We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orvieto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fattoria di Titignano
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We spent one night at the Fattoria Titignano, near Orvieto, in Oct '09--a 4,000-hectare working farm with a history that goes back 3,000 years. Our room was very nice with a modern private bath and a stunning view of the Tiber valley. The buffet-style dinner and breakfast, served in the old manor hall, were very good--most of the food coming from the farm. Our room and two meals cost just 60 euro per person.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    83
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
108
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We travelled to Titinagno after spending a day in Siena and Tuscany. We got lost getting to the road from Orvieto, so we arrived after dark. First let me say, the road to get there is one of the windiest, most mountainous road I have ever been on, and I have spent time in the NC mountains. I would recommending arriving here in daylight, which is what we tried to do. It took about 40 minutes to travel the 20 or so kilometers from Orvieto.

Upon arrival the place looked abandoned. An eerie quiet and darkness all around, with a few lights in the square, 2 cars, and no people around. However, when I went in they were expecting me and showed me to our room on the square.

Dinner was a little later, and sure enough, about 30 other people were staying on the grounds, just hidden from our view as we arrived. Dinner was wonderful. A full 7 course meal with wines and water included. Wonderfully prepared, although I would not recommend they go out on the "fried chicken" limb again. Probably the worst dish I had on the trip, but everything else was wonderful.

There were some issues with the room. We turned the TV on to relax a little before dinner, but it didn't work. The toilet made strange noises for about 10 minutes after the flush. Finally, there was no hot water in the morning. After I inquired, they investigated for about 15 minutes, and then I believe turned it on from the main house.

Overall I would still recommend Titinagno. A unique experience staying in a 700 year old building. Family style dinner was fabulous. And the view from the square was beautiful, worthy of a postcard.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendswithdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We only spent one night in this agriturismo - but it was an unforgettable one! We arrived to see the sunset over the lake and just in time for our fantastic dinner. We were served their own wines and food from the region - wine (a bottle each of red & white) antipasti, pasta, risotto, meats, dessert and coffee - all for €15! Be warned, the food will keep coming - so don't fill up too soon as you'll want a taste of everything!

Our room was very spacious and with all mod cons inside what could be desribed as an old barn! Gorgeous views out of our window overlooking the pool, lake and vineyards.

Stunning 12th C architecture - such a shame we didn't go on a tour of the vineyards...Don't go past the shop without taking something home. All the produce is very well priced - especially the wines! A slightly winding road if coming in from Orvieto - aim to arrive in the daylight hours.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank london_aussie_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We have just returned from a 5 night stay here and were very satisfied with the Fattoria Titignano. The setting is absolutely gorgeous!
The value is incredible - for $120 Euros per day we stayed in a lovely room and had a nice home-made breakfast (croissants, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee) and incredible dinners each day. A note about the dinners - if you are on a diet - forget about it! The food here is all prepared on site by people who know how to cook authentic Italian food. Each dinner will be at least 8 courses so expect to put on a pound or two. Also a bottle of white and red wine from the estate will also be included on your table along with mineral water - and if you finish it, more will be brought to you. A typical meal consist of: prosciutto with melon, cheese torte, pizza, pasta, meat, vegetables, tiramisu, cantucci with vin santo, coffee. We stayed for lunch one day and were charged a minimal amount of $15 Euros and were treated to a 12 course meal!
Our room was lovely, spacious and clean.
A note about driving - the hotel is a good 30 - 40 minute drive from Orvieto - don't attempt it in the dark - it is a very winding and tricky road. But its a lot of fun to drive in the daylight!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The only complaint I have is that we were only there for one night - we will definitely stay for longer next time! The hamlet is perched on the top of a hill with stunning views over the lake and the local countryside. The pool area is lovely and peaceful- ideal for relaxing in the sun. Our room was huge and very comfortable with a large dressing area and very spacious bathroom. The evening meal was the best though - local wine and about 13 courses of locally produced food which just kept coming.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon- it was our attempt to go to an agriculturismo. It is the most amazing place. It's basically a mideval village that has been tuned into a hotel, and the surrounding countryside is yours to explore. Their website makes it look pretty rustic, but the room was just lovely, with newly remodeled marble bathroom and a large bedroom. The food, which was very well reviewed on the Frommer Budget Travel site, was just so-so. The pool was being cleaned while we were there, but it looked great. This place is about an hour drive from Orvieto on windy, tiny roads, so be prepared to be secluded when you are here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We came across this magical place completely by chance as we were leaving Florence and trying to figure out where we were going to stay next. We did a quick search with our blackberry for Orvieto and this place came up. I was intrigued immediately and so we sent an email and very quickly we were booked for the night.

We were a bit unsure about how to get there since we didn't really have any information, but we found the turn off on the road (it is past the lake on your left if you are driving from Orvieto in the direction of Todi). There seemed to be lots of signs for other agriturimso places, but we didn't see one for Titignano so at first we were not sure exactly where the turn off was. The road is on the left (again when driving from Orvieto to Todi). Up and up we went, a very windy and curvy road. Just when we were beginning to think we had missed it somehow, we saw the sign for Titignano and there we were.

We were given a most comfortable room with an incredible view. At 8 pm, all of the guests head for dinner at the main dining area, a huge room with terracotta painted walls and a large stone fireplace.

All the tables have bottles of red and white wine and water. The food comes out in courses served by very attentive staff members. I am vegetarian, so I just simply passed on any of the meat dishes, but there was definitely more than enough for me and gave me extras of the non meat dishes (risotto balls, stuffed peppers, cheese...). My husband said the meat was delicious. We could not believe the rate of 60 euros per person included the room and the food (breakfast the next day too).

We were only here for one night but another couple we met at dinner told us they had taken some beautiful walks that day and that there were many trails nearby.

This is the place we talk about when we get home and tell others about our trip. It starts... "and then we stayed at this amazing castle in Umbria. Do you know what agriturismo is? Well..."

Deruta, a nearby town, is also recommended to see and buy the beautiful Italian ceramics.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chicajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
11.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
359 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
574 reviews
11.2 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
233 reviews
10.0 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#16 of 30 in Orvieto
359 reviews
7.0 mi away
Griffin's Resort
Griffin's Resort
#4 of 40 in Orvieto
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria di Titignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Titignano

Property: Fattoria di Titignano
Address: Localita Titignano 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fattoria Titignano Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing