We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, outstanding staff”
Review of Hotel Genziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Genziana
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, outstanding staff”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The rooms at Genziana are generally very fine and comfortable, refurbished to a modern standard and considerably spacious, whether it is a two room family suite, a standard double or even a single. The sizeable downstairs hall also provides plenty of seating space and a wireless internet coverage.

Their wonderful restaurant offers a very broad selection of different dishes every dinner and an excellent wine list, containing many fine examples of both entry level and some very upscale wines from the owner’s collection. The self-service salad bar provides a selection of 20-30 different starters, while the various meals from the several course main menu are prepared to a very high standard, often with a gourmet take. Every night there is plenty to choose from regardless of one’s personal tastes.

The owner family and all the staff are extremely approachable, providing for a splendid friendly atmosphere. The brilliant dining hall manager and his sense of humour and vocal abilities were especially memorable.

Genziana is conveniently positioned right on the main street of central Ortisei in the shopping and café district. The main ski lift is just around the corner, only a couple of minutes walk away.

Hotel services include a spa and wellness centre and a fairly substantial swimming pool for a mountain resort.

Overall, Genziana is great in all respects. Would certainly recommend it for an enjoyable ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    65
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
115
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This was the 4th time that my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Genziana. This time we stayed for 3 nights. Our family group consisted of 11 individuals which included 4 teenagers. We had a wonderful time- even the teenagers! The rooms were great- spotless and large. We took 1/2 board and the dinners were magnificent. Even a picky 16 year old girl found plenty of food to eat. The food at breakfast and dinner was fresh and well cooked. The dinners had selections that I never expected, and I would consider the dinners gourmet.
Nine members of our family also took advantage two of the hotel’s complimentary guided hikes. Lukas, the hotels guide, took us to places that we would have been afraid to venture on our own. Lukas knows the trails of the Val Gardena very well and is an extremely nice, entertaining gentleman. While we hiked one of the ladies of the group and the 16 year took advantage of the hotels beautiful spa.
My family and I have never encountered a friendlier hotel staff from the Bernardy family that owns the hotel, to Franco who runs the dining room, to restaurant staff and room staff. My wife and I are looking forward to returning to the Genziana for an entire week the next time so that we can experience the entire hotel and Ortisei have to offer that you cannot experience in just three nights.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fastest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and I spent 3 days at Hotel Genziana and it's alway funny how websites looks so good and when you get to the hotel, its a little let down. First, it has a perfect location in the center of town. Very convenient to shops, lifts, etc. The room was "ok". Although, I was suprised that there was not a single picture or decoration on any wall...Indoor pool and spa was nice I must say. Now, we paid "extra" for the 6 coarse meal and they put us in the back, in a room that only had 4 tables. The big dining area was full, but are table was in the back (with the family with a baby and a family with 2 son's in wheelchairs). Maybe because we were Americans...LOL. We found out the next morning at breakfast that you can not sit anywhere to eat, you have to go to your table for each meal. The heck with that and the amount we paid! So, next two nights we ate out at different local pizzia resturant. I must say, pizzia and other items was Great. This is the part of a vacation you have to experience. Not stuck in the hotel eating hotel prepared food. Next visit- diff hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeVicAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hn64, Proprietario at Hotel Genziana, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear MikeVicAlabama,

we are sorry your stay with us was not what you expected.
As you said the hotel was full and as there were no departures during your stay, we had no chance to change your table. Most of the guests appreciate to have the same table for breakfast and dinner.
You won''t believe but the room on the back you mentioned is the most requested room in our restaurant.
We do not know what you mean with "hotel prepared food" as we prepare every single dish for every single guests and we really try very hard. It is a pity that you tried our cuisine only the first evening.
Just one last question: where in your opinion should parents with 2 sons in wheelchairs spend their holiday ?
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Hotel Genziana offers superb quality of comfort, courtesy, friendliness, professionalism, as well as excellent cuisine. It is located in the centre of this delightful little town, yet rooms are quiet. Swimming pool and spa facilities are well designed. Ortesei offers many oportunities for walkers of all ages and abilities and is highly recommended as a good resort from which to explore the stunning Dolomites.

  • Liked — Quality of staff and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oldwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We had a great stay at this family run hotel over the Christmas period. The food was outstanding and plentiful and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It is situated in the middle of Ortisei so ideally located for ski lifts, and the ski bus serving the val gardena valley departs from the square opposite the hotel.
The spa and pool area were very welcome at the end of a hard day on the piste! Would definitely return there.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank frinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

Hotel Genziana was an amazing hotel with fabulous views, rooms, food, and staff! My husband and I went to Ortisei in early October. We had a beautiful room with gorgeous wood paneling and a great balcony that overlooked the town. Huge bathroom with separate toilet/bidet area. Wonderfully comfortable bed! Our stay included parking in their garage, breakfast and dinner! Breakfast was great and the wait staff was so nice! Dinner was beyond compare! 6 course meal with all sorts of choices! I had Osso Buco, while my husband had roast duck...amazing!
Friendly, caring staff! Beautiful pool and spa area. Enjoyed a mud bath in their spa and met the nicest lady.
Would definitly go back to Hotel Geniziana and would reccomend to anyone!!

  • Liked — Great courtious staff and the great food!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at this hotel, you won't be sorry!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mbpeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 April 2006

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a ski vacation Mid-March. We had a superior room with a balcony facing the Sella massif. The room was larger than many rooms we've stayed in while in Europe. It had a sitting area much like a small suite. The room was modern with light colored wood and lots of storage space for all our ski paraphenalia. And if the room wasn't enough, the food certainly put it over the top. We had breakfast and dinner most days. The dinners were outstanding, both in preparation and presentation. The combination of Italian and Austrian influences make for fine meals. Service was also excellent. We felt well looked after by the staff.
Oh, and don't miss a cappucino and a piece of apple strudel at the end of your ski day in the lounge or outside in the cafe if the sun is shining. I've never had better apple strudel.
This hotel is in the center of town just steps away from the new escalator/moving sidewalk system to the lifts. The location is great for skiers. Finally,the hotel has a lovely underground pool with a skylight and spa services.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 46 in Ortisei
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 46 in Ortisei
436 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#9 of 46 in Ortisei
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genziana

Property: Hotel Genziana
Address: Str. Rezia 111, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#10 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genziana 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Genziana, situated in the traditional centre of Ortisei in the heart of Val Gardena, boasts a privileged position in the middle of the fabulous Dolomites. At this exclusive 4-star-superior-hotel, which was completely renovated in 2013, will await you a cosy and elegant atmosphere, where you'll feel like home. Family Bernardi welcomes you! To make your holiday at the Hotel Genziana in Ortisei unique and unforgettable, we offer total well-being, lots of sports and complete relaxation. Let yourself be tempted by our excursions, fitness room, and summer and winter sports! The summer invites you to long hikes, walks, bike tours and many other activities in the mountains. Besides that, the pedestrian area in Ortisei offers numerous shopping opportunities. In winter the Dolomites offer winter sports enthusiast optimal excursion opportunities. In Val Gardena you can reach the Dolomiti Superski, one of the most beautiful ski arenas, with the famous Sella Ronda. Amazing views onto the mountains of our valley and beyond can be gained from the local mountains of Ortisei: the “Raschotz”, the “Seceda”, the mountains of the Alpe di Siusi, the Monte Piz and the Col de Mesdi. All these mountains can be reached comfortably by cable railway starting from the centre of the village. At 1.236 meters above sea level, Ortisei in Val Gardena offers an ideal altitude for both your summer and winter holidays in South Tyrol. The Hotel Genziana offers you traditional and delicious dishes, lovingly prepared with healthy, fresh and regional products. The combination of traditional Italian and South Tyrolean cuisine is a special taste experience for everyone. Every day we spoil you with new refined creations from our gourmet kitchen. In the preparation of our dishes we use certified South Tyrolean quality products as the regional character is something we regard as very important. Our stylishly furnished restaurant is the perfect setting for the sensory delight. To go with your meal we serve the finest wine from South Tyrol, Italy, Bordeaux and the rest of the world. Wellness: After a long and eventful day in the mountains our wellness area is the best place to relax and fill up new energy. Let yourself be caressed by the water in our indoor swimming pool and the bubbles in our whirlpool tub or relax in the reinvigorating heat of a sauna or Turkish bath. Just a quick glance at the services we include and you'll already feel you're on holiday! For your kids the Hotel Genziana offers a small playground in the garden and a playroom with table tennis, table football and climbing wall as well as a computer with “touch screen” and many games. In addition we offer a summer kids program full of action and surprises: in July and August Lena will look after your child/children from 4.30 to 8.30 pm (Monday to Friday), organizing treasure hunts, face painting, playing, cooking and having fun together. If wished, we can gladly organize a competent nanny for payment. The team of the 4-star-superior-Hotel Genziana puts great effort into ensuring an exclusive and relaxing holiday for you and your loved ones. We want you to feel good. Our staff is friendly, qualified and competent and pursues one aim only: to make your holiday to a dream holiday in the Dolomites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Genziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genziana Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Genziana Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing