We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I have ever seen anywhere!”

Tipica Trattoria Etrusca
Ranked #25 of 176 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I have ever seen anywhere!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This place is not to be missed -it is tucked away and quiet with the MOST wonderful white truffle imbrichelli that can be imagined. It is the ONLY place to get white truffles in Orvieto. The rest of the menu is outstanding too - great salads, yummy borlotti beans and local specialty meat courses that are mouth watering; and a beautiful dessert cart just in case you still have room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    114
    44
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Ideal Combination of Quality, Tradition, and Personal Service”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This trattoria just up a hill from the Duomo is a find indeed. It's cozy and inviting, with traditional "white-linen-and-sterling" table settings. The maitre d'hotel and all-round service person, Suleiman, greeted us warmly, brought menus and water promptly, and helped with descriptions of typical Etruscan/Umbrian dishes. He suggested dishes to try, and not always the most expensive on the menu. We shared an unusual and delicious gnocchi for the antipasti course, then had pici with cinghiale and rabbit sauteed with herbs in olive oil. Magnifico! Suleiman's wine suggestion, a modestly-priced Montepulciano, made "a good marriage" with our foods. Suleiman returned to check on us, providing additional service beyond what we expected. His chat helped a couple of tourists to feel comfortable, and he was delighted with our broken Italian when we used it. (I think we got brownie points for sincerely trying.) Dessert was to die for: tiramisu and almond torte. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxed, cozy dinner and definitely will return when we are next in Orvieto.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenChileGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,431 reviews
569 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This trattoria is located very close to the Duomo square in Orvieto. The setting is traditional and a bit old fashioned, with formally attired waiters. The service was very professional.

For lunch we had pappardelle pasta with hare, umbricelli with porcini mushrooms, grilled vegetables and wine, for 44 euros. It was a pleasant meal, but I thought it was a bit overpriced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“cozy, quiet, delicious”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were in Orvieto on a cold, rainy day. We wanted a bowl of hot soup away from the touristy central area. Etrusca was exactly what we sought. Quiet and beautifully appointed with excellent service. Delicious soup and bread with a bottle of tonic water. It is not fast food. Preparation time allowed us to warm up and chat. It is not inexpensive but a fine choice. With a bit more time we would have indulged in the marvelous dessert options on display.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTWAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jolly nice!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We tried the tourist menu on our first evening in Orvieto and found it excellent especially with the wine - Orvieto classico. The apple cake was a treat though on a subsequent visit later in the week, the dolci (apple cake for me and "english" trifle for my partner) disappointed. If you ask for tea rather than coffee stress" English Breakfast tea" or green tea will appear. Odd that the restaurant on a Saturday evening had few diners but perhaps being slightly out of season in October explained? The waiter was memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 86Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipica Trattoria Etrusca also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Tipica Trattoria Etrusca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing