We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Scherlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Scherlin
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
gilberdyke
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our second time at the hotel. This time we asked for a room overlooking the valley.
A beautiful room with a great view over the valley.
Very good indoor pool linked to a nice outdoor pool. A hot tub in the garden.
A garage is provided free of charge which is great for motorcyclists.
Food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent.
The owner and staff were very helpful.
Bus stop available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one over the valley not near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbGilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    88
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
103
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Went to hotel Scherlin 2 times in the winter holidays and theose were the most amazing ski vacations.
Gorgeous view, huge rooms and bathrooms, very good prices and quality, helpful staff, and family Scherlin-amazing hosts.
I truly recommand this hotel!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just completed a terrific two night stay at the Hotel Scherlin. While it is about five kilometers up from the valley floor town of Ortisei, an easy distance by car, it has commanding views of the valley, surrounding steep slopes and distant mountains. There is also a local bus stop right across from the hotel. This private family owned and operated hotel is only two years old, as it recently underwent an extensive addition and remodel in the location of its former self. Run efficiently by Tiziana and her husband, it proved the perfect place from which to explore the area, with our major goal the Sella Group of mountain passes in the Dolomites. The day we arrived, it was raining heavily, but the garage under the hotel kept us dry as we unloaded our luggage and rode the lift to our floor. Fortunately, the following day was clear and sunny, the views stunning, and we could easily hear the church bells from Ortisei in the valley below. Tiziana provided touring suggestions and was a delight during our entire stay.

We had a standard room, the smallest offered, but there was nothing standard about it, as the size was larger than many suites we have stayed in. The views from our room were impressive, and we had a very nice terrace as well. Equipped with a completely modern bath, large closet area, comfortable bed and numerous outlets, we had everything we might need. The Internet wifi is not as fast as we would like but certainly acceptable in the rural location. Breakfast offered a quite adequate selection of the usual items, and eggs can be made to order as well. Lunch and dinner are also offered if desired. A refrigerator in the room would have been nice, since the hotel is a distance from town. The hotel has an indoor/outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi spa, sauna and children’s play equipment in the lawn area. The entire hotel was spotless, and the guest service we experienced among the best on our current three month trip.

When we made our reservations months earlier, we found that many of the accommodations in town were not available, because they were closed for the off-season just before summer. That was our good fortune, as staying in this superb hotel proved to be the best choice in the area. If we were here again, we would stay at this hotel just for the view and enjoy all the other attributes that come with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Spend 1wk vacation, with some friends and their families, we all had fantastic time.
Very impressed about the hotel staff, they were very kind, great guest during our stay, also impressed about hotel facilities, big rooms, garage, pool and spa area.
Just ccouple of issue:
- it would have been great to have a ski bus from the hotel to Ortisei
- wifi was not all the time operational
- breakfast could be improved
Overall very good experience and excellent value, and we'ill certainly be going back here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brigherr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We are Europeans but living in Canada. My husband and I enjoyed 1 week last September in this hotel and can't wait to go back. We had a superior corner room with 2 balconies affording a superb mountain view, an immense bathroom with separate toilet+ bidet.the livingroom had 2 sitting areas and a Kachelofen, very cosy!
The food was excellent and more than plenty,we had breakfast and dinner included(Halbpension)
The indoor pool with outside pool open in the afternoon was great.
The only drawback was the 1 computer for guests in the lobby, but probably the other 4-5 star hotels which are located a bit ouside of St. Ulrich in higher altitude might have same server/reception problem. There is even a small playground and a hottub overlooking the Grödner valley.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of space ,ask for a corner superior room with 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

There are few issues i should mention
- guests used to sophisticated cuisine in austria should be aware thatin this hotel they will get simple and uncomplicated meals, though done in perfect manner and offering very good taste experience
- there are no shops or restaurants around the hotel and skibus service is not frequent
- pool and jacuzzi is not nudity zone what makes sometimes annoying to use if one uses saunas extensively too
- children used to be very loud in the pool and surroundings what is veryannoying if one wants to relax
- limited choice during the breakfest, no saussages and scrambled eggs or fried eggs solely for special order
- internet for free in whole hotel HUGE PLUS

Overall very good experience and excellent value as long as one does not want to enjoy apres ski and is fine with driving to lift station

Room Tip: Ask for room with valley view, otherwise it will be by the road, which is used during the night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike11746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The place is great - big rooms, nice spa area and incredible food. We went for skiing by car to Cristina, which is 10 minutes drive and reaches Sella ronda dirrectly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolferPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.3 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 48 in Ortisei
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
2.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 48 in Ortisei
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scherlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scherlin

Property: Hotel Scherlin
Address: Via Pineies 42, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#21 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scherlin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Scherlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scherlin Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Scherlin Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing