We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luna Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Fünfhaus, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Luna and having visited the area for the 3rd time I must assume, that it was definitely not the best hotel there. The breakfast was quite poor, no way to get salad or toasts. Dinner was much better, nothing to complain about food, but not all vines from the vine card are available. The personal at restaurant and bar is very friendly and speaks several languages, what can't be said about some workers from reception - one girl spoke almost no English; once we asked to check if the night skiing was opened and the didn't even care to give a call to the place persuading us it had to be working, so we spent time and money on taxi to find out it was closed. And many more occasions like that have happened, so don't expect to get any information at the reception.
The rooms are quite cosy but the lobby is very small, I would assume that a 4-star hotel has to be more fancy. The swimming pool was very cold several days. But the worst thing that spoiled everything for us was the internet - it just doesn't work at all! No place in the whole hotel where you will get a wi-fi signal and there is nothing they can suggest you at reception.
So if you need to keep in touch with the outside-the-valley world, have some work to be done or simply need to get any information about tickets or opportunities of the area - better choose another place! But if you are just going for skiing and don't need any extras like nice food, good spa and extremely friendly stuff - Luna is quite fine.

Enjoy your vacation!

Room Tip: Try to get one with the windows that don't face the road - it's quite loud! And watch out, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yevgeniya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    76
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
114
101
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We've just returned from 2 weeks staying in Luna. In summary: 6/10 breakfast – pretty good for Italy as a whole comparing to Austria/Germany etc. only because of juicer – it made my day . 9/10 dinner – they provide a set menu every day with an option to choose 3 different exquisite meals. 7/10 rooms – we had De Luxe –it didn’t seem so really, although room is bright, but no mini bar etc. Location 5/10 – 10 minutes up-hill walk to the city center if you need to shop, but if you want to go skiing, then bus-shuttle will do it immediately, as well as he will pick you up in 10 minutes tops – really fast. 9/10 SPA is relatively cheap and of good quality, but from 5 p.m. too many people there relaxing in the area. 1/10 Wi-Fi – It’s just ridiculously slow. You can’t update your Instagram and similar photo-related apps. E-mail – fine. All in all – I would say 7/10

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuvakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Beautiful hotel with sophisticated and detailed common spaces. The restaurant is very elegant. Both the dinner and the breakfast are really up to the expectations and service is impeccable.
Great room: very spacious, comfortable and bright, looks new as well as the forniture. The only weak point of the entire hotel is wireless Internet: too slow, almost unusable, but it is a problem caused by the old network that afflicts the whole village of Ortisei and they are working on it, they say.
Few words in order to synthetize this magnificent hotel: quality, abundance, elegance and many services always available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J2U5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, clean and cozy
Wide choice of dishes very well done
Service is kind and attend to guests needs
SPA and SPA services good and professional
Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday in a comfortable and rafinated environement

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaKatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spent a week in March here with the whole family, being 3 generations, for a skiing vacation. The hotel itself is a classic building, very tastefully renovated without losing it's old charm. Meaning high ceilings with beautiful chandeliers, traditional decorations, wooden floors and stairs covered with very nice carpets going together with modern technologies like LED courtesy lights in the stairways, automatic corridor lighting a perfect pool and spa area, very nice, clean and modern rooms with computerized heating and an underground parking area leaving your car warm and safe to be reached without having to go outside.

The hotel is just small enough for you to be known as a guest and being treated as "part of the family" but just large enough to stay ahead of expectations. The staff is extremely helpful and very warm and nice to little children (and the others as well). This was very pleasant since the 3rd generation was just 1.5 years old. They had strawlers we could borough, a rucksack for carrying kids, they prepared special baby meals when you wanted (which are of great quality and taste) just had to ask at the reception and it was taken care of. Both bartender and waiters in the restaurant always had/made time for kidding around with kids, giving us the feeling that we were all extremely welcome.

around 15.00 in the Stube the table is covered with Apfel Strudels and other delicious pies and sweets for everyone returning from skiing. After 17.30 the pies make place for other snacks to be enjoyed with drinks from the very cosy bar. Dinner is just great. There is always a choice of different dishes and all very tasty. The wine list is very good and especially the white housewine (weissburgunder) has an exceptional price/quality.

So basically a very nice hotel, very clean, with extremely nice staff that does everything possible to make you feel at home in their house in which in our case they succeeded completely.

Nothing to complain? Well.....in order to make you feel welcome, the standard bedroom temperature in the system might be overdoing it a bit for some. This can very easily be changed at the reception in the computerized heating system, but if you don't know that, you might have a somewhat tropical first night trying to reduce the temperature at the heaters in your room without any luck.

The hotel provides free wireless internet (which is a good thing) that works most of the times, but when all the guests come back around the same time connecting their smartphones, tablets and laptops to the network, it sometimes crashes for an hour or so. No need to say that that always happens just when you are in the middle of a very important activity (posting on Facebook or so ;-) )

Minor details that are hardly worth mentioning, we just had a great week.
We will definitely come back soon to this "home away from home".

Room Tip: the rooms on the 2nd floor have very good baby phone coverage throughout the whole hotel (for what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel is rated 4* and probably deserves it. "Good" looks like the best word to characterize it - but do not expect more than that.
Location is not perfect but hotel ski bus can take you to the slopes in the morning and back to the hotel in the afternoon. The first day the driver made us wait for 45 minutes at Seceda and showed up only after we called him three times changing our tone from polite to anxious and than to quite irritated. After we complained at the reception he changed his attitude and we had no problems of that kind any more.
Breakfast is ample and decent, dinner is inconsistent - some dishes are outstanding, some are really mediocre. Good wine list is completely spoiled by incompetent service - the 50/euro Tuscany or Piedmont reds are serviced at room temperature... I do not blame the waiters - they try their best but the management seems not to care about such trifles.
Rooms are nice but we failed to find slippers - were brought after request.
There is a spa and swimming pool in the basement - the smell of chlorine chases you over the whole ground floor.
I am not the one who is always picking holes - the hotel is OK in general and worth the money you pay during the ski season. But it is not something "out of this world" as some reviewers say.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oleg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I spent a week here in February for a ski vacation. We were a group of 30. The hotel was wonderful. They seated us in one end of the dining room for breakfast and dinners. Although they wanted us to keep the same table , they didnt balk when we did our own seating. The food was very well presented and varied. The waiters were terrific. They dressed as women and carried on one night for carnival The local wine was superb. The bar, tended by Guido each night was lively, maybe more because our group of New Yorkers are party people. A seating room off the lobby was a nice quiet place to relax and read . The pool and sauna were a relaxing end to the ski day. Special kudos to Jahn the shuttle driver. He was always available and prompt to deliver us to the Gondola, pick us up and bring us to town. This is a family run establishment for I think 5 or 6 generations . They know how to accomodate guests.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and one side faces the mountain tram .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
1.8 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Mondschein

Property: Hotel Luna Mondschein
Address: Via J. b. Purger 81, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Luna Mondschein is a Family-run 4 star Hotel since 1878. The familiar ambiance gives the Hotel a Special charm. We offer wellbeing in attractive surroudings and with lots of personal Flair. Our Hotel is located in the picturesque town of St. Ulrich in Val Gardena, nestled between the fascinating Dolomites of the UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site. Connected to Europe's largest ski carousel Dolomiti Superski and at the heart of the hiking paradise Val Gardena, St. Ulrich offers diverse recreational programmes. Lovingly and individually furnished rooms with an atmosphere of wellbeing await you at the Hotel Luna Mondschein. The uniqueness, warmth and friendly atmosphere combine to make you feel right at home. Our kitchen staff will charm you with indigenous specialties from homemade Tyrolean dishes and Mediterranean light cuisine and prepared daily from the freshest ingredients. The salad buffet with fresh salads, boiled and grilled vegetables, the cheese board and dessert buffet will inspire you. On request, the kitchen also offers gluten-free dishes to. You can spend enjoyable, relaxing hours in our Spa area. Find peace and an inner balance here, and relax your muscles and recharge your batteries for some hard work in the cardio fitness room. Spending time in the Finnish sauna, Turkish steam bath or aroma steam bath and relaxing in our indoor pool with cave, waterfalls and massage jets is our health and wellbeing recipe for you. A bathrobe, slippers and spa bag are available in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luna Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Mondschein Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing