We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of B&B CasaSelita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B CasaSelita
Ranked #4 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful place in Orvieto which when you look up ,you see the top of the city, actually you can walk up to it through the backside of this property .
The rooms are nice , clean and tidy, the breakfast is outstanding . Both Selita & Ennio
Set up the breakfast spread which consist of fantastic hams, cheeses, breads, jams, honey and many other things .
The place is not very easy to find ,even with the GPS but once you see it you won't forget where
You must go .the outdoor terrace is a great place to hang out and have a nice cup of wine.
The parking is free and this city is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koifishvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Casa Selita is a family owned and run B&B located just outside the beautiful town of Orvieto.
The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable, and thoughtfully decorated, and the surrounding grounds are charming - flower beds, olive trees, lovely views in every direction. The short hike uphill through the olive grove from the B&B to the town of Orvieto is lovely, and even lit up at night. The hosts are welcoming and charming, and serve a wonderful family style breakfast every morning. There are many places to visit in the surrounding area. We stayed four nights and would have liked to stay longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the nicest and best value place we stayed in at Italy. Beautiful Tuscan countryside setting but still an easy short walk up into Orvieto. The garden and rooms are just perfect, feels like the perfect quintessential Tuscan experience. Selita who run's and own's it is, outstanding! She is so friendly and helpful, she went out of our way to help us at all times. Could recommend more highly. Don't waste anymore time looking at other options for Orvieto accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice and have doors onto garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I wanted a quite place to rest and clear my mind before hitting the crowded, larger cities of Italy. I chose Casa Selita for its close proximity to Orvieto, yet the fact that it is outside the town walls. It truly is a lovely place; lots of green vegetation, flowers and beautiful gardens. It's quiet and everyone seems to keep to themselves after breakfast.
Two things: if you have and aversion to road noise this May not be for you. There is a small road just off the main entrance of the property. Not bad; pretty quiet overall, and close to town.
Be careful not to get lost while walking on your way back from town. I missed the elevator that brings you very near Casa Selita, i started walking around the rock that holds the town...foolishness at night. The road is very narrow and dark at night.
Enjoy, you will love and sleep.

Room Tip: My room faces the inside courtyard and has a little balcony. Very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

CasaSelita is a truly charming B&B. The owners are absolutely lovely and so helpful. Wasn't expecting such a genuine and warm welcome. We normally stay in hotels but this place is fantastic. Immaculate clean ensuite room with its own private outdoor space. Plus breakfast on the patio outside the property is wonderful. Yes it's a short walk up a hill to get to the town itself but as long as you don't have mobility issues then the walk itself is part of the adventure. Orvieto itself is a stunning town and seemed less touristy than some of the other places we visited on our trip. All the charm - but less of the crowds. The tour of the caves under Orvieto is fascinating and well worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC-lovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Selita for four nights without the kids. We loved it and can't wait to go back! The best part about Casa Selita is Selita herself: warm, gregarious, generous, candid and helpful. Selita told us where to go for dinner each night, and we loved every single place. She took us to Civita di Bagnoregio for a private tour since she had the time (for an extra fee). She told us about her life and her activities, which we found interesting and inspiring. And she gave us tips on where to go in the Dolomites (where she grew up) on our next trip.

We loved the location of Casa Selita. It was only a 5-10 minute walk to the walled city, with an easy elevator ride up. Best of all, when you stay at Selita's you enter the city directly into the old town, not the touristy area where the funicular lets off. And when you're at Casa Selita, you're surrounded by trees, flowers, and grass and the beautiful hillsides surrounding Orvieto. The location was ideal.

Our room was lovely. I forget the name, but it was on the left-most side of the main building as you face the staircases. It had a big, four-poster bed plus a private balcony. It was very comfortable and felt private.

Breakfast was very good -- my only (very small) complaint would be the lack of fresh fruit and the fact that breakfast was exactly the same every day. But we had bread, cheese, ham, cereal, milk, juice, coffee and more. Much better than the "breakfast" at our next hotel, which was just a packaged croissant, coffee, and milk.

Casa Selita was a great value for the money.

We dream of going back to Casa Selita, and when we do, we plan to use it as our home base to visit Rome, in addition to spending time in Orvieto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie91827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a great time staying here! Beautiful grounds and a very relaxing place. Also a great location to explore the city, as long as you don't mind to short hike up the hill! Amazing breakfast, lovely hosts, clean and spacious rooms. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.9 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Vivaria Guest House
Porta Vivaria Guest House
#34 of 54 in Orvieto
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#1 of 54 in Orvieto
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Podere Sette Piagge
Podere Sette Piagge
#9 of 54 in Orvieto
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Chiara e Benedetta
B&B Chiara e Benedetta
#3 of 54 in Orvieto
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B CasaSelita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B CasaSelita

Address: Strada di Porta Romana 8, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range: £68 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B CasaSelita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Casaselita Hotel Orvieto
Bed And Breakfast Casaselita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing