We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly recommended”
Review of Osteria Del Grillo

Osteria Del Grillo
Reserve with
Osteria Del Grillo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 171 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with typical Umbrian cuisine. Use of local products that represent the gastronomic excellences of the territory. The freshness, simplicity, authenticity and quality are our strengths.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warmly recommended”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were sent to this restaurant by the front desk of the hotel we stayed in and the place completely fulfilled the promises we have been made – great food and attentive service at very reasonable price. It is specious and the atmosphere was refreshing and not very traditional Italian. Would love to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    241
    36
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Experience at Osteria Del Grillo”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Based on past reviews we had dinner at this restaurant in mid October while visiting Orvieto. It was a Sunday evening and they must have had a bad day as the meal was unfortunately without doubt one of the worst we had during four weeks in Italy. The recommended Florentine Steak was both tough and tasteless and the lamb ordered by my wife came as a brochette with the lamb pieces being no larger than a grape!!

Given the many other glowing reviews of the establishment I can only presume that we were just unlucky. I would however never want to repeat the experience. Fortunately most of the remainder of our meals throughout Italy were indeed very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved the style of cooking. Our pork was excellent. We had an assortment of cheeses, honey and tomato marmalade. We will definitely return as we hope to visit Orvieto again in the spring. We also were having a late night meal and couldn't find anything open. So glad they were open, still quite busy too. We would have missed a wonderful meal and service had we not stumbled upon this little gem

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coolest Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was one of the coolest restaurants we ate at in Italy on our honeymoon. After a not so great dinner the night before, we turned to trip advisor and found this. We didn't know this, but most places require a reservation and aren't that good, so we tried to find a more beaten off the path place. The place is a little daunting outside, at the base of the mountain, and it is in between some apartment buildings; not the nicest looking. Once you step in, it is the coolest place. The atmosphere of younger groups and the friendliest hosts and cooks, made for almost the same type of microbrewery atmosphere you would find in the US. It seemed like a bunch of young friends using high quality ingredients to make delicious food. After a suggestion from our non-english speaking waiter, we got the appetizer platter which was different breads, spreads, and cured meats. It was soooo yummy! They had a guy there that freshly shaved the proscuitto as you ordered it. We also got the house Orvieto wine, which was so good we bought a bottle to take with us. For dinner, we each ordered two different types of steaks, couldn't tell you much more cause we don't speak Italian. Mine came with some type of spicy glaze on it, and seemed like a strip steak, my husbands came thin sliced with almost a pesto or argentian sauce over it. Both were soooo good! I just couldn't get over how awesome this place was, how good the food was, and how friendly everyone were. If you get the chance, definatly go here, and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great food, great atmosphere and great host. Service was attentive, food was well prepared and service was very helpful. This restaurant has a great grill, wood burning hot coals. Dessert was homemade and out of this world good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Del Grillo also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Osteria Del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing