We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach”
Review of Hotel Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mara
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel just outside Ortona in September. You could tell it was after the "busy season" as they were starting to clear things away for the winter. Room was very clean and well-appointed, minus the tube TV ;-) The view of the beach from my 3rd floor room was utterly spectacular.

Only complaint was the hotel didn't think it was important to have a full-time bartender behind the bar! On several occasions, we had to ask the front desk staff to track him down.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach view. This side of the hotel is also better because the other side faces the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jager11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Canadian battle sites in the area. The room we had overlooked the ocean and was immaculate. The service was great with very helpful staff not only recommending a restaurant for dinner, but making the reservation and ensuring a wonderful evening. A great find!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This beachside hotel is a bit out of anything that can be considered a city, but is in a wonderful spot on the sea. Rooms are regular looking but most have great views. There are two buildings side by side.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I traveled to Hotel Mara with my husband who was attending a conference at the hotel. Needless to say, I was on my own quite a bit and had plenty of time to explore the hotel and take advantage of the amenities. The beach area is unbelieveably gorgeous with soft white sand. This was quite a surprise from the traditional European rocky beaches. The hotel's pools were well-maintained and spacious. The staff is friendly, helpful, and pleasant. The rooms were very clean and incrediably spacious. We were fortunate enough to have an oceanfront view and it was AMAZING! The restaurant was excellent and the food was delicious.

This area of Italy is not at all touristy, which was a welcome change after spending several days in Rome. We did some exploring around Ortona and were pleasantly surprised with the beauty of the countryside as well as the vineyards and wine available!

If you are looking for a beach destination in Italy and your only interest is relaxation, I would highly recommend Hotel Mara in Ortona.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We were visiting the family "villa" on the eastern side of Italy and didn't have much information since it's not a normal American tourist area. I don't even recall how I found this hotel and didn't know what to expect. We were pleasently surprised. Although the rooms are simple, the hotel and it's staff are wonderful. You are right on the beach with full access to the chairs and umbrellas. They have an Olympic size pool as well as a smaller pool for the kids. They even had an outdoor exercise area near the pool. This hotel is geared for family! They have a small staff of young adults who entertain the kids all day long. They put on shows at night too. The staff goes out of their way to help you with even the slightest request. The restaurant is great and they have a smaller cafeteria nearby for quick lunches while at the beach. There was another section that I was told was more for business travelers. This place was awesome! There is suppose to be a lot of WWII things to see in nearby Lanciano but we didn't have the time to check it out. Once you are there an relaxing, why would you want to leave?

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamTravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rocco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortona
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ideale Ortona
Hotel Ideale Ortona
#4 of 5 in Ortona
51 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel 4 Strade
Hotel 4 Strade
#2 of 5 in Ortona
36 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
#2 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 5 in Ortona
22 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Guerra
Hotel Guerra
#3 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katia
Hotel Katia
#5 of 5 in Ortona
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mara

Address: Via Lido Riccio, 66026, Ortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Ortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ortona
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mara 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing