We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and beautiful building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Sant'Angelo 42

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Sant'Angelo 42
Ranked #17 of 56 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“clean and beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

we decided to visit Orvieto and only stay there for one night, we picked B&B Sant'Angelo 42 and the whole experience was great. we didn't have a great phone connection when we were in san gimignano, so we never received the email sent from the hotel the same day of our arrival. we got the email when we arrived to Orvieto around 7:45pm (saying that someone will be there until 8pm). so we started running looking for the building that was really hard to find. when we got there the hotel was closed and we found a note with a phone number to contact them when we arrive. we didn't have a cell phone to use, so we started walking and looking for a pay phone. we called the lady in charge of the hotel and she was extremely friendly, she showed up within 15 minutes and upgraded our room reservation to one of the suites. breakfast next day was served by the front desk and it was really good.

Room Tip: - make sure to be in touch with the hotel and informed them about you arrival time, specially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    57
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
59
134
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked months ahead this B&B to one night family trip. B&B was clean and in good place, situated middle if lovely Orvieto.

But.. Price if suite was not what booking system said, we paid more, only cash was ok.. There was no beds to whole family. 8 year old had to sleep in baby cot.. Owner said that she try to contact me, but no emails or calls come from her on my mind.
She booked us in and then we never saw her again, another person took care of out breakfast and check out.

Very nice rooms and place, but service attitude could be better. It is not clients fault, if booking system sells room in certain price, which is not ok for owner..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at this location on a whim and were completely blown away. The entire building is extremely well cared for and has gorgeous rooms. Our balcony was very small but AMAZING and had really lovely views. We will definitely be returning and bringing family with us to fill the whole place up and enjoy together.

Two things to note:
If you plan to take a siesta close the balcony so when the school down the street lets out the kids don't bother your rest.

Breakfast isn't amazing, but offers toast/croissants which certainly are fresh. Coffee was too light for our liking.

Room Tip: We peeked in a few other vacant rooms and are pretty sure you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were met at the square before entering Orvieto by a lovely, intelligent young lady named Alessia who spoke excellent English. Apparently Guilia (lady who runs the B&B) had sent me a text message informing me that Alessia would meet us but we didn’t get it until we had access to w-fi so we were taken quite by surprise when Alessia poked her head in the car window and asked us whether “we were going to the B&B”. We told her we were going to Sant Angelo 42 and she then literally hopped in the car and informed us she was helping a family friend who ran the B&B and would direct us to the private parking and then walk with us to the B&B. How wonderful as I have absolutely no doubt that we would not have found the parking without her. The streets to the parking were extremely narrow and packed as it was a public holiday in Orvieto. My husband did a fabulous job maneuvering our rather large vehicle. Alessia’s mother (Nadia) greeted us at the B&B and assisted us (along with Alessia) to carry our bags up the stairs to our rooms. Nadia was lovely, just like her beautiful daughter. Both rooms were very nice but one was almost twice the size of the other so if you really want the bigger room you should ask for it. The beds were very comfortable and the B&B was very clean. A bit of maintenance work needs to take place but it is very minor – for example, the side tables in our friends’ room were wobbly. It has a lot of charm especially the kitchen area and entrance. The B&B is within a ZTL zone and Guilia assured us she would advise the authorities of our visit so we would not receive a heafty fine. The B&B is in an excellent position, right in the heart of Orvieto. Guilia met us the next morning (she was in Rome the day we arrived) with a very filling breakfast of eggs (cold and hard boiled), croissants, coffee, tea, fresh cake (delicious), yoghurt, juice, cereal and fruit before sending us on our way. We arrived at the private car park which was opposite Nadia’s own B&B. She invited us in to show us her B&B and it was lovely. I would be happy to stay at either B&B if we were to return to Orvieto in the future.

Room Tip: Of our two rooms, one room was bigger than the other. I suggest asking for the bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were welcomed by Giuila, after a harrowing rail experience from Rome. It is a bit hard to find, but the good directions on the website were helpful. We arrived around 11am, our room wasn't ready, but we sat in the reception area for 10 minutes until the cleaning was completed. We were then allowed to have the room, which was very welcome. The b&b has a wonderful feel about it. Very recently refurbished and looks & feels very homely. We had the blue room overlooking the very narrow front street. No noise once the doors were shut, but there is a small balcony which allows you to view over the rooftops to the surrounding countryside. The room is of ample proportions with a large bathroom with shower. The shower was large with a rainhead, very nice after a days walking the amazing town itself. Breakfast was delightful also with plenty of options, including freshly cooked eggs. We have nothing but praise for the way Giuila ran the B&B.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a delight to stay in. They all have some sort of view and look very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainerkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We initially booked B&B Michelangeli and were recommended here as the owner found herself double booked. The front desk is not constantly manned, so we had to inform our arrival time. Someone is usually there in the morning though. Francesca welcomed us and was a great help in giving recommended places to eat and where to get bus tickets to Civita di Bagnoregio.
The B&B is a fairly long walk from the funicular station, around 15 min with slight uphill, maybe 20 min with luggage. It is not as far as the Duomo. Good thing that it is actually walkable is because the bus from the funicular which takes you to places nearer the Duomo is always crowded and fills up fast. Seemed quite challenging to carry bags and squeeze in.
We had a double room which was quite spacious. The shower door leaks so once we bathe, the toilet floor is wet. Other than that, the place is quaint, typical of buildings in Orvieto with its underground cellar.

Room Tip: Generally the rooms seem to be quite spacious. We stayed in the one facing the street/alley and it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiao O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC area
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This B&B has shady pricing practices. We booked a few months ahead of our visit. We reserved the "Suite with One King and One Single Bed" for my family of three. 2 weeks before arrival, I emailed to confirm. The response back was that the listing was wrong and they don't have a King with Single room for price reserved. It took 4 days to get the reply, which gave me just 2 days left on the "free cancellation" period. We were told that to have the advertised room, it would be an additional 30 Euro, which we could have at a discount of 25 Euro. This bait & switch practice was not agreeable, so I found another hotel and cancelled. Now, a month later, the B&B stlll has exact same room description. Be prepared for a bait & switch at this B&B.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank YukonCornelius98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#13 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 56 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sant'Angelo 42? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sant'Angelo 42

Property: B&B Sant'Angelo 42
Address: Via Sant'Angelo 42, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center, just two steps from the Cathedral of Orvieto, in a magical and special, made even more impressive from the alleys of the old historic center and its ancient paved streets, is located the Bed and Breakfasts Sant'Angelo 42. A three-storey old building, whose facade, with a golden color of the tuff, give something magical and unforgettable.The ideal place to experience the charm of Orvieto, among its historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B&B Sant'Angelo 42 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing