We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.”
Review of Antica Cantina

Antica Cantina
Ranked #17 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are closed until 29/11/2016. Osteria with gluten-free kitchen (certified AIC), we serve traditional italian food with a selected list of Umbria's Wines. Antica Cantina is a Smart place to stay, at least for us: after all, if you ask the landlord how is the wine, he Will always answers that is good !! We are women, we like to host people, see their smile and feel good. See you there!
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our train had been delayed so we arrived in Orvieto late; not knowing the layout of the town, we wandered down the main street and found this little place. There was only one other patron who was finishing his meal, but the staff did not bat an eyelid when we asked if we could still get a meal. We thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine, which is regional. It was beautifully cooked and very tasty. The wine was good too, as was the service and general demeanour.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suem030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    136
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic cooking and a wam welcome”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Cold and tired, we arrived to find the most friendly and helpful staff one could wish for, an appetising menu, real home cooking and excellent wine suggestions. It was a comforting place to be on a chilly, windy evening and more than lived up to expectations. The food was very good indeed and though the menu was reassuringly short, the choice was wide. A really good small and intimate restaurant where the customer matters and is cared for like a long-lost friend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great welcome and delicious food!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This restaurant is on the main street through the centre of Orvieto in the newer part of the town. It is a fairly standard Italian restaurant inside. We had a very good welcome and polite service. The menu provided very interesting possibilities, and we found the cooking to be excellent. It was very good value - well worth visiting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The restaurant was only one block from our hotel. It had a delicious pear salad for an appetizer and excellent main dishes. The young lady serving us was very charming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in Orvieto!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We happened across this little restaurant on our way back to the car park . As it was only 7.00pm a lot of restaurants were not open so we were delighted to find that this one had just opened!
It is a lovely little restaurant with cosy feel , the waitress spoke excellent English so she helped us to translate some of the local seasonal specials on the menu! I'm so glad we chose the seasonal specialities of the region as they were amazing and delicious! The crispy artichoke flowers looked amazing and tasted great, I have never seen anything like this before.. the chickpea and walnut soup was delicious ,I need to find the recipe..cabbage leaves stuffed with rice also great!The pork shank marinated in prunes and red wine looked huge and a bit overwhelming when it arrived but the meat was do succulent it just fell off the bone and I managed to eat it all with a little help from my friends! I don't know how we managed but we found room to share a piece of blackberry tart, it just melted in your mouth. A great little restaurant, lovely local food and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Antica Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing