We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palazzo Piccolomini is a very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Piccolomini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Piccolomini
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Palazzo Piccolomini is a very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

An overnight stay in Orvieto is highly recommended, and the Hotel Palazzo Piccolomini is an excellent choice for the historic district of town. During certain weeks during the summer, rooms are at half price, making the property a real value.
Strong points: Very courteous staff, extremely clean, extremely comfortable mattress and pillows, flat screen satellite TV, high-quality breakfast with scrambled eggs. Breakfast room in the cellar is fascinating, and could pass for a room in an archeological museum. Easy walking distance to Cathedral and main shopping street. City shuttle bus stop 170 meters away in Piazza Della Repubblica (next to the Cassa di Risparmio).
Weak points: some rooms are small for two adults (but adquate for one), and the bathroom in these rooms is also quite small, with a marine shower just barely adequate for many adults. Some rooms are positioned near the main hallway and consequently suffer from noise.
Directions to hotel: Take the cablelift across the square from the train station, then the local shuttle bus (daily service) to Piazza della Repubblica. A ticket for 1.30 Euros is valid on both the cablelift and the bus, and is good for 90 minutes. Get off next to the bank (Cassa di Risparmio) in this square, and walk 170 meters along Via Loggia dei Mercanti to Piazza Ranieri.

Room Tip: Avoid the small rooms facing the main hallway, which suffer from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    187
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
198
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable and the room decor was in line with the towns atheistic, my window looked out onto a lantern lit street and was magical.
The breakfast was nice, I'm a toast kind of girl but there was cereals and meats and cheese as well as scrambled eggs - they also had blood orange juice which is my absolute favourite.

The staff are warm and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MissFeeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

First time visiting Italy and had a four night stay here as invited to a wedding nearby, The hotel is quiet and cosy in perfect location for exploring Orvieto. It was great value and staff were so friendly. Orvieto itself is like a trip back in time. Little of the town seems to have changed much since the old days and few buildings are even painted making you feel you are in the 1930s or 1940s.Only slight thing was rooms could do with a kettle and breakfast could do with a little more choice and was almost out of food for later guests arriving down and bar could do with more choices of drinks. It was a 9/10 for me, if I ever return its my first choice to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

For several years we passed Piccolomini going to and from the elevator to the car park and always thought we would love to stay a night because it looked so attractive. This year we got our chance and in every respect it exceeded our expectations. It was way more beautiful inside than we had imagined with excellent service and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The breakfast was also right up there and more than enough to keep you going until lunch.
All in all ten out of ten.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cormac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merate, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel - great value for money. My family have stayed here twice a year for the past 12 years on our way to and from the south of Italy and we have always had a good experience. First of all, very convenient for the city centre with a car park ,which it has an agreement with, close by. The hotel itself is in a beautiful, historic Umbrian palace, originally the home of an aristocratic family. It is furnished in an elegant, modern, minimalistic style which perfectly complements the building and it's interior. We have probably stayed in all the triple rooms and junior suites, including a fabulous one in the annexe next door, which has a painted ceiling, modern four poster bed, enormous bath in the bedroom (!) and Walk-in shower room. The staff are always lovely, professional, courteous and helpful -even recognising me on the phone when I ring up to book. We have sent family members here (Italian and British) as well as friends and colleagues and everyone has enjoyed their stay. Last, but not least, they are dog -friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been staying here for more than a dozen years and each time I arrive, reservation or not, I am greeted with warmth, hugs and big smiles. This is a small, family owned hotel, once a palazzo to royal Italians. The rooms are simple, clean, different sizes, good beds and most of all, very responsive staff. The staff rarely changes and all seem glad to be there, relaxed and friendly. They serve a very nice full buffet breakfast, knowing that westerners enjoy eggs, meats, fresh fruit and cereals. A few times I've arrived without reservations for some reason or other and they always find me a room.

The location is very nice, too, because though it is in a small piazza it is the opposite end of town from the grand cathedral, so less activity and noise. Some of the rooms do face the street so there can be some noise if windows are left open on a Saturday night, but for the most part it is quiet. Free use of a computer for guests, in a central area. They recently added a charge for parking but until this year they would valet and park guests for free. It is reasonably priced and there is besides a nice bar and tables next to the lobby entrance, a very lovely, large and quiet salon upstairs; great for appertivo time or reading.

My favorite stay in Orvieto proper.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the main driving street on the entrance side are a bit noisier on a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

and we could not have been happier with the reception we had when we arrived...front desk staff very nice, Jude, the all around person very helpful and very nice....the room nice and clean and the bed and pillows very comfortable...small as one normally expects in Europe, specially since this is a renovated "palazzo" parking not easy but the staff helps and its a 5 min walk to the center of action...we definitely would stay here again and we highly recommend it not only for the location and the setting but specially for the service and the staff.....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.0 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#8 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Piccolomini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Piccolomini

Property: Palazzo Piccolomini
Address: Piazza Ranieri 36, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
#5 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Piccolomini 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Piccolomini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Piccolomini Orvieto
Palazzo Piccolomini Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing