beautifully appointed bedroom had a stunning view of the surrounding town and mountains. The food was outstanding and the Head Chef must be congratulated for his creativity. Each course at dinner was a beautifully presented picture on the plate and tasted just as good as it looked. We looked forward to dinner each evening with great aniticipation.

We intend to return to the hotel and stay for longer next time to explore more of the Val Gardena and again enjoy the marvellous hospitality of the Grones family and their staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajrsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
2.5 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 45 in Ortisei
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#6 of 45 in Ortisei
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Rainell
Alpenhotel Rainell
#20 of 45 in Ortisei
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grones

Address: Via Stufan 110, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#3 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range: £179 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grones 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grones is a recently built 4-star hotel located in Ortisei in Val Gardena, surrounded by the famous Dolomite Mountains. The family-run Hotel Grones offers tranquil accommodation and spa services such as swimmingpool, whirlpool, saunas and steam bath in an ideal setting: panoramic, quiet and sunny, only 5-6 minutes walking from the center of Ortisei town! 23 spacious rooms, all with balcony or garden. Garage parking place included in price. Try our gourmet kitchen: various and elaborated menus with high quality products and homemade specialities will surprise you day by day! We look forward to meet you! Fam. Grones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grones Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Grones Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing