We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta to die for”
Review of Antica Cantina

Antica Cantina
Ranked #18 of 171 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are closed until 29/11/2016. Osteria with gluten-free kitchen (certified AIC), we serve traditional italian food with a selected list of Umbria's Wines. Antica Cantina is a Smart place to stay, at least for us: after all, if you ask the landlord how is the wine, he Will always answers that is good !! We are women, we like to host people, see their smile and feel good. See you there!
Sebastopol, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pasta to die for”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved our pasta with black truffles, saffron pasta, chicken, and don't forget the tiramisu! Super friendly and warm staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    139
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our train had been delayed so we arrived in Orvieto late; not knowing the layout of the town, we wandered down the main street and found this little place. There was only one other patron who was finishing his meal, but the staff did not bat an eyelid when we asked if we could still get a meal. We thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine, which is regional. It was beautifully cooked and very tasty. The wine was good too, as was the service and general demeanour.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suem030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic cooking and a wam welcome”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Cold and tired, we arrived to find the most friendly and helpful staff one could wish for, an appetising menu, real home cooking and excellent wine suggestions. It was a comforting place to be on a chilly, windy evening and more than lived up to expectations. The food was very good indeed and though the menu was reassuringly short, the choice was wide. A really good small and intimate restaurant where the customer matters and is cared for like a long-lost friend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great welcome and delicious food!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This restaurant is on the main street through the centre of Orvieto in the newer part of the town. It is a fairly standard Italian restaurant inside. We had a very good welcome and polite service. The menu provided very interesting possibilities, and we found the cooking to be excellent. It was very good value - well worth visiting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The restaurant was only one block from our hotel. It had a delicious pear salad for an appetizer and excellent main dishes. The young lady serving us was very charming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Antica Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing