We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good selection”
Review of DUCA DI ORVIETO

DUCA DI ORVIETO
Reserve with
DUCA DI ORVIETO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specialised in old traditional regional recipes, which were almost lost.Specializzato in antiche ricette storiche del territorio che si erano ormai perse.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
237 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Great food, good selection”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped in Orvieto for lunch and some sightseeing on our way from Rome to Siena. Orvieto is exactly halfway point between these 2 cities. It was 7 of us and it was almost 2 pm, we decided that we need to find lunch spot quickly before everything is closed for siesta. “Duca di Orvieto” was one of the two places, where we stopped; we decided to stay in Duca because of Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence 2013 sign on the door.

Inside only couple of tables was occupied. Menu was pretty big including a few daily specials. English menu was available. Prices were reasonable especially after Rome. Service was friendly, but a bit slow.

We ordered a few appetizers to share: pork cheek bacon, bruschetta, and stuffed vegetables. After these we ordered pasta: umbrichelle (local spaghetti like pasta) with 3 meat sauce, carbonara with truffles, fettuccine with grappa and gorgonzola, umbrichelle with wild boar sauce;
and main courses: “Peposo”(braised beef) with pears (16th century recipe), braised wild boar (which was in season) with juniper berries. We tried each other’s food, everything was good. We also ordered bottle of white Orvieto wine and 1L of red house wine, they were pretty good too.
We didn’t try desserts, have no room left.

We would recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RItraveler512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    182
    52
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greece
2 reviews
“incredible”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is a really incredible restaurant. It offers you the opportunity to travel in an another season through the delicious traditional italian flavours.The atmosphere inside the restaurant was stylishly
and full of art. The stuff was completely friendly and the owner was an extremely talented and imaginative chef.I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to taste really extraordinary dishes living the medieval experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stergiani d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good ristorant to Orvieto”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We decided to go to this ristorant during our one-day-trip to Orvieto. A beautiful place, clean and comfortable. The food is very good as the portions and quality, hand-made pasta, delicious meat, exceptional wines of the highest quality. Fair prices, friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A local recommended this restaurant to us, as being good for regional food. We certainly enjoyed the meal but felt that it was on the pricey side for what it was, (although Orvieto is generally overpriced.) The recommended wine was very good.
The hostess is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suem030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
423 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Lunch in Orvieto”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

First we had an appetite-enhancing walkabout the beautiful medieval hilltop town of Orvieto, where the sun was shining brightly down upon the Italian families gathering outside the imposing Duomo for their communion celebrations. We went to one of our favorite restaurants here, Antica Rupe, but as it was booked out because of the communions, we wandered further up the road to Duca d'Orvieto. It was a restaurant we had looked at previously and hadn't tried yet and were happy to have our lunch there today. We shared a starter of Umbrechelli Ragu, which is a local pasta specialty like spaghetti but with much thicker pasta strips. The ragu was very meaty with great flavour. Our main courses were pork in a red wine sauce that consisted of two slices of pork loin in a hearty red wine reduction sauce, and a local beef called Chianina that was very tasty. With a side order of roast rosemary potatoes (no wine - that's right, no wine!) our bill came to 44 Euro

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DUCA DI ORVIETO also viewed

 
Acquapendente, Province of Viterbo
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to DUCA DI ORVIETO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing