We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice trattoria”

Trattoria La Palomba
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emmaus, PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice trattoria”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

this is a great place for local fare. It was prepared with excellent local ingredients and served in a pleasant manner by skilled servers.
this food ie well worth the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmaus_PAFisherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    420
    85
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wow!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent four days in orvito (for the third time in last 5 years) and I must say for me this is surely the best restaurant in town. Once again WOW! for the pasta with truffles and tagliata di manzo with the same. Complimenti to the owner, grazie to Enio and Alice (our domestic companions).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Logosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Italy!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to eat there at the recommandation of a local woman where we were lodging. The setting is nice and unpretentious. The cook herself was serving us and it really felt like a family restaurant. As a first course, we shared a Umbrichelli al tartufo (type of big spaghetti with trufle sauce) which was excellent. But it is the Secondi plati that stole my hearth : Bocconcini di cinghiale alla palombra (Boar stew). I can't even mention it without salivating. It was SOOOO good that I had to kiss the cook! My favorite meal in Italy (and there was plenty of great meals!). The house wine was also very good. Understandably, you need a reservation to get a table unless you are really lucky.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mrduguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The best for local cuisine”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A trip to Orvieto is not complete for me without a stop at La Palomba. This family owned restaurant specializes in local cuisine. The wait staff isf riendly --- and they never change! Most are family members. Vegetable offerings change daily. My favorite is umbricelli al tartufo, a local think spaghetti-type pasta with real truffles grated over it. They bring the truffle and grate it at the table with great ceremony, For dessert, my choice is torte di Nona.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Popular and good”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We ate some very good food here and it is definitely popular. Make sure that you get a reservation, we couldn't get in the first time we tried

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Palomba also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Trattoria La Palomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing