We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
new rochelle
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Duomo is perfectly located. Be sure to take the bus (fee included with your funicular ticket) to the square at the Duomo. The hotel is very close by, left when you are facing the church. You can either walk down the stairs or around the block to reach the hotel.
The rooms are perfectly clean, and the breakfast is plentiful. The people at the desk are most helpful, so ask for a map if you need one.
Wifi was spotty in our room, but it worked fine in the lobby

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    283
    60
    11
    7
See reviews for
146
402
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We initially chose Hotel Duomo for its excellent location --- just off the Piazza Duomo --- and its Tripadvisor rating. What an excellent choice it was! The hotel's location is ideal for visiting Orvieto, on a quiet side street less than a hundred meters from the magnificent duomo. The staff welcomed these two jet-lagged tourists warmly, showing us to our room and its amenities immediately. The room itself was large yet cozy, with nicer-than-expected furnishings and prints of paintings by Italian artists. The king-size bed was firm and comfortable, just what we needed after nearly 24 hours in transit. We enjoyed a rest on the small private balcony.

The proprietors' daughter even provided us with a local map for locating a restaurant to our tastes, shopping, etc. We were offered umbrellas the next day when the rain arrived. Breakfast was typical of a European hotel: cold cuts, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, and our choice of coffee (cappuccino, espresso, or Americano). In our experience the types and level of amenities found at Hotel Duomo are those of a higher-priced lodging. Combine this with the beautiful setting so close to the Duomo, and you have a winning combination indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms have double-paned glass to reduce sound from the Duomo's bell tower --- no need to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenChileGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,425 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,798 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked a junior suite on the 3rd floor and had a view of the Duomo. It was a lovely, clean, comfortable room, which we enjoyed very much. The free wi-fi worked well, which was a nice amenity.

Breakfast was a nice buffet assortment with cappuccino (or whatever hot beverage you wanted), juice, fruit, cereal, lunch meat, cheese, pastries, rolls and bread - plenty of variety to suit most everyone.

The location was ideal. Orvieto is not that large and from this hotel you could easily walk to all of the sites. It rained quite a bit while we were there and the hotel had large "loaner" umbrellas which came in handy. Our folding umbrellas, unfortunately, could not withstand the wind gusts which accompanied the rain. Thanks to the hotel's umbrellas, we wre able to stay dry while sightseeing - a very welcome touch!

Room Tip: We had a third floor junior suite with a view of the duomo - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you, like me, are going to Orvieto to check out the great cathedral, there's no better option than Hotel Duomo. It is very well located, have very nice rooms, great bathroom amenities, great breakfast...
I stayed in a room not located in the hotel's main building. It is in an annex, 50 meters away, in another street. The room was great! Great sized, comfy bed, mini bar. The main issue was that they have no wi-fi there, which was a big desappointment.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room in the main building, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We drove into Orvieto & found ourselves in the main piazza & facing the Duomo from there we followed the signs that lead us to the hotel.The street?(Lane) where the hotel is located seemed narrow and we parked the car near a school 7 walked to the hotel, floowing the signs. Once we arrived at the hotel and indicated where we were parked, they told us to drive down thr lane and leave the car in front of the hotel. This we did and unloaded our luggage. One of the staff then drove the car to their garage for our overnight stay. We could have parked the car on a street elswhere & worried about the saftey of the car overnight but for the 10 Euros a night extra it was worth using their garage.

The Staff was friendly and accomodating thoughout our stay. The room was great as we overlooked the small green space they had. Comfortable beds made for a good night sleep.

The location was absolutely wonderful. Up some steps to the Duomo and down a lane to the main area of the town.

We had a good choice of items for our breakfast in the morning. When we checked out in the AM the staff member went to the garage and brought the car to the front of the hotel where we loaded up. The Staff even helped us by clearing the pedestrians from our path as we left the hotel. An example of their great service.

We will stay here the next time we are in Orvieto.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buncky3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, TX
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Duomo on our one and only night in Orvieto. Although it is a bit of a hike from the funicular station to the hotel, once you arrive you realize that the location is really fantastic for exploring the city. Located just around the corner from the Duomo (hence the name), you can get to anywhere in the city within ten minutes. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're staying the night in Orvieto.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Duomo can get a little noisy at night as there is activity in the piazza most e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

They made us feel right at home, after an overnight flight, then a bus trip to Orvieto, we were a little dazed but they smoothed it all over, gave us some tips for time before we could check into our rooms. Our room was very nice, we could open the windows and view the cobblestone street below, and had nice view to the bell tower. This is a lovely hotel in a lovely town!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the second floor 204, for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyTurner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing