We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Odd art... Decent breakfast. Room nice... Just down road from Duomo - no views of it but very close... Free slippers which was a nice touch... Pleased with stay and would return. Great place to visit for a night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelangelo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    274
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
138
385
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed two nights at Hotel Duomo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While our GPS tried to get us to drive through Orvieto - instead of around the perimeter to get to Piazza Marconi - I would not attempt to drive through as there are pedestrian areas and heavy fines if you drive through them.

Once we found the correct way to drive to the hotel, the very friendly and helpful staff parked our car in their covered parking. The room was appointed as expected for a European style hotel and good value for the location.

The morning breakfast was included and offered many choices - once again in European style.

The location is excellent for walking around Orvieto and is just steps from the Duomo, Underground Cave Tour and many restaurants well worth trying and reviewed on this website.

We would definitely stay there again when visiting Orvieto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good location easy to get the car to.Car parked for us overnight in secure parking for only 10 Euro.
Stayed in the annex which was very clean,modern and quiet.The breakfast had a good variety.The bed was a little bit hard.Friendly helpful staff.Would stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor of the annex,but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This Small Hotel is run by a family and is excellent! The rooms are big and cozy, the breakfast is very nice as well and the staff is simply amazing! I really loved staying there and wish I could spend a few more nights at it

As everything in Orvieto, to find it at first might be a bit difficult, but it is located very close to the Duomo (actually, just go down the staircase by the West Façade of the Duomo)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. Right on the square of the magnificent duomo. Our room on the third floor was very nice - a triple room with a view of the duomo out one window and a view of a nice garden area out of another. The beds were comfortable and a bit hard, which is better than too soft, in my book. The bathroom had a nice layout and the shower was big enough for my tall husband. It had good towels and a towel warmer. The internet connection really only worked down in the lobby and was constantly disconnecting us so that we needed to re-authenticate each time we wanted to use the wifi - a hassle.

Breakfast was well done with a full continental breakfast buffet with cappuccinos, yogurt, fruit, rolls, blood orange juice, and boiled eggs.

My negative feedback is that the overall feeling at the hotel is serious, not happy. The art was a big turn off for me, and added to an overall less-than-joyful feeling to the place. There are many prints of Verdirosi in the rooms and halls. In our room: an image of an old man playing chess with the grim reaper, while a devil sits on the back of each player's chair. Not the best image when you are falling asleep and hoping for sweet dreams.

The older couple who run the hotel don't speak much English, and my interactions with them were always business-only, with no chit-chat about how we were enjoying or stay etc. The younger couple were much more convivial.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JanPeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

January stay, welcoming and friendly. Family run hotel, very helpful throughout our stay. We don't have much Italian which was never a problem. Reasonable cost including mini bar. Hotel Central to Orvieto walking distance to everything. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Orvieto is one of those ancient cities built on top of a mountain for protection from the barbarians.It now has a nice road from the new parts down in the valley, but the only place to stay is up on top of the rock. And one of the reasons to be up there is the Cathedral known as "The Duomo". The Hotel Duomo is right beside the church and is only about 20 steps from the Plaza of the Cathedral. The taxi ride from the train station is about 17 euros and well worth it.

For location alone I love the Hotel Duomo. But it is also a truly up to date modern facility nestled inside a very old home. Everything is new and clean. The rooms are very nice- many on the 1st floor (that's one up from ground floor) have balconies where you can gaze at the church and wonder at how they constructed it. Take off from the Plaza and walk through the town- its like walking through Disneyworld. Every twist and turn of the narrow street reveals another attraction or incomparable view of the valleys below.
The food is excellent (I report on several good places to eat in other reviews) and prices are reasonable - much cheaper than Rome and I think the cooking is much better. But eat breakfast at the Hotel. Its a very good selection and lots of coffee and tea. At night there it is also a bar, but unless the weather is horrible, the local taverns are the place to be at night.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the Church - near the front over the lobby for the best views and a balcony. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sojourner-Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#21 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing