We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk everywhere from your Hotel”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Orvieto is one of those ancient cities built on top of a mountain for protection from the barbarians.It now has a nice road from the new parts down in the valley, but the only place to stay is up on top of the rock. And one of the reasons to be up there is the Cathedral known as "The Duomo". The Hotel Duomo is right beside the church and is only about 20 steps from the Plaza of the Cathedral. The taxi ride from the train station is about 17 euros and well worth it.

For location alone I love the Hotel Duomo. But it is also a truly up to date modern facility nestled inside a very old home. Everything is new and clean. The rooms are very nice- many on the 1st floor (that's one up from ground floor) have balconies where you can gaze at the church and wonder at how they constructed it. Take off from the Plaza and walk through the town- its like walking through Disneyworld. Every twist and turn of the narrow street reveals another attraction or incomparable view of the valleys below.
The food is excellent (I report on several good places to eat in other reviews) and prices are reasonable - much cheaper than Rome and I think the cooking is much better. But eat breakfast at the Hotel. Its a very good selection and lots of coffee and tea. At night there it is also a bar, but unless the weather is horrible, the local taverns are the place to be at night.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the Church - near the front over the lobby for the best views and a balcony. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sojourner-Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Duomo in Orvieto for one night in early November 2013. The hotel is centrally located in Orvieto, and very close to the Duomo. The staff were courteous and professional, and the rooms were very clean and large with space to store luggage and hang clothes. The bathroom was spacious, but our shower was small, although great water pressure! We had a room with a small balcony that overlooked the hotel's terrace and you could see the very tip of the cathedral from the balcony. We booked the room directly through the hotel and received a good rate, which included breakfast. The breakfast was standard fare, but filling and a great way to begin the day. I would stay at the Hotel Duomo on my next visit to Orvieto.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Naples from Siena for a break. It's a small town and a small hotel, but the staff was very nice, and breakfast was standard for Italy. It's a small town so everything is near each other, but our room was superbly clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part that is actually located 2 small blocks away, but super quiet. It doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porkachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Flew in from the states, train into Rome, then caught the regional train to Orvieto...great to rest and enjoy the first days in Italy. The hotel is right on the Piazza, so in the center of town. Clean, breakfast was ample, great coffee! My Wi-Fi was spotty, so sat in the lobby. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were here in October, so I do not think one room was better than the others. Did use the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MntravelingClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Duomo is perfectly located. Be sure to take the bus (fee included with your funicular ticket) to the square at the Duomo. The hotel is very close by, left when you are facing the church. You can either walk down the stairs or around the block to reach the hotel.
The rooms are perfectly clean, and the breakfast is plentiful. The people at the desk are most helpful, so ask for a map if you need one.
Wifi was spotty in our room, but it worked fine in the lobby

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We initially chose Hotel Duomo for its excellent location --- just off the Piazza Duomo --- and its Tripadvisor rating. What an excellent choice it was! The hotel's location is ideal for visiting Orvieto, on a quiet side street less than a hundred meters from the magnificent duomo. The staff welcomed these two jet-lagged tourists warmly, showing us to our room and its amenities immediately. The room itself was large yet cozy, with nicer-than-expected furnishings and prints of paintings by Italian artists. The king-size bed was firm and comfortable, just what we needed after nearly 24 hours in transit. We enjoyed a rest on the small private balcony.

The proprietors' daughter even provided us with a local map for locating a restaurant to our tastes, shopping, etc. We were offered umbrellas the next day when the rain arrived. Breakfast was typical of a European hotel: cold cuts, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, and our choice of coffee (cappuccino, espresso, or Americano). In our experience the types and level of amenities found at Hotel Duomo are those of a higher-priced lodging. Combine this with the beautiful setting so close to the Duomo, and you have a winning combination indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms have double-paned glass to reduce sound from the Duomo's bell tower --- no need to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenChileGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked a junior suite on the 3rd floor and had a view of the Duomo. It was a lovely, clean, comfortable room, which we enjoyed very much. The free wi-fi worked well, which was a nice amenity.

Breakfast was a nice buffet assortment with cappuccino (or whatever hot beverage you wanted), juice, fruit, cereal, lunch meat, cheese, pastries, rolls and bread - plenty of variety to suit most everyone.

The location was ideal. Orvieto is not that large and from this hotel you could easily walk to all of the sites. It rained quite a bit while we were there and the hotel had large "loaner" umbrellas which came in handy. Our folding umbrellas, unfortunately, could not withstand the wind gusts which accompanied the rain. Thanks to the hotel's umbrellas, we wre able to stay dry while sightseeing - a very welcome touch!

Room Tip: We had a third floor junior suite with a view of the duomo - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
511 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 30 in Orvieto
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#16 of 30 in Orvieto
283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Orvieto
Hotel Orvieto
#23 of 30 in Orvieto
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Vicolo Di Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing