We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Hotel; Wonderful Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Badia di Orvieto
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historical Hotel; Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel called a driver to pick us (my husband and me) up at the train station in Orvieto. Her name was Claudia, (I believe) and she was extremely kind and helpful. We had a late dinner at the hotel restaurant which was divine!

The hotel is full of history, and we loved the story of how it came to be. It could use some upgrades, but we were so happy to be there, it's hard to split hairs. I do remember the WiFi at the hotel being a problem, and I took my iPad into town and used it there. Our room was nothing special, but was comfortable. The porter brought us an afternoon snack of olives, cheeses, nuts and wine as we relaxed in the 12th century courtyard.

Back to the restaurant. We stayed at La Badia 2 nights and ate at the restaurant both nights. It is expensive, but we expected that, and enjoyed every bite. The recommended wine was superb, and was corked and saved for us to finish the second night.

I would recommend the hotel for the experience. If you don't expect all the conveniences from home, you'll enjoy the experience. The restaurant is a must-do; the breakfast buffet was okay.

Room Tip: Noise was not a problem at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joypc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    54
    24
    18
    7
See reviews for
38
113
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived at an amazing Castle that was etched out of the rolling hills of Orvieto. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was good. I mostly enjoyed the mornings with the fresh buffet breakfasts and the wonderful evening dinners in the dinning area. The food was fresh and cooked to your preference. Do try the truffles and my waiter Valerio was amazing. He gave my Mom and I so many great suggestions on what to do in Central Italy... grazie! From Southern California

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

La Badia was an incredible experience. My wife Susan and I celebrated our wedding there and it was truly a magical place that we fell in love with immediately. The food was incredible. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, working very hard with our wedding planner Federica Nascimben (http://www.italianweddingevent.com/) to make our dream wedding come true. This hotel is located about an Hour from Rome and across from Orvieto, a scenic medieval town situated on a crested hill top. We cannot recommend this venue/hotel/experience enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had an excellent stay at La Badia. It is very close to Orvieto. Wonderful staff, very helpful. The rooms are a bit spartan, but clean and comfortable.The common areas are lovely. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but dinner was worth every penny. Wonderful atmosphere, excellent service, and a delicious meal. We were lucky enough to be there the night fresh porcini mushrooms were delivered! The chef made an incredible risotto. The night clerk gave us a history of the hotel when it was an abbey, and took us on a tour of some of the rooms. Breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of items to choose from. We had afternoon coffee/drinks in the courtyard. (The only drawback was the pool area seems to need an update). We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We overlooked the courtyard, which had a wonderful view of Orvieto in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A spectacular hotel in a beautiful abbey. Great to see how this spectacular building has been restored to a very intimate feeling hotel. The staff was very helpful, rooms are comfortable and the restaurant is great (try the open fire roasts!) We have been back several times and recommend La Badia for Couples or Friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ_AMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badia1104, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest, we are delighted you appreciated our hotel and had been for several times .
Your satisfaction is our best reward.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at La Badia
sincerely yours Cindy,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A superb location to cycle down from the chaos and thundering hordes of tourists in Florence (us included). My wife and I spend two wonderful nites here in October 2013 bridging Florence and Rome. Close to and very convenient to the little out of the way Umbrian hill town of Orvieto (a gem in itself). Do not fear driving up to Orvieto, parking, and even having a great dinner there as well.

Dinner at La Badia was wonderful. We were in the main room where the open fire spit is located and were able to watch our chef cook the steaks. Italy has wonderful meats (steak, lamb, pork) and the pasta was phenomenal.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the neat hill town of Orvieto. If you do not mind the extra stairs, stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend took my fiancé and I to La Badia on the way back to Rome from Siena as a thank you for taking her on a trip to Tuscany. She arranged for us to stay in “comfort” rooms which were more expensive than the basic rooms apparently.

The hotel building itself is quite spectacular and worth a visit. We had expected the rooms and service to live up to this but I’m sorry to say that the experience was a disappointment.

We were shown to our rooms which were along a corridor which seemed to be apart from the main hotel rooms and looked as if it was due for redecoration. We seemed to be the only people staying in this part of the hotel. After seeing our rooms, we decided to eat out of the hotel that night and on our return the electricity had been switched off in our corridor, confirming our suspicions that the hotel had dumped us in an "annexe". It turned out that there was a wedding at the hotel the following day and I suspect that the better rooms had been kept aside for wedding guests and that we were given what was left, although were still charged the going rate for a better room.

The rooms were nothing special. The furnishings were basic, the bathroom was basic and had only a mixer tap shower with no bracket on the wall to hold the shower head so showering was a one handed affair. There was nothing about the room furnishings, bathroom tiling or decoration that said “comfort room”, even the mattress was uncomfortably hard.

Normally we would not bother about the television in the room but Italy were playing football on the evening we arrived and my Italian fiancé had wanted to see the end of the match and the highlights. We were given another room as even the porter had problems getting the television to work and when he did we were unable to get the television channel we wanted. Neither my friend nor I were able to log onto the hotel Wi-Fi. This was not a problem for me but my friend, being from Australia, was relying on email and Skype to contact people back home.

My friend complained to the manager the following morning and we were given breakfast for free but what should have been a fabulous end to a great trip turned out to be a big disappointment. I do wonder if the fact that the rooms were booked using a booking website made a difference to the treatment we received.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalingriBadia, Responsabile reception at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for the time you took in reviewing la Badia di Orvieto and are very sorry your stay was not satisfactory.
Regarding your complaints, once the television problem was brought to our attention we changed rooms. We are sorry the wi-fi in the rooms didn't work during your stay, we normally offer free wi-fi in the rooms but this was put out of action from atmospheric discharge and we were waiting for spare parts. Wi- fi in the common areas was still operational, please note that in the booking confirmation it is stated free wi-fi in the common areas. You booked two Standard rooms that are adequate comfortable rooms but are slightly smaller than the Comfort rooms, you never booked the Comfort category, our rooms go from Standard, Comfort, Superior, Deluxe and Suite. On the night of your stay the hotel was almost full and there were 4
other rooms in your area that is a normal area of the hotel absolutely not an unfortunate annex. The entire hotel obviously has night illumination, it is very unlikely that you had no light to the corridor of the rooms, it may have happened that some guest turned it off by mistake, no other guest reported a problem.
You simply couldn't have a lack of power to your rooms because that would mean the circuit breaker to the entire area had tripped and we would have been alerted by other guest, once more no other of the 4 rooms reported the problem. We treat all our valued guests the same and are very proud of collaborating with Booking and of our good rating on their site. Finally to address your concerns we granted you free buffet breakfast, not included in the rate you booked .
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
2.6 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ciconia
Hotel Villa Ciconia
#11 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Badia di Orvieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Badia di Orvieto

Property: La Badia di Orvieto
Address: Localita la Badia 8, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Badia di Orvieto 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your La Badia di Orvieto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Di Orvieto Hotel Orvieto
La Badia Di Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing