We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anyone for Carbonara?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezza Luna

Mezza Luna
Ranked #19 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montefollonico, Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Anyone for Carbonara?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spaghetti Carbonara is the speciality here. But the food in general is good here and the prices exceptional. The restaurant is not where the tourists are are in the middle of Orvieto. But once found you will be rewarded. When we entered the restaurant at 13.00 Hrs the restaurant was packed and we got the last table. A family run restaurant by the same propritors since 40 years. The portions are generous and they have home-made desserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    144
    37
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Go early, join the crowd and eat carbonara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had lunch at Mezza Luna one very wet day. Luckily, we arrived early, it soon filled up with locals and a few tourists. You could tell the tourists because they got menus to browse, supplied by the rather gruff waiter. The locals, mostly working men, sat down, had a joke with the same, now less gruff, waiter and immediately ordered a plate of anti-pasta and then carbonara. In fact, every single person in the restaurant, ourselves included, had carbonara. Everything that has been said already about the legendary carbonara of Mezza Luna is true, it is plentiful and delicious. The hard working men of Orvieto may be able to pack away an extra course of antipasta, but for me the carbonara alone was enough. This is a dining experience not to be missed, a little gem serving local working folk top quality food. Go early, join the crowd and eat carbonara!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJonesFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Carbonara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Don't miss the best carbonara you can find in nowadays italian restaurant. Lot of pasta (spaghetti) and guanciale. And very cheap!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank riccard0_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergiate, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great food at an amazing price. Amatriciana is to die for. We went twice, couldn't resist. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

After reading some mixed reviews as it was right next to our hotel we gave it a try. The bruschetta was fresh and clean tasting a great start. We had the carbonara as everyone advised and were not disappointed. Large serve and very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldies511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezza Luna also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Mezza Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing