We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We survived!”
Review of Hotel Reale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reale
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We survived!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Walking up to the hotels impressive facade we were thrilled with our choice, not too concerned with the bit of chipped paint on the front of the building. Entering the foyer we found no one until the gentile innkeeper greeted us from the staircase above, by name, before even seeing us. :0.
We were escorted by a tiny elevator to our double room arranged for us beforehand as we were six females. We felt graciously accommodated as the rooms were offered at a comfortable discounted rate.
The Magnificent, frescoed high ceilings, antique furnishings and a large old soaking tub in the expansive bathroom erased our initial uneasiness due to apparently being the only guests in the hotel. But we found ourselves staring at each other wide eyed as the clock in the tower let out a loud gong. We were back to that uncanny feeling of being in a place that may possibly have some spooky secrets.
Tired of silliness, we went out to dinner which was a short pleasant walk as the hotel is situated in a most convenient location. Shopping, dining and the clock tower are around the corner.
Taking the grande marble staircase back to our room, we were again frightened by candelabra on the banister and the huge oil paintings on the walls of people from the past. The urn was the last straw and we ran back to our room and locked the door. The lights went out and we were again in this giant old hotel...alone!!! After laughing, crying, joking and hugging each other to ease our fears, we finally fell asleep to wake in the morning to a fantastic outdoor market and a cafe just outside the front door. Perfect!
To say that this place was the most fun that I've had in a very long time would not be exaggerating. It is the kind of hotel that you will remember for ever. And if you enjoy being scared, you can let your imagination run wild and have a blast! If not, you will enjoy the opulence and history that the hotel has over some of the other hotels that we peeked into.
The only thing that this place was lacking in were patrons which was a shame. It was clean, friendly and had atmosphere that mirrors that of Orvieto itself. Moderately priced, the hotel was a bargain. Go soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We LOVED this hotel.
First tip: They don't speak English, so be prepared to converse in broken Italian if you know any!
Breakfast is not anything to write home about, but don't miss it! They expect everyone to come to breakfast and will be ready for you! So let them know if you don't want to partake. They'll appreciate it.
The art is all "antique" as one of the caretakers will tell you. There's even a tiny little chapel down one of the hallways. Gorgeous! The rooms are spacious and you really feel like a Royal while staying there. Bring earplugs! The church bells ring every 15 minutes and you can hear them through the single-pane windows 24 hours/day.
WiFi only works in the reception area, but is free and easy to use. Instructions are on a table in the main reception area. It's really charming and the price is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espraitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Oh what a beautiful hotel. We loved the frescoed ceilings, marble floors and antique furniture. Except for blowing a fuse with my hair dryer, this hotel is a traveler's dream. It is centrally located for walking to stores, shops,restaurants and historic sites. Breakfast is adequate and they do not serve dinner. There is an open market every Thursday and Saturday where you can buy fruits, vegetables, meats, clothing and much more.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the piazza and was quiet. Our friends' room overlooked the garden and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is a strange place. The public rooms are elegant with frescoed ceilings and antique furnishings. But there is almost a funereal atmosphere about the place. It is a very large old palazzo and I think we were the only ones there. Our footsteps echoed up the wide marble stairs where the placement of an urn and a black candelabra added to the haunted house effect. I expected to be greeted by the Adams family. The high ceilinged room could have been lovely if it hadn't been painted gray and didn't have a hideous modular metal contraption that they added as a bathroom. There is also the problem of the campanile which gongs every 15 minutes day and NIGHT. Sleep was a definite issue. If you still want to brave it, don't get the breakfast. We paid 8 euro each for a dry roll and watered down juice. that was it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannycamUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This place is unbelievable! It's got a charming elegance that I've not seen in very many hotels in Europe, and I've been to a lot. Huge carpeted staircase, heavy oaken doors, and lovely fixtures--all for very good prices. My bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious, the en suite bathroom was roomy, and the service was excellent. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but you are one block from the main street (Corso), where there are cafes and shops galore. Be SURE and eat dinner at the Trattoria around the second right corner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2005

I stayed at the Reale in July of 2004. I was sent there by a family of men in town who were kind enough to refer me when I drove in and asked for the "most beautiful" hotel in town. I was not disappointed.
The hotel had been the residence for the famous Family of the town once upon a time. It has that lovely old world charm, and is, get this, INEXPENSIVE! I was amazed when Cladio, my wonderful friend at the front desk, led me to my single room that had chandeliers and frescoes on the ceilings. All this for less than 70 euros! Oh, and the bath.... Bella. I soaked in that enormous tub until I was fully cooked!
They do not offer food, but there are great places for breakfast just around the corner. I will ONLY stay here when I get back again. Period.


  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#22 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#12 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reale

Property: Hotel Reale
Address: Piazza del Popolo 27, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing