We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Staff”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gracious Staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found the staff at Hotel Virgillio more than willing to go the extra mile to make our total stay in Orvieto most memorable. Our room for 3 was immaculate and included all the small items we needed to make our stay complete. Breakfast was tasty and provided a good selection. Their recommendation for a restaurant for dinner provided us with a truly Italian dining experience, delicious and featuring locally sourced foods. We were there the day before Palm Sunday and through their guidance attended an inspiring concert that evening in the Duomo. We liked the location of being right across from the Duomo. Orvieto becomes a quiet village at night. The staff even provided us with a ride to the train station when no alternative was available. I highly recommend Hotel Virgillio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    137
    47
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
212
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Simple but clean rooms with great furnishings and nice marble bathrooms. We had a room with a view of the Duomo which was fabulous especially at night. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelseanTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Following a wedding in Rome, the Friday after Easter, we were eager for a quiet, quaint Italian village. Orvieto is such a place. Our hotel was located on the Duomo Piazza and while busy with tour groups during the day, became a quiet locals village in the evening. The staff was wonderful in recommending restaurants that would satisfy our desire for local fresh food..not fancy or tourist locations. We ate dinner both nights at the location they suggested and the food was excellent. Our room overlooked the piazza and with open windows the ringing of the village church bells was amazing. Anyone searching for a more Italian experience will not be disappointed in the village or this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachnative23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week and was greeted by such warmth and kindness from the whole staff throughout my visit. Paola, Laura and Mattei offered fantastic recommendations according to my specific interests and were so very helpful. My room, which overlooked the Duomo was excellent and the hotel's attention to details made this a wonderful highlight to my trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lobby is well decorated and the hotel has a small lift if that is important to you. Our room was clean and got the job done. The staff were friendly and helped greatly with restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was standard Italian fare (pastry-centric) but it was fresh.
It was our second time in Orvieto and I would definitely stay again at Virgilio.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent one night only at this hotel in January 2014 and booked an economy room with breakfast included. The hotel location is great, just aside of the big cathedral, the staff is polite and our room was clean and nicely furbished. The private bathroom was large, but water pressure was quite low expecially in the shower and in the bidet, with the sink extremely slow to get empty. Minor problems for one night, but can be critical for more. Breakfast was very good, nice food and sufficient options from the buffet. Would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauro_CO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel right in the Doumo plaza. Perfect location - could not be better.

Clean renovated rooms in an old historic building with direct views of the Doumo.

The service was helpful, professional and friendly.

We stayed 2 nights and wish we stayed more.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valentino Hotel
Valentino Hotel
#17 of 30 in Orvieto
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#13 of 30 in Orvieto
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Piazza del Duomo 5/6, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the small town of Orvieto, in the historic center, facing one of the world's most famous monuments: the Duomo. In addition to its strategic position near the main monuments of the city and near the shopping center, is ideal for a relaxing break. Equipped with all the comforts and highly qualified personnel to meet the needs of any type of customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing