We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grien
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arnaria(Ortisei)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Emilia(Ortisei)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Digon(Ortisei)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luna Mondschein(Ortisei)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fortuna(Ortisei)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Angelo Engel(Ortisei)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
172
64
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
64
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese tastingfamily run propertylounge chairssmall hotelsasso lungoowners and staffsanta christinabefore dinnerfamily roomhalf boardsella rondamonicarainiershuttlegourmetpaulotown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The hotel is spotlessly run by the Avesani Family. We stayed in the "Suite Relax" which is separated from the main building (a 20-second walk) and hence very private and quiet. The spa facilities are really very good. The service is impeccable although a bit too formal for a family run hotel. The food is just perfect. A different set of choices every night, and a fantastic list of wines to go with it. I would encourage anyone to get some wine suggestions from Monika as she really seems to know the stuff. The location is a bit far from the town centre, but the hotel mini bus service was always at out disposal and we never had to wait for more than 5 minutes for it. In conclusion a great hotel that I would recommend to couples or families. RC - London

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyson_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We couldn't rate this family-run hotel more highly. Everything was wonderful: the friendly staff, delicous food, stunning views, lovely decor and the fantastic spa/relaxation area in the basement. We were skiing and found the shuttle bus service brilliant for getting to the lifts. Some of our group who couldn't get into the Grien were staying nearby and we arranged for them to join us for dinner each night - and picked them up in the morning! The only criticism I could make is that the food was so good and plentiful that we ate far too much!! We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Knowing I wanted to go to the Dolomites, I researched hotels and read reviews for months-- and I am very picky. Regarding the distance. The way Ortisei is layed out, I am not convinced being right down town is that beneficial. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you back and forth as much as you want. Depending on the season, if the weather is nice, you could easily walk back and forth. The service of the hotel staff is excellent and they are all friendly. What made the hotel a 5 star is the food- all home-made and AMAZING. I plan to find an excuse to get back. If I had to say something negative it would be about the shower, could have been just our room, but it could use updating.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We have stayed in very luxurious hotels and the Hotel Grien is like a breath of fresh air. It is a spectacular setting and the owners take great pride in their mountain and its views. The hotel is extremely clean and everyone is exceptionally accommodating. We were fed upon our arrival at 10PM even though the kitchen was closed. The staff will drive you to the slopes and shops in the lovely Val Gardena region.
We had the same table for each meal and it felt like home. The owner is the chef and the meals were wonderful. Overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiller1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

excellent food, very friendly staff and ideal for little children because of the hospitality, the cleanliness and the patience of the owner

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karamelaEgion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews