We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Hotel am Stetteneck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Classic Hotel am Stetteneck
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We came to Ortisei for one night only. The hotel is located right in the center, with free parking. Paid 200 EU for 5 persons incl. breakfast.
Rooms are wide, clean and cozy, great view. Rich breakfast. Classical atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    61
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Classic Hotel am Stetteneck. The hotel is excellent in every which detail you look for. It is so well located. Right in the city center and only a few minutes away walk from the both gondolas (Alpe de Siusi and Secada) The setting couldn't be more magical with views of the village and mountains all around. Staff is highly professional and very friendly. From the minute we arrived we were well looked after. Hotel is spotless clean everywhere. Decorations is so charming.Our room had great views of the town and the mountains, a balcony, lots of space, comfy beds, shower and bath - overall very comfortable and a pleasure to spend time in. Free Wi-fi. Delicious breakfast buffet was really awesome: everything you might want to eat in the morning was there. Eggs, sausages, bacon, juice, all sorts of cheese, muesli, flakes, jam, pastry, and much more and very attentive service. The pool is very nice with windows and the spa is a wonderful treat and the perfect place to relax after a day on the slopes. Seriously we were very happy to spend a week in this hotel and highly recommend it. Look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSailor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel am Stetteneck in August 2012 and were very pleased with this hotel. Our room had a balcony with a nice view. Included breakfast in the hotel dining room was good and plentiful, the central location convenient, and all the staff people from the cleaning people to the cheerful guy in the dining room to the kind gentleman who was sometimes at the front desk and whose grandfather built the hotel, were courteous and friendly. A special thanks (and buongiorno, if she read this) to Marlies, who was very knowledgeable and helpful in answering all our questions, and who spoke perfect English so that my limited German and Italian didn't get in the way too much. While we were there, work was ongoing on the new pool/spa downstairs, which will only make a great property better still. We like nice but comfortable places to stay with a bit of personality and without the price or stuffiness of a 5-star resort, and for our needs, Stetteneck was perfect. If we have opportunity to return to the beautiful Val Gardena area again, we would gladly stay right here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cascadehkr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here twice within a week and found out an important fact about the am Stetteneck: look at your room before you agree. Not that some rooms are below standard. They are lovely. It's just that for the same rate, there is a terrific difference in size and decor. We had a rambling, spacious (and a little quirky) top floor room with a large balcony. Five days later we landed in a very nice, but considerably smaller, room without a balcony. Friends of ours had a terrific shower, bathroom and balcony. We had a nice, standard bath and no balcony. Same price. All rooms were very nice--it's just that some were like a corporate hotel and some had all the touches to make them memorable. Check the room first, and ask to see what else they might have.

Room Tip: In the months you would sleep with a window open to enjoy the mountain air, avoid those rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

ok so the hotel is nice indeed, i had a nice room, the lobby is nice, location in the center, but:
the staff (i guess the owners) are a bit snobbish.
I booked a room for a week which cost me almost 1000 euro and when i asked for a free wifi they said they sorry and it will cost me 10 cent/m, then they offered a discount for 5 cent/m.
now what kind of greediness is that?!!!!! you have free wifi on every ski lift. you get free wifi in the bar next to ski lift for buying a damn 3 euro beer. I went to my friends hotel Maria Hotel to dinner with them, the dinner costed 20 euro, not 1000 and I've got a free wifi with a smile from the staff of that Maria Hotel.

so it was very annoying and it spoiled any nice impressions about the hotel

Room Tip: I was in the 419 which is like a suite. very spacious but without a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

we must to mention positively the personal attitude of the hotel staff, the waitresses, the hotel,s manager, miss Marlies, and the owners.
We especially appreciated the personal pleasant attitude, the willingness and the patience to help and to handle with our issues.

The rooms are seem to be very clean, spacious, organized, well equipped, very well maintained and pleasant to stay in. The meals and the food were done and served in meticulous way with high level of service and of course very tasty.

We had a large impression from the hotel design. We liked very much the idea of combination between the old and new. The antique items in the hotel like the furnitures, the lumps and pictures are very impressing. All of this in a renovated building, well equipped, cosy and warm.

In summary, we enjoyed very much staying in the hotel. It was a perfect vacation for us and we feel necessity to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yakib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel just before New Year 2011. It's situation in the village is perfect, near both ski lifts and they have a tie up with ski hire underneath with a 15% discount. The girl on the desk has perfect English, German and Italian. I had to change rooms because they were so full, but both rooms were full of character and spotless. It really was a Heidi experienc. The rooms felt like a Chalet adding to the atmosphere.

Breakfast was excellent, if a bit bustly for me first thing in the morning. Everybody was rushing around in their ski trousers rsutling as they went. In the morning I like a bit of quiet for a while. the quality of the excellent spread was faultless and was continually refilled as things were eaten.

Ortizei itself is a charming village. I was there for 5 days and could eat in a different excellent restaurant each night. I particulalry like the bier cellar close to the hotel - probably the best food, but the Cascada over the road on the other side was really good as well.

Skiing - It could not be better. There are 2 ski lifts right in the village, so that is simple. Other resorts are only a few miles drive away so there are miles of runs.

I would recommend this hotel and its staff to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were excellent. This is a large converted hospital built in 1911 (?). The conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#21 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel am Stetteneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel am Stetteneck

Property: Classic Hotel am Stetteneck
Address: Via Rezia 14, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#19 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Hotel am Stetteneck 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, historical and with a wealth of pleasing surprises - that's the Classic Hotel Stetteneck in a nutshell. This traditional hotel is located in the centre of Ortisei, in Val Gardena. The ski-lifts are very close by, as are numerous excellent restaurants. The hotel itself offers a variety of recreational activities, and our restaurant will tempt guests with typical dishes from Alto Adige as well as a range of delicious Mediterranean specialities. The rooms are stylishly furnished, and are divided into different categories. Guests can relax and take it easy in the brand-new SPA, which features a swimming-pool, sauna and steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Classic Hotel am Stetteneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Am Stetteneck Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing