We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet street, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B La Casa di Tufo
Ranked #10 of 57 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet street, great value.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

B&B La Casa di Tufo, run by a friendly and efficient proprietor, is tucked away on a quiet side street in Orvieto. We were able to find the street no problem, as it is only a few minutes walk from the Piazza della Reppublica. However, the B&B is not well marked, so keep an eye out for the street number - we walked right past it!

From the entry, you walk up the stairs to the second floor common room. We didn't spend time in this space so I cannot comment on it too much; however, I did notice lots of guidebooks and local information. It is furnished with modern IKEA-type items and is well kept.

Our room, Camera Stella, was on the third floor. This room is large for two guests by Italian standards. It had a large bed, sofa, small table with two chairs, and large mirrored wardrobe. Very quiet, with a nice window overlooking Orvieto rooftops. Again, all modern IKEA furnishings. The bathroom was very large and updated. The shower was interesting and had spa-type jets, an overhead light (burnt out), and a radio. Make sure the doors close tight, ours leaked a bit. There were only a few towels (no washcloths, but I do not think they are normally included) and they were not soft at all.

All in all, a simple and pleasant place to stay in Orvieto at a great value (75 Euro for two). The owner was very accommodating, provided GREAT dinner advice, and was flexible when we needed to depart early. She provided breakfast vouchers for a nearby bar, as we were up and gone before breakfast. The only downside was that the B&B was a bit of a hike from the Duomo and funicular for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahbanana1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    49
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We decided to stay in Orvieto for two nights and my daughter was intrigued with a place that had a truffle dog. Unfortunately they could not accommodate us in two separate rooms for the entire stay but she had a main floor apartment with two rooms that she offered us. This was great. There were two separate rooms and lots of space. The lady was super and offered us great suggestions to eat and was most accommodating. Orvieto is a wonderful place with the best food we had in Italy or have had in Italy since this is not our first trip. Breakfast was very good too. I would stay here again. The shower was wonderful and very modern with music, sprays and a nice size. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: More a bed and breakfast so not a great choice in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TripPlanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very nice, simple and clean B&B. Run by a friendly german woman, who also gave us good tips on restaurants, and parking (which is pretty difficult in Orvieto!). Had some trouble finding the place on arrival, the map we got from the hotel was pretty difficult to read (did not have all the street names), but managed to find it by asking the locals. The streets in Orvieto are very narrow, so drivers beware.
Very clean and our family of five fitted in nicely. Furnitures Ikea-style, simplistic and useful. Wifi worked all right.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vildemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

After the hustle of Venice, we enjoyed three nights in the scenic town of Orvieto. We loved the bed and breakfast and the quad room is perfect for families. My children appreciated having their own bedroom in the loft with separate twin beds. The unit was clean, large and the breakfast great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandTraveller132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We only stayed for one night, wish we could have stayed longer. Orvieto is a beautiful town, and La Casa di Tufo was a great place to stay. It's located in a narrow, quite street, close to all the shops, restaurants and attractions in town.
The home has been remodeled, is very clean and pleasant. Jasmin, the owner, is very nice and accommodating, and immediately makes you feel at home.
We had a very large room on the 3rd floor for our family of four. Nice furnishings, and lots of closet spaces. The only disappointing factor was that our teenagers had to share a bed, it would have been nice to have the choice of 2 twin beds. The bathroom was large, nice shower. Be sure to bring your own toiletries. The lack of an elevator may be a factor for some people, but the stairs were not a problem for us.
Jasmin prepared a very nice breakfast and delicious coffee. She also recommended restaurants, and looked for answers to all of our questions. We had a wonderful, very pleasant stay. Orvieto was our favorite location in all of Italy !
P.S. Try the Porchetta from La Bottega Del Norcino on Corso Camillo Benso, down the hill past the pharmacy - delicious !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We arrived in Orvieto without a reservation. Not unusual for us. We knew there was a tourist office in the town square across from the Cathedral which turned out to be closed for lunch. When opened, the B&B we had in mind was not available so she suggested a recently opened B&B which was La Casa di Tufo. What a wonderful surprise! It is a long walk from the Cathedral as mentioned in other reviews but the bus service solves that problem (when you learn about it). Do be sure to stay in the city itself for that is when you see the locals out for their evening stroll and get a real sense of the city. The B&B is fresh and nicely furnished with a very solicitous owner and son. They serve a mean breakfast. When we left, she brought her car up to the B&B and delivered us and our luggage to the train station. Now that is service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

This place is very nice and rooms are very well appointed. We were reserved to stay in the smallest room but there was an opening to stay in the much larger family sized room and we were given that room with no extra charge. The room was huge by Europe standards and even had a peekaboo view of the countryside outside of the walls. The bathroom was huge and had a spa-like shower that took a little time to get used to. Breakfast is served every morning by the property manager and consists of coffee, pastries, fruit and fresh cheeses and meats. Fantastic way to start your day. When you arrive in Orvieto, via the funiculare from the train station, make sure you use Bus B that will take you to the other side of the city. The B&B is on the far side of the city and would take 30+ minutes to walk. I wish we would've stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 57 in Orvieto
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
B & B La soffitta
B & B La soffitta
#8 of 57 in Orvieto
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa di Tufo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa di Tufo

Property: B&B La Casa di Tufo
Address: Via del Paradiso 11, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Casa di Tufo is situated in the quaint medieval quarter, in the historical center of Orvieto, in Umbria. La Casa di Tufo is a warm and welcoming accommodation, and we are always available to provide you with any information you might need: traditional restaurants, outings for the family, the best nightspots, horseback riding, and we will be happy to help you in different languages (Italian, English, French, Dutch, Spanish). If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact us. A presto! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B La Casa di Tufo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing