We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to begin a holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Misia Country Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We found Misia a wonderfully run villa hotel nestled in the shadow of a large volcanic tufa rock (Rocca Ripesena). Stone steps and a path lead to a garden on top of the rock with panoramic views of Orvieto and the surrounding countryside. While the outside of Misia looks delightfully rustic, the rooms have all the modern amenities - air-conditioning and heat, new fixtures in the bathroom and well designed windows that open either from the top or the side. The charming hosts – Giorgio and the beautify Alexandra were very helpful and made dinner reservations for us at the nearby agroturismo restaurant and helped us plan our visit to Orvieto. If you are driving in from Rome follow the directions explicitly. We didn’t, relying on an iPhone and Google maps and found ourselves “temporarily mislaid”. This was not a huge problem as we discovered a winery and a rough back road route to the Rocca! Misia is just a few kilometres from the parking lot for the stairs/escalator to the old city of Orvieto. It is also conveniently close Bagnoregio, Lake Bolsena and the back road to the coast via Pitgliano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

On our recent trip to Italy, we were lucky enough to stay at Misia for 3 days from September 3rd through the 6th. While the resort is a good 20-minute (adventurous, yet manageable) drive to Orvieto proper, it is well worth the trip.. The accommodations are modern and extremely comfortable. We stayed in Suite 8, which was very spacious and included lovely indoor and outdoor sitting areas. The outdoor sitting area faces the large rock; however, it is a serene respite (and great place for a nice bottle of wine) after a day of sightseeing in beautiful Orvieto.The only drawback to the accommodation is that the electricity shuts off when you leave the room (which was a slight issue for us, since we enjoyed purchasing the local meats and cheeses for in-room antipasto), Breakfast is great for a quick bite and included meats, cheeses, and standard continental breakfast fare in a very comfortable setting. Perhaps our favorite breakfast menu item was Giorgio's fantastic cappucino (especially because he delivered it to us personally). I've saved the best of this review for last, as Giorgio is such a warm, accommodating host. He offered a drink from the bar every time we entered the resort, and provided excellent directions and suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants. He put up with my very rudimentary Italian (and encouraged me to practice while in Italy) and spent time with us, which was very much appreciated and memorable. If we're lucky enough to visit this area again, we would feel privileged to stay at Giorgio's resort again. (Hopefully, he'll have his restaurant up and running by then, as we both have an affinity for cooking and I think his nenu would be outstanding.) Thank you Giorgio; you were our favorite host during our 2--week stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleitaly721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful in every way. It is spotless with all the modern touches yet feels like a centuries old home. We stayed in suite 8, which was fantastic. The hospitality is warm and inviting, the breakfast room lovely, really every touch here is thought out and done really well. A perfect place to stay to explore this part of Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Misia for one night before we had to drive to depart from Rome the next morning. The resort is wonderful: gorgeous, spacious and tastefully furnished rooms; super comfy bed (with true linen sheets); beautiful modern bath with great bath products; breathtaking scenery; and Giorgio, a terrific host. Giorgio was very warm and welcoming, he gave us great advice for seeing the area and for dining, and provided a very nice continental breakfast spread (even though it was just the two of us at the resort that night). I didn't like Orvieto as much as I liked other medieval cities in Tuscany and Umbria, but if you're in that area, it's definitely worth staying at Misia. (I would definitely stay at Misia over any place in the city of Orvieto.) If you go, be sure to climb to the top of the overlook beside the resort for amazing views of the city of Orvieto, it's Duomo and the beautiful vista.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1, though I honestly cannot remember why. If I went back, I would ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zonkers1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent four days in Suite 4 and must say it was fantastic. Giorgio's artful design and attention to details make Misia a place to come back to as often as you are in Orvieto. The view from our room almost made it impossible to leave for the days activities. Giorgio was the perfect host who could never do enough to make you comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: Suite 4 has a balcony with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timvoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is beautifully decorated and we loved suite 8, within its high beams and ceiling light, luxurious bathroom, air-con, Wi-Fi, and small deck. Terrific views from inside the suite and a few minutes’ climb up the nearby rock provides sweeping views of Umbria. Though located a 10-minute drive from Orvieto (which makes the hotel quiet as can be at night), Misia – the name of the current innkeeper’s grandmother – is absolutely worth it if you have a car. We only wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: I’m sure all of the rooms are terrific but we loved suite 8.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great place to stay, nice host, you feel at home straight away. Beautiful rooms, decorated with passion and style. A 10 minutes drive to charming Orvieto. We only stayed 1 night, would have been great to be there a little longer. All the suites are different and very nice. Italy on it's best!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JD-SIngapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
4.0 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
621 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
501 reviews
6.6 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
2.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misia Country Resort

Address: Localita Rocca Ripesena 51/52, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Misia Country Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misia Resort is a small boutique country hotel situated in the charming medieval village of Rocca Ripesena overlooking the countryside and the vineyards of Orvieto, just 6 km from the city center and 20 km from Civita di Bagnoreggio . Falls under the category of "Hotels disclosed" because its rooms and common areas leased in several buildings close together. It is possible to organize here at Misia wine and food tasting , cooking classes and oil tasting . We have spaces and terrace to oranize your wedding day in the beauty of the borgo of Rocca Ripesena , the village of the Roses . Please contact us to have more informations about . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Misia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing