We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence Beyond All Expectation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellence Beyond All Expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We made the long haul from NYC, based on our wonderful experience at their sister hotel inTuscany two years ago. The US school vacation fell earlier than the European countries Spring break which a) enabled us to secure the Adler accommodation and b) miss the huge family crowds of Italians and french. The fierce winds in NY delayed our fight for two days, so our long trip only netted us five days in Ortesei but it was so worth the long trip. The hotel experience is beyond 5 stars and I travel all over the world staying in top hotels, so no confusion on excellence. But the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed with extraordinary facilities for my yogi wife who didn't want to ski all the time and amazing pools for the kids. We are now in Milan for a few days and will be unable to eat much, following five nights of six course amazing dinners at Adler, all within an amazing value half-board package. The skiing was tremendous and my wife was able to walk to many of the mountainside restaurants (do try Sanon Hutte for lunch on the mountain).
It was such an amazing experience that I cannot speak highly enough about Hotel Adler, especially to introduce the kids to healthy wonderful Italian food (yes, no chicken nuggets and fries!) and for them to experience European culture and lifestyle.
An amazing break at a extraordinary hotel which exceeded our extremely high expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    208
    53
    13
    7
See reviews for
563
811
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

I spent 5 days at this hotel with two girlfriends for a "spa break" in May - taking advantage of excellent off-season rates. I wouldn't pay regular prices for this hotel but the off-season deal was fabulous - half-board including the wonderful buffet breakfasts and huge dinners described so accurately elsewhere in the reviews. We each had very comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking the charming town, although i would have been less keen if the rooms had been on the other side.

Facilities at the hotel, particularly the pools, are fabulous. My only gripe is the spa itself, the quality of the treatments is patchy and the "therapists" seem quite inexperienced and merely following some manual somewhere - not worth the hefty additional prices.

The town of Ortisei is a delight and the nearby cablecar takes you to a wonderful mountain world from where you can hike or just sit in the cafe and eat excellent pasta.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellingDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in the summer and had a wonderful time. The room was great with a superb view of the Dolomites from the balcony. The hotel organised walking tours in the mountains which were the high points of our stay - the guide took us on mountain routes we would not have ventured on by ourselves. Oh, and the food was great!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rank01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONITA SPRINGS, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

ADLER SPA RESORT, ORTISEI, ITALY

Let me start out by saying that I loved this hotel, and I hope to return here often. The hotel is in the town of Ortisei which is located in a valley with rushing river and views of the Dolomites. There is a cable car nearby that takes one to a spot where there is one of natures most magnificent views and many hiking trails.
The room (Superior double) was large and well furnished with both a desk and a vanity table. There was a balcony with table and chairs and a view of the Dolomites. There was also a sitting area with two comfortable chairs a table and 36" panel TV. The king bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a large soaking tub as well as a stall shower, and separate toilet/bidet room. The lighting throughout was very good. There was also a good sized closet and lots of drawer and shelf space. Although they do have those annoying non-removable hangers, the staff brought us regular hangers within minutes of our request. The staff is wonderful. Requests are handled quickly and with a smile. The combination of Italian warmth and German efficiency works well.
Our off season (Late May) rate included breakfast and dinner, plus all the spa facilities (spa treatments are extra). We stayed for one week. The food is 90% Italian and 10% German. The food is excellent and abundant, and compares favorably with our experience on the Regent cruise line. At each evening meal there is an expansive buffet plus a full 5 course menu, and everything is delicious. The extensive wine list is quite reasonanbly priced. Breakfast is a grand buffet plus omelet station, crepes station, and everything else that I might want except for herrings which were absent. If one chooses the optional 17 Euro lunch there is another buffet plus a 4 course menu and dessert buffet. At all meals there is a full selection of about a dozen different breads which one slices to order. Sorry, no bagels at breakfast to have with their fabulous smoked salmon and cream cheese, I have to rough it with a baguette.
There is entertainment at dinner. One evening there is a guy in lederhosen singing German songs and occasionally yodeling. Some diners sing along.
The extensive spa has the usual spa menu plus many treatments unknown to us, and also has a doctor on staff for who knows what. There are many large pools with differing characteristics. Some are indoor and some are outdoor and others are indoor/outdoor. Most are heated to 88 degrees, one is at 92 degrees, and another is unheated. They all contain imaginative and relaxing moving water features. There are deluges of falling water, there are areas with Jaccusi style water massages (some are 10 times stronger than our hot tub in FL). One has the choice of sitting, standing or lying down and being massaged by warm water. Two of the pools are salt water, the rest are fresh water. Everyone is wearing robes, some even wear them to breakfast and/or lunch. We enjoyed the pools daily. No, that is too weak a statement we LOVED the pools.
We were the only Americans in the hotel during our stay. The staff speak German and Italian, and they attempt English with fair to expert ability. We had no trouble communicating and any translation difficulties were handled with good humor by all. There is no doubt, however, that we are in a part of Italy that was Austrian until about 90 years ago. The locals speak German to each other with a smattering of Italian thrown in so we hear things like, "Mama mia das ist gut."
This hotel also has a full no cost daily program from 9:30AM to 9:00PM for children.
My only complaints are: only one phone in the unit, no nightly turn down (however, we requested fresh towels nightly and they were delivered nightly), a charge for internet use of .70 Euro for the first minute and .10 Euro for each additional minute, no doorman, no concierge (though the front desk staff was extremely helpful), only six (children's) movies in English and three English news channels. Other than these minor faults this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maven2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

We just came back from Adler hotel.
Have been there for the 4th time in three years.

As always excellent hotel excellent food and clean.
The spa is one of the best.

432 EUR per person for four nights full board.

Excellent price.

You also get a voucher for 50 EUR for a treatment.

  • Liked — romantic
  • Disliked — no body lotion
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

We have just come back from the Adler Wellness resort in Ortesei. We visited the sister hotel in April this year and this is every bit as good. The scenery is breathtaking and the hotel and it's staff superb. The food is good and breakfast in particular is better than any I have had. The owner Elly Sanoner greeted everbody at dinner and also came to say goodbye when you left, she is the most gracious hostess I have ever met at any hotel.

If you are into skiing this is the best base ever, you can come out of your hotel room in the Vital Residenz and straight onto a ski lift. There are so many runs around St Ulrichs that you never have to ski the same run twice. Then back to the hotel and pamper yourself with a treatment, message or thermal swim. Relax on warm water beds and watch the sunset over the snow covered mountains in the distance. Heaven............

Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2007

I'm used to stay at 5* stars hotel for my trips all around the world and I go every year to Val gardena for holiday so I couldn't miss a stay at The Adler.

It's a real 5* stars hotel, certainly one of the best hotel of the world if we talk about property at mountains. All the facilities are great, the fitness center and the pools are excellent, the Spa is amazing, with very well prepared staff. The restaurant offers very high quality food both for breakfast (great buffet) and for dinner. For example, the ordinary dinner is composed of 4/5 delicious dishes but at the end of you really feel light as you ate only a small steak. And don't forget the afternoon breakfast in which you'll be delighthed with home-made cakes.

And all in a stunning enviroment, with amazing view of the Dolomiti.
Two important tips:
1. The only cons are the standard rooms that look a bit old. Book a Superior Room, the difference in price really woth the money
2. If you look at the hotel site, there are often interesting promotions (for example, the short stay)

  • Liked — Everything but standard room
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank doledes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
2.1 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adler Balance
Hotel Adler Balance
#6 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort

Property: Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
Address: Via Rezia 7, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ortisei
#2 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#2 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star hotel in Val Gardena, UNESCO Dolomites, with spa and wellness centre, biggest Water World of the Dolomites and all year daily guided outdoor programme (skiing, snowshoeing, trekking, mountainbiking, a.s.o.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Dolomiti Spa And Sport Resort
Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Hotel Ortisei
Adler Dolomiti Hotel
Adler Dolomiti Ortisei
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing