We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent one night in Orvieto in May at the Hotel Virgilio. Was very pleased by what we found. Our room was on the back side so, although we did not have a view of the Duomo, we had a very quiet nite.

The beds were great and the room was very large and comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italylover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    132
    47
    10
    10
See reviews for
58
207
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautifully located small hotel overlooking the main piazza and Duomo. Couldn't be better. Rooms really comfortable and clean, very friendly staff and italian style breakfast lovely. When I get back to Orvieto I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely hotel in Orvieto's best spot. We reserved a room, but the owner, very nicely, showed us a bigger one so we could choose which one would fit better our needs. The room had a nice and clean decoration, and was very quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is directly across from the Duomo. We had an excellent view from our room. The staff was very helpful, the hotel was kept clean and the rooms were small but nice.

The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast that was served by the receiption staff on duty in the mornings.

The air conditioning was not turned on yet for the season and the rooms were a little warm as a result. Keeping the windows opened at night was an option since it was quiet in the square but the air was filled with pollen at this time of year.

We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Virgilio was a wonderful find . So good we changed our plans and returned for our final night in Italy. Excellent location , extremely comfortable rooms and wonderful staff . What more can you want for? Would love to return .Thankyou to Mattia for all your help and assistance .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Boutique style hotel, right in the heart of everything. The walls appear to be very thin and could easily hear our neighbor. Also the mattress was hard with no box spring mattress. Not sure if it was just our room....comfort wise we did not sleep well. However, we did enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ste agathe de lotbiniere
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a night at the hotel with a fabulous view of the plaza and Duomo. Hotel was chique, very well positioned, and offered all that we could need or want. The staff were very helpful, and the 'area' was a pleasure to roam. Add to this, the local wine was soothing! The white marble 'design touches' add an element of class...the hotel was a true 'value-add' to our visit to Orvieto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#17 of 28 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Piazza del Duomo 5/6, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the small town of Orvieto, in the historic center, facing one of the world's most famous monuments: the Duomo. In addition to its strategic position near the main monuments of the city and near the shopping center, is ideal for a relaxing break. Equipped with all the comforts and highly qualified personnel to meet the needs of any type of customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing