We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maria was lovely and so were the accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B La soffitta e La Torre
Ranked #9 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Speaking a little Italian can be dangerous thing but with Maria, in the beautiful city of Orvieto, all's well that ends well. I phoned Maria, as she requested, when we arrived in Orvieto. I tried to tell her that we were at the bottom of the funiculare but she thought we were at the top. A few phone calls later and a rather slow ascent we finally emerged, Maria greeting us with a happy and understanding smile, all the frustrations forgotten. In my broken Italian and her broken English we chatted all the way in her car to here lovely B@B, an old building in the Piazza di Popolo. The renovated rooms are very nice, comfortable and nicely appointed. The location is convenient to all the major attractions. And, of course, Maria is just simply a wonderful innkeeper. A great experience.

Room Tip: We thought the interior rooms were better, and quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasoffitta_orvieto, Proprietario at B&B La soffitta e La Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013
Google Translation

Grazie infinite.La cosa importante è che ci siamo capiti e che voi siate stati bene. E' stato un piacere conoscervi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for B&B La soffitta e La Torre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

This B&B was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Lovely Maria and her daughter were so genuinely helpful and kind to us. We appreciated their hospitality and the B&B room was delightful. Their breakfast in the morning was wonderful! We fell in love with the city of Orvieto and most definitely want to come back stay here again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasoffitta_orvieto, Proprietario at B&B La soffitta e La Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013
Google Translation

grazie e vi aspettiamo presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed here as part of a photography course and it's in prime location and the lady who runs it is delightful. We came and went as we pleased and even got a brilliant view of the folk festival in the Piazza below. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasoffitta_orvieto, Proprietario at B&B La soffitta e La Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013
Google Translation

Voi siete due persone gentilissime. Speriamo di potervi accogliere di nuovo.
Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We loved B&B La Soffitta! The very sweet innkeeper who greeted us was so kind and helpful and the room was divine. It was really an apartment (with kitchen, separate bedroom/living area and gorgeous newly remodeled bath). This place was an oasis right in the heart of Orvieto. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LizzieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I had the immense pleasure to stay at La Soffita october 5 and 6, while I attended the Orvieto con gusto festival. Beatrice (daughter) and Mrs Silvana were incredible hosts. Travelling alone, I felt very secure in this environment, well decorated, quiet, warm and tasteful. The room was spacious, with all the modern fittings. Breakfast was generous and fresh. What a great surprise to find the weekly market at the door step on saturday morning! An incredible experience. Thank you for you honesty! I had booked via net, and most probably booked for 2 by error. Mrs Silvana corrected the price and ajusted it to single occupancy. Orvieto is a very interesting city to visit and discover. The Orvieto con gusto festival is a life time experience. I hope to relive every moment of my stay in Orvieto .Grazie mille per tutto! I hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasoffitta_orvieto, Proprietario at B&B La soffitta e La Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. This pushes us to do our best so that our customers pass a plaisant stay in our B & B. We're waiting for you when you will return to Italy.
Best regards
Maria Silvana e Beatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My parents and I stayed for a night here. You can see Mrs Maria and her daughter's nice taste of antique furnishing from your first step into the house. You can enjoy all those nice and old Italian roop tops from your room balcony. Towels and blankets were impeccably cleaned and ironed for our use. Breakfast was prepared with freshed baked brioches, yogurts, toasts, conflakes, coffee and juices. We enjoyed authentic Italian breakfast in a beautiful breakfast area. No matter what, however, the most amazing was the gentle hospitality of the landlady-Mrs Maria and her daughter. Such a warm-hearted people!!! They will really take care of you and your stay with great smile. I and my parents really loved here. Thank you, Mrs Maria and daughter :) My stay in Orvieto was great with you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyunsil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was booked into La Soffitta as part of a photography workshop (Camera Etrusca with Patrick Nicholas - check it out) in August. I knew as soon as I looked at this B&B on the internet, it was going to be exactly what I would have booked myself. My trip was all about experiencing life as a local in Orvieto and this B&B did not disappoint. Firstly, the Landlady Maria was a gem! A kind, warm and delightful lady who made you feel at home. This B&B oozes with charm and is perfectly located in the Piazza del Popolo, where to any foodie's delight, the fresh food markets take place every Thursday and Saturday mornings. The rooms are very clean and gorgeously furnished, with high ceiling and wooden beams hanging above your head. After my course ended, I travelled to Florence but only to return for my final 10 days in Italy, back to Orvieto and back to La Soffitta, where I knew I would feel at home once again and couldn't wait to be greeted by the smiling face of Maria. A must place to stay! Ciao

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasoffitta_orvieto, Proprietario at B&B La soffitta e La Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you very much. For me it was a real pleasure to host a lady so nice and pretty. I hope that we meet again ..... maybe in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#16 of 30 in Orvieto
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 54 in Orvieto
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La soffitta e La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La soffitta e La Torre

Address: Via del Popolo 2, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B is situated in an old medieval building with trussed roofs of wooden beams and thick walls of tufa, next to the "Palazzo del Capitano del Popolo" Conference Building and only 300 metres from the Duomo . You can easily reach from the car parking areas or by those who arrive by train or bus.This centrally located B&B allows guests to visit the city walking leisurely through the picturesque alleys of Orvieto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your B&B La soffitta e La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing