We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough, but not more than that” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luna Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good enough, but not more than that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel is rated 4* and probably deserves it. "Good" looks like the best word to characterize it - but do not expect more than that.
Location is not perfect but hotel ski bus can take you to the slopes in the morning and back to the hotel in the afternoon. The first day the driver made us wait for 45 minutes at Seceda and showed up only after we called him three times changing our tone from polite to anxious and than to quite irritated. After we complained at the reception he changed his attitude and we had no problems of that kind any more.
Breakfast is ample and decent, dinner is inconsistent - some dishes are outstanding, some are really mediocre. Good wine list is completely spoiled by incompetent service - the 50/euro Tuscany or Piedmont reds are serviced at room temperature... I do not blame the waiters - they try their best but the management seems not to care about such trifles.
Rooms are nice but we failed to find slippers - were brought after request.
There is a spa and swimming pool in the basement - the smell of chlorine chases you over the whole ground floor.
I am not the one who is always picking holes - the hotel is OK in general and worth the money you pay during the ski season. But it is not something "out of this world" as some reviewers say.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oleg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    76
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
114
101
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I spent a week here in February for a ski vacation. We were a group of 30. The hotel was wonderful. They seated us in one end of the dining room for breakfast and dinners. Although they wanted us to keep the same table , they didnt balk when we did our own seating. The food was very well presented and varied. The waiters were terrific. They dressed as women and carried on one night for carnival The local wine was superb. The bar, tended by Guido each night was lively, maybe more because our group of New Yorkers are party people. A seating room off the lobby was a nice quiet place to relax and read . The pool and sauna were a relaxing end to the ski day. Special kudos to Jahn the shuttle driver. He was always available and prompt to deliver us to the Gondola, pick us up and bring us to town. This is a family run establishment for I think 5 or 6 generations . They know how to accomodate guests.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and one side faces the mountain tram .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights in February, 2013 for a family holiday. Excellent hotel; nice, cozy, very clean rooms, helpful staff. Nice SPA/pool part for good relax after skiing - nice, warm water in swimming pool, good sauna area. Food: wide choice of tasty meals (for me - as I practically do not use salt - meats were too salty), meat, fish, pastas, yummy desserts. Tasty sweets and snacks at the hotel bar for those returning from skiing. Hotel is located close to Ortisei centre and 10 min walk from Alpe di Siusi lower station (ski shuttle excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

When viewing from outside the hotel was not very promising. Once I entered I was positively stuck by the nice lobby and extremely friendly staff. Rooms are big enough to feel very comfortable, even for a longer stay. Food (dinners !) is excellent. Shuttle service to the slopes never disappointed me - the Slovak driver was very helpful. First night was a bit too hot - had to ask temperature reduction. Did not use SPA nor kids area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciej U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere but maintains a very high standard of service.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed but did not have a mini bar or kettle.
The food was generous and the menus interesting and the quality very good. The bar was comfy and the complimentary snacks enjoyable. The spa facilities and pool were excellent.
The ski room facilities were good and the free hotel ski shuttle bus was brilliant.
All the staff were friendly and attentive.
Overall this is a very good hotel and a great place to stay for a ski holiday in Val Gardena. Ortisei is a beautiful and interesting small town and is well connected to the ski areas. We recommend you stay here rather than in Selva.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. My wife does not ski and had 2 very good treatments in the spa. The food was good particularly the pastries which were excellent. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and I would particularly like to complement the man who drives the hotel ski bus, nothing was too much trouble for him.

This is the place to stay if you require a quite sophisticated hotel next to one of the best ski areas in the world.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Lets start with the great - The shuttle service to the slopes run by the extremely attentive Attilla is top notch..
The good - rooms are a good size and restaurant had good food.
The average - What you ordered not always what you got food wise, the bar area was tired.
The poor - What could be a great wellness suite was ruined by out of control kids running in & out of sauna and steam rooms, despite the no under 16 signs, and the noise they made in the relaxation area made it impossible to relax - good if you want to abondon your kids, but not good for actual relaxation.Staff passed through but ignored the problems. The ski room is not big enough when hotel busy and very tired.
The very poor, our shower provided constantly running cold water but if you wanted hot it came out at a drip, and sometimes hot water had run out in the evenings...
We went with another couple that did not get the room with bath they had paid extra for and told this could not be rectified for 24 hours, no appology either was forthcoming which would probably have been sufficient to rectify.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
1.8 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Mondschein

Property: Hotel Luna Mondschein
Address: Via J. b. Purger 81, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Luna Mondschein is a Family-run 4 star Hotel since 1878. The familiar ambiance gives the Hotel a Special charm. We offer wellbeing in attractive surroudings and with lots of personal Flair. Our Hotel is located in the picturesque town of St. Ulrich in Val Gardena, nestled between the fascinating Dolomites of the UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site. Connected to Europe's largest ski carousel Dolomiti Superski and at the heart of the hiking paradise Val Gardena, St. Ulrich offers diverse recreational programmes. Lovingly and individually furnished rooms with an atmosphere of wellbeing await you at the Hotel Luna Mondschein. The uniqueness, warmth and friendly atmosphere combine to make you feel right at home. Our kitchen staff will charm you with indigenous specialties from homemade Tyrolean dishes and Mediterranean light cuisine and prepared daily from the freshest ingredients. The salad buffet with fresh salads, boiled and grilled vegetables, the cheese board and dessert buffet will inspire you. On request, the kitchen also offers gluten-free dishes to. You can spend enjoyable, relaxing hours in our Spa area. Find peace and an inner balance here, and relax your muscles and recharge your batteries for some hard work in the cardio fitness room. Spending time in the Finnish sauna, Turkish steam bath or aroma steam bath and relaxing in our indoor pool with cave, waterfalls and massage jets is our health and wellbeing recipe for you. A bathrobe, slippers and spa bag are available in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luna Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Mondschein Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing