We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of L'Antica Rupe

L'Antica Rupe
Ranked #5 of 176 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the best restaurant in Orvieto and one of the finest anywhere. Airy, bright, happy. Everything is in Italian, but the staff is infinitely helpful. But, no matter....all the food is first class. Though I must say that the gnocchi with truffles and four cheeses and the tiramisu are the stars.
You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    192
    34
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on recommendation of tripadvisor. We were early and the first guests but the restaurant was full of locals when we left. The portions are good, food was well prepared and the service was nice. The price was medium but well worth the lunch we had. Can recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding choice”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wow...this restaurant was unbelievably great! Friendly service, terrific wine, fair prices, and lots of happy locals...you cannot ask for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Volforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lived up to each expectation - absolutely delicious!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We made a reservation at L'Antica Rupe for a weekday lunch in Orvieto, based on recommendations from TripAdvisor. We were greeted with a warm welcome, and despite the langugage barrier (they didn't speak too much English), we managed to arrange what felt like a luxury lunch. We had the round up appetizer which had the most generous portions of bruschettas, meats and other delicacies. We highly recommend the mushroom truffle pasta - an absolutely amazing treat and real speciality at the restaurant. I had the stuffed eggplant and my partner the pork - both were succulent and tender. We enjoyed a selection of Umbrian wines - and two hours later topped it off with a lovely nutella dessert pastry from our hostess. L'Antica Rupe is not to be missed, especially if you're looking to avoid tourist traps. We hope to go back soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went back in December after visiting the restaurant several times in the summer. We were greeted with a warm welcome, the food was as good as we remembered and the atmosphere buzzing. Good food, reasonable prices, full of locals, Rupe has the restaurant feel of a larger city and in this city of many great restaurants, this is certainly one of the best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 20MUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Antica Rupe also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to L'Antica Rupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing