We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”
Review of Tubladel

Tubladel
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$72
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Food ok, nothing special and for sure not worth nr 1 place on trip advisor. I had lunch with my wife and 4 kids. I had the feeling we were not very welcome. The headwaiter was very unfriendly. I will not come back to this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank JansenPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    458
    108
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Heading home after a drive of the Passo Del Stelvio, we stopped at the first restaurant along the road that was easily accessible. The food was unexpectedly great! The meats were well cooked, the pasta nicely sauced, and the desserts, especially the chocolate, was superb. Our waiter spoke 3 languages. The price was high, and there was nothing special about the location, but it was the best "I'm hungry NOW" stop I've ever made.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great food, yet a bit too salty for our taste”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The place has a traditional wood cabin charm to it. The food was great, but a bit too salty for our taste. We tried the tiger prawn spaghettini and the duck breast with Bok Choi and candied chestnuts. They were both good. The duck breast was succulent, pink on the inside, nicely caramelized on the outside. The tiger prawns were slightly overcooked but not too bad. The house wine was a good deal and tasted great. We would definitely recommend Tubladel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great restaurant in a great location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Tubladel is the restaurant i love to go when I have my vacation in Ortisei.
The venue is really nice and old fashion and the food is really good: tasty but also innovative, since I discover something new every time I go there.
The family that owns the place is the typical sud-Tyrolean one, German inside with Italian attitude for food, so organization and great cuisine, even if, I understand some can think they are a bit too cold.
Going to the food, I would not leave the restaurant without trying the pork ribs they prepare, their secret sauce is making this my favorite meal in norther Italy. If you are not gluten intolerant (just like me) I would suggest the potato and mushroom soup cooked into a local bread container.
And then, kill yourself with any of the fantastic desserts they have, including the canederli and the strudel (still for gluten tolerant :-)).
The wine list is really good as well and not more expensive than other restaurant, but pay attention to good wines, they are expensive here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anfienga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and delicious regional specialties”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in nearby Kastelruth for only 2 nights and had dinner at Tubladel on a Sunday evening. They were busy, parking lot was full, but service was never lacking. Staff were friendly, the food, featuring local specialties like knoedel and polenta with black truffles, was terrific. The wine was a Gewuertztraminer from the Walch domaine, also really delicious. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pas110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tubladel also viewed

Ortisei, Val Gardena
Ortisei, Val Gardena
 

Been to Tubladel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing