We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“frankly speaking....I thought it was better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Piccolomini
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“frankly speaking....I thought it was better...”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel in the centre of Orvieto, when I saw Palazzo Hotel Piccolomini, I was impressed by the building, the pictures of the hall and the room, and the price which was not so cheap...but when I got there..I had to reconsider my opinion. The hotel is just nice, not excellent. Plus the bathroom had a terrible shower, the water in the shower didn't flow quikly, the shower grab bar was browen and you cannot close the stall easily,the hand shower head fell down ... bad experience.
The room were just ok...
The breakfast was sufficient.
So book a room there just if there is a promotion, or if you cannot book in another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annacomesonotante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    196
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
79
216
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We only spent one night in Orvieto on our way from Rome to Tuscany. We had a rental car and had some difficulty locating the hotel. But once we finally arrived we were very pleased with the property. There is a private, gated and locked parking lot which is pretty much a necessity since parking is extremely limited in the city. The hotel is located in the old town and within easy walking distance of the historical center and restaurants. I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, West Yorks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently stayed for one night on the way to Tuscany. The location was perfect as we were able to explore the town on foot. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the hotel has been beautifully renovated whilst keeping the historical style. I would definitely recommend the Palazzo to anyone wanting to experience the best of the area. If you want a superb meal just a short walk up the road, go to the Ristorante Pozza Etrusco ( see reviews)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JME56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at this very nice little hotel for 2 nights recently. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning did not work properly, but fortunately, it was not too hot. This hotel was easy to to get to without a car (funicular to bus C to Piazza Repubblica, then a short walk), and the neighborhood was lovely and quiet, in the old medieval part of the city. The hotel was very tastefully furnished, and we especially liked eating breakfast (very good) in the old vaulted substructure. The hotel was also a good value, and we enjoyed the nearby restaurants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed in Orvietto for 2 nights in June. This hotel has a perfect location in the old town with its own private parking (at a charge). When you arrive you park outside to unload and the porter will then park your car for you. The staff were friendly and helpful recommending places to eat and even organised a trip to a local vineyard. Stunning scenery. The room was perfect with air conditioning comfortable bed and nice shower room. I would definitely stay in this hotel if I return to Orvietto.The breakfast contrary to some of the reviews was very good with freshly made cappuccino or espresso, cooked scrambled egg and a choice of cereal, cold meat, cheese,croissants , rolls, toast, jam etc etc. Definite value for money as I have paid a lot more for a lot less in Italy.

Room Tip: Room looking onto the main road was very quiet as so little traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriorlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is Italian elegance realized: lovely staff, service, linens, food in a historic setting. This is our third visit to Orvieto and we came this time with our grandson's Suzuki bus/concert tour. I was not expecting such a fabulous place in the heart of the city and would gladly stay longer. The hotel is boutique size and within walking distance of everything historic in Orvieto. The staff are helpful and unobtrusive; the hotel is immaculate. The breakfast is as good--if not better--than any 5 star hotel I've ever stayed in (Italy or elsewhere). Come and stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We would recommend this hotel in Orvieto without any hesitation. Our room was small as would be expected in such a converted medieval building but there is a large public lounge. Linen is changed daily and the room was very comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is well managed. Breakfast is fine (Continental - which means it is expected that you will be having lunch before 2.00 pm.!)
If arriving by car be prepared for narrow one way streets – following a map is not very helpful if driving when in the town. On each junction there is a board with directions to each of the hotels however this is in small writing but as the traffic is light it is possible to slow or stop to look at the directions on these boards. On arriving at the hotel there is an area for double parking to unload luggage and Courtesy Parking costs 12 euro per day. It might be best to park in main car park and take the elevator up to the old town and then there is only a 5 min walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
719 reviews
2.0 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Piccolomini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Piccolomini

Property: Palazzo Piccolomini
Address: Piazza Ranieri 36, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
#5 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Piccolomini 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Piccolomini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Piccolomini Orvieto
Palazzo Piccolomini Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing