We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Locanda Rosati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Rosati
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed as part of group of 9 friends and we had a great time. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Spacious well kitted-out rooms and comfortable bed with good linen. We had an excellent dinner with the owners and other guests at a big table. The food is made up of high quality ingredients which have not been messed around -- it's good family fare enjoyed in convivial surroundings. It's not fancy fine dining and doesn't pretend to be. Some reviewers found it far from Orvieto, but given that Orvieto is a city built on a thumping great lump of rock and every inch of space has been used and allocated centuries back, you can hardly expect something which promotes itself as "agri tourism" and a farm stay to open out onto the main square. Would definitely stay again and use as a base to visit other arts of Umbria.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
171
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and it was just what we needed in the middle of a busy European vacation. It is located in the middle of nowhere, several miles from Orvieto. There would be no way to get here without your own car, and there is no opportunity to go for a walk nearby as the road is narrow, winding, and busy. We could not have found it without using the GPS on my smartphone, so if you are not from Italy, be sure you have some type of data plan to avoid crazy roaming charges. The owners are fun and interesting people. Our room was large, clean, and well appointed. Breakfast was good, not great - would have preferred espresso/cappuccino over their version of American coffee and many of the breakfast pastries were left over from the day before. However, if you pay the extra €35 pp for dinner, you will not be disappointed - multi-course feasts with unlimited wines and after dinner lemoncello and grappa. We ate at a large table with all the other guests and the owner and dinner lasted almost 3 hours, with great conversation to give us time to digest each course.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankb357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ask for a room with two windows, you can't go wrong. The only drawback of Locanda Rossi is the distance from Orvieto, which is located about 7 KM. And you can't walk to town as there are no sidewalks. It's about EU 22 each way to the town of Orvieto. It is peaceful and quiet. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was very good! The staff was excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two windows, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This agritourismo pensione was a wonderful place to attend a course. The setting was peaceful even though is is by a busy road. The owner is a delightful person who organised a trip to a winery, and was very much a presence ensuring all was well with the group.
The rooms are simple but very clean. The food was tasty and they were very considerate of dietary preferences.
Overall there was a sense of welcome, responsiveness and an authentic Umbrian hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifetraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our family of five spent nearly two months travelling around Italy, in winter, and staying at Locanda Rosati was a highlight.

The week spent here was a welcome change from city attractions. The communal living areas are cosy and comfortable, and the outdoor areas are stunning. Typically regional and delicious meals are served, with food preferences happily incorporated into the menu. Our room was simply and beautifully furnished; the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was modern and spotless. The linen, the hand crafted furniture and the gardens are some examples of where attention to detail is obvious.

The short journey to Orvieto township is very picturesque, and we spent many hours wandering around the fine craft shops in a setting a lot less chaotic than other larger cities.

But the most impressive aspect of our stay here was the warm hospitality shown towards us. Giampierro and his team clearly love to host visitors. Our children thought Locanda Rosati was a little piece of paradise, as did we. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The top floor has lovely views, and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Far N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This B&B/Inn is a treasure! The owner really understands how to make everyone feel at home. Our rooms were large and comfortable with every amenity (except window screens which seem to be taboo in Italy). The property is an "agritourismo" (agritourism, as it is defined most broadly, involves any agriculturally based operation or activity that brings visitors to a farm or ranch). It has ample parking space which was very beneficial because we were 3 couples in 2 cars. Downstairs is where they have comfortable sitting and dining rooms. We ate dinner in their lovely dining area every night because it was so good. The meals were excellent, and because they often seat several people together at large tables, you can meet other travelers who are fortunate enough to choose this wonderful inn. We thought it was marvelous and would recommend it highly. One evening it was cool (we were there in October) and they built a fire in the dining room where we sat with a glass of wine and marveled at our good fortune. It's a keeper!

Room Tip: All three rooms we rented were excellent. The inn only has approx. 12 rooms, but some may be smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieB583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms were expensive and there was a lot of road noise, it was difficult to find staff to assist, the owner seemed to only socialise with the return visitors that he knew, and lastly the dinners were not overly good value. We stayed here based on great TA reviews and were disappointed. Maybe our expectations were too high based on all the great reviews.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joice444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.5 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
286 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
465 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ciconia
Hotel Villa Ciconia
#12 of 30 in Orvieto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Rosati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Rosati

Property: Locanda Rosati
Address: Localita Buon Viaggio 22, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Rosati is a typical stone country house located only a few kilometers from the magical city of Orvieto along the panoramic road to Lake Bolsena. Geographically, the house is ideally located for day trips to the historical cities of Lazio and parts of Tuscany, including the Val d'Orcia, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, where old traditions in culture, wine and food still reign. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Rosati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Rosati Hotel Orvieto
Orvieto Locanda Rosati Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing