We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and hotel, but service could be better”
Review of Hotel Scherlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Scherlin
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place and hotel, but service could be better”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were two families staying 4 nights at hotel Scherlin. Unfortunately the weather was not the best with two rainy days and a bit low temps.
The location is nice (beautiful view) if you have a car (the hotel is a bit outside Ortisei) and the overall facilities is ok with large rooms, very good beds, nice swimming pool and sauna, but a poor fitness room.
The staff was able to give us information about trips, but they were not very welcoming nor especially interested in their guest well beeing.
The food is typical Alp style.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sigvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    88
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
103
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The lady owner did not behave in the same way with all guests and sometimes she was unpolite: put us in a corner fo the restaurant, gave us rooms with view to the road and in the last day she moved us in the restaurant without any previous anounce. The hotel looks good: spacious rooms with large bathroom, beautiful outdoor pool and jacuzzi. At the indoor pool water was a little cold. The breakfast was good and lunch generally tasted well, but not exceptional. The region is very beautiful and perfect suited for skiing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Good location, nice and large room. Indoor pool, sauna, but no bathrobe. You have to rent it for 8 euros! The food...not good, not bad! The same deserts (I belive that they buy the desert from the market/shoop) every day. Anyway, good price for what you get. However, the food could be better. Realy, it's taste like...chimical.

Room Tip: ask for 212 - great view! And also, large a sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Good::
This hotel is set in a spectacular location amidst rolling hills and snow-peaked mountains. Simply gorgeous! The views are truly wonderful and the hotel has obviously made the effort to display those views from as many vantage points as possible. The lounge and restaurant sport huge windows and you are almost overwhelmed the persistent beauty of the views...in a good way.
The hotel itself is immaculate and it looks very new. Beautiful woodwork, high quality doors and paneling and windows. The view from the balcony is equally spectacular. The bed is comfy by Italian standards for sure. The room is large, pretty and very inviting.
At this hotel breakfast AND dinner are included in the cost and so everyone dines together and you can choose from 2 pasta dishes and 2 entrees and then 6-7 desserts. There is a salad bar as well. The meals have a nice, friendly feel because everyone dines together. The food was good, not crazy good, but tasty, home-cooked, and hearty.
The other clientele there were rather reserved and we didn't interact with anyone....which I found a little strange but maybe that is how Europeans vacation. We were definitely the only Americans there.
The pools were beautiful, both indoor and out. They are heated and overlook the gorgeous valley...again...views everywhere!
The whirlpool was lukewarm. Maybe that is normal for Europeans but we Americans like our hot tubs hot. So that was a bit of a disappointment.
There is an adorable little sauna house as well and more saunas, steam-room, fitness room, and tan bed inside.
Free parking! Always a plus!
We took a walk up the road and through the hills....gorgeous!

The Bad::
Limited service, not so friendly
When I first walked into the hotel there was a rather grumpy man sitting there. When I went to him and spoke English he got up very quickly and ran away without a word. Then a markedly UNsmiling woman said hello to me. Then I said I wanted to check in and she said, welcome! and shook my hand. Strange.
There is no bellhop, which is normal in Italy I suppose at 2-4 star hotels.
But what bothered me was that the front desk was left unattended a lot of the time. So if I had a question about something I was unable to ask. To sum it up, I felt more like we were staying in an apartment than in a hotel. Very much we were left to our own devices.
So, if you are going to this area I highly advise that if you want to go around and do things that you do your homework because there is not really a concierge or someone hanging around to help out with that kind of stuff.
The one thing I have to recommend is the restaurant La Rosticceria Sotriffer in Ortisei. Best food we ate in Italy in 12 days!
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for beauty, and more beauty, tasty food, and a fun pool. And kid-friendly. But don't expect great service.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of the valley!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilberdyke
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our second time at the hotel. This time we asked for a room overlooking the valley.
A beautiful room with a great view over the valley.
Very good indoor pool linked to a nice outdoor pool. A hot tub in the garden.
A garage is provided free of charge which is great for motorcyclists.
Food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent.
The owner and staff were very helpful.
Bus stop available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one over the valley not near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbGilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Went to hotel Scherlin 2 times in the winter holidays and theose were the most amazing ski vacations.
Gorgeous view, huge rooms and bathrooms, very good prices and quality, helpful staff, and family Scherlin-amazing hosts.
I truly recommand this hotel!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just completed a terrific two night stay at the Hotel Scherlin. While it is about five kilometers up from the valley floor town of Ortisei, an easy distance by car, it has commanding views of the valley, surrounding steep slopes and distant mountains. There is also a local bus stop right across from the hotel. This private family owned and operated hotel is only two years old, as it recently underwent an extensive addition and remodel in the location of its former self. Run efficiently by Tiziana and her husband, it proved the perfect place from which to explore the area, with our major goal the Sella Group of mountain passes in the Dolomites. The day we arrived, it was raining heavily, but the garage under the hotel kept us dry as we unloaded our luggage and rode the lift to our floor. Fortunately, the following day was clear and sunny, the views stunning, and we could easily hear the church bells from Ortisei in the valley below. Tiziana provided touring suggestions and was a delight during our entire stay.

We had a standard room, the smallest offered, but there was nothing standard about it, as the size was larger than many suites we have stayed in. The views from our room were impressive, and we had a very nice terrace as well. Equipped with a completely modern bath, large closet area, comfortable bed and numerous outlets, we had everything we might need. The Internet wifi is not as fast as we would like but certainly acceptable in the rural location. Breakfast offered a quite adequate selection of the usual items, and eggs can be made to order as well. Lunch and dinner are also offered if desired. A refrigerator in the room would have been nice, since the hotel is a distance from town. The hotel has an indoor/outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi spa, sauna and children’s play equipment in the lawn area. The entire hotel was spotless, and the guest service we experienced among the best on our current three month trip.

When we made our reservations months earlier, we found that many of the accommodations in town were not available, because they were closed for the off-season just before summer. That was our good fortune, as staying in this superb hotel proved to be the best choice in the area. If we were here again, we would stay at this hotel just for the view and enjoy all the other attributes that come with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.3 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 46 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 46 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scherlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scherlin

Property: Hotel Scherlin
Address: Via Pineies 42, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#21 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scherlin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Scherlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scherlin Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Scherlin Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing