We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Jill40Jill40
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, we were surprised that whilst the person on reception was polite, neither she nor her father were at all friendly - a "smile-free" zone. Perhaps they had had an unhappy experience earlier that day. Still, it was a disappointing contrast to our experience everywhere else in Italy. To be fair, the next day, the same woman made more effort to be pleasant.

We encountered a problem on one occasion when we tried to leave the annexe where our room was situated, perhaps 100 metres from the main hotel. The front door key for the annexe would not open the door. There was no phone in the room so we had to make a mobile phone call to reception (via Australia) to arrange for the door to be opened. The matter was sorted out within 5-10 minutes , and we were given a replacement key.

The Room - Our room had two prints of awful pieces by Osho which my wife could not bear to look at. The room was up a couple of flights of stairs.
As mentioned, there was no phone in the room. The bathroom was on the small side but adequate.
The hotel was close to the Duomo. Breakfast was OK - continental, supplemented with cold meats.
The hotel was OK, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill40Jill40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16555, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Gentlman,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Another time I see that the staff has a different faces,maybe you did read the last review,anyway you made a reservation in the Annex that is at 50 metres from the hotel,so you know all the service,all the things that are available in the room because is on the description.The steps for going upsteirs are on the pictures too,on our website,or in any other site that you can made a reservation (at the moment I don't remember which one did you used)
I'm glad that you did like the breakfast, that 's something!!!
So, I hope to see you next time in hotel.
Best Regards
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    270
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
137
380
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location of this hotel to the Duomo made me apprehensive about the traffic noise but it was not so. Its central location makes it ideal for exploring the walled town of Orvieto and short access to exquisite restaurants. The narrow streets around the hotel mean the vehicular traffic and the associated noise is kept to a minimum. The staff were very friendly and especially helpful with directions to shops and they recommended some restaurants which we really enjoyed. The rooms were spacious with adequate sized bathrooms, they were clean and generally well appointed. We could open both suitcases and leave them like that without having to manoeuvre around them. We did not like the ghoulish characters on one of the wall hangings and removed it from view, pictures should make one feel peaceful. The breakfast was enjoyable and the items on offer were constantly topped up. Coffee was made to order, cappuccino included. There is a small outside courtyard for having a quiet read or drinks. My leather shoes were found by the cleaning staff in the room and polished without my asking, that was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have full signal Wi-Fi so ask first. Second floor selection gives rooms with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very nice and delightful hotel and reasonably priced. Our room was beautiful, a very ample size, and very clean. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They will park your car if you drive in. The breakfast, which is included, consists of hot coffee, juice, eggs, toast, cereal, milk, fruit, and much more. This hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, restaurants, and sight seeing (all within walking distance). I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel. The views are exactly what you think an Italian hilltop commu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkyg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Reading other reviews, it seems that this hotel must have different staff on at times. Lots of reviews speak of friendly service but we found that the staff were brusque to the point of rudeness for our one night stay. We had a family room which was spotlessly clean and indeed the whole hotel was beautifully maintained. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It could be amazing, but it matters how you are treated and it makes your stay so much nicer. We wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16555, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gentlman,
thank you very much for your review.
The staff of the hotel it's a family,so we are a family and we are the same people, we don't change a faces!!!
Just dipend,I think,what the people expect because every day we have a smile and try to be nice with all our guest (this is our work) . My personal opinion is, to find a clean hotel with nice rooms and service that work.
However thank you again for your stay and I tell you,we are happy for our job but of course we want to do every day better.
I hope to see you again next time,
Best Regards
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautifully situated very close to the wonderful Cathedral in Orvieto, the hotel is an ideal centre for touring southern Umbria. The rooms are practical and clean; the staff helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here on our last night in Italy on our way back from Le Marche to Fiumichino. With its proximity to the A1, Orvieto is a great place to stay if you are leaving from Fiumichino early in the morning but don't want to stay at a characterless airport hotel. The Hotel is smack in the middle of the Piazza Duomo. There is parking (pay) very nearby and after about 8:00 at night - provided you can find a spot - you can park in front of the hotel. For us this was a huge plus b/c we needed to be out of the hotel by 5:30 a.m.
The mgmt is friendly enough. The Hotel is spanking clean. We had reserved two rooms: a triple on the ground floor, which turned out to be extremely tiny even by Italian standards. It was quite difficult to move around in the room especially with luggage for three people.
The single - on the first floor - was also tiny but not at all uncomfortable and, again, extremely clean. The view from this room onto the piazza and the duomo is just gorgeous. The bathrooms were tight but not unusually so for Italy however, the shower was so small that it would be hard to imagine a larger man being able to even fit inside with the shower door closed.
One thing that rankled: The hotel has wireless internet but only offers it free to one device per room. Additional internet access is 5e per device. Really? Other hotels of the same caliber in Italy offer internet free with your reservation. This kind of nickel and diming turned us off.

Room Tip: First floor single has fantastic view onto the piazza and the duomo. Will NOT appeal to people looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGP512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
16555, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gentlman,
reading this review I realized that you made a mistake with another hotel. Everything you wrote is not about our Hotel Duomo,but regarding another hotel that is located in Piazza Duomo.
In fact ,none of your description coincides with our services. The parking for example we have our private parking with an extra cost, the wifi is free for everybody in the rooms and in the lobby,our bathrooms are big with big showers.
Our hotel is located beside the Cathedral,you can check all this information on the our website.
I would like , therefore,that this review was cancelled,thank you.
Best Regards
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice, clean hotel. Limited wifi for us, but our daughters room had great wifi. I now know to ask before reserving. The location was perfect-just steps from the Duomo. This is a fantastic town and I highly recommend you visit it and stay here!

Room Tip: Ask about the wifi-we had a corner room that only had wifi if you sat by the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaPehrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#14 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing