We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Honeymoon Heaven”
Review of Pietra Campana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pietra Campana
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“August Honeymoon Heaven”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the Pietra Campana apartments August 12-14 2013 during our two week honeymoon in Italy. The location is perfect for vista views of the hill city of Orvieto across the valley. The apartment is cool with a furnished kitchen and separate patio. August in Italy is hot - HUGE selling point for us was the fantastic outdoor POOL at Pietra Campana. The pool is perfectly situated on a hill to take advantage of the panoramic view. The breakfast is Italian Manor House at it's finest. Martin and his wife are excellent hosts. We highly recommend you use Pietra as a staging place for exploring Orvieto, Civita (hidden gem!) and local wineries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kah145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
100
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our stay here was wonderful. The hosts could not have been more helpful and the breakfasts were simply out of this world. The views are breathtaking, especially when the clouds roll in. We would stay again any time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Pietra Campana was our first stop on a recent eight night trip to Italy. We arrived on a rainy morning to the warm and sunny welcome of our host and hostess Martin and Federica. We were not sure what to expect at an Agra Tourismo accommodation but we were delighted with the experience. Our apartment was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The homemade soaps are all natural and wonderful. The location in La Badia is splendid and the view of Orvieto and the Duomo is magnificent. Martin and Federica were so helpful by guiding us with where to eat, where to park, and what to visit. They helped us arrange a wine tasting at a nearby winery as well as a trip to Civita di Bagnoregio (don't miss it). The breakfast display was as beautiful as it was delicious - homemade delicacies, fresh coffee, wonderful homemade organic jams! Our only regret was that we could not stay longer! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Martin and Federica are honest and caring; Let them know what you need and they will guide you accor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFSRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excelent location, friendliness and source of retaurants hints! Because of the personell we have a excelent dinner in Porano: Il Bocone del Prete!
With a beautifull view of Orvieto, a private garden an an oppotunity of taste their organic virgin olive oil of 2013 production! Beautiful apartment, with a complete kitchen...

Room Tip: Orvieto only with Pietra Campana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and wish it had been longer. The setting is stunning, the apartments are gorgeous and comfortable, the pool is a delight, and the hosts are so kind and helpful. We visited Orvieto (about 10 minutes away) as well as Civita di Bagnoregio (15 min.) while there; there's also a small town only 5 minutes away where you can have dinner or buy supplies for making meals at home. Pietra Campana is a truly exceptional place, and for what you get, it's also a great value. Stay there, and leave yourself plenty of time to enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anelsonknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a fantastic holiday rental in a glorious setting with a splendid view on historic Orvieto and its Duomo. I would certainly recommend this place if you are looking for a holiday rental in Orvieto. The apartments are spacious (sleeping area separate from a kitchen/ living area), are well equipped and stylishly decorated. On total there are 4 apartments, so it has a small scale touch to it. Some apartments are in the “tower”; with some stunning views on Orvieto (but with some stairs to climb). Others are in small villa’s next to the main building. The international family owning and running the place lives in the main building and are impeccable hosts; ready with advice for trips in the area. Breakfast is a real treat, prepared by the lady of the house handmade pastry, fruit etc. Much more than your typical Italian breakfast. You need a car to get there, but the location is just a few kilometers off the motorway, so easy access. So if you are planning a stay in Orvieto, and are fortunate enough to find an apartment available in Pietra Campana, book it, and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelvanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We thought staying in an agritourismo would be on a farm and rustic- this is more villa than farm. The setting bucolic , with rolling hills, fields of lavender and olive trees overlooking Orvieto in an old exterior but modern interior, giving the impression of a modern art gallery - something out of Architectural digest . Our upstairs rooms had beams high ceilings ,fire place, king bed and sofa along with a refrigerator - every thing clean with careful attention to details. The pool area was wonderful at the end of the day. There was no AC but it was not needed even in the heat of the summer.

The hosts made us feel welcome from the moment we got there. It was the highlight of our 2 week trip throughout Italy and France. The towns very nearby were wonderful and not to be missed Civita and Lake Borsena. Our only regret was that didn't have a longer stay.

The driving is on small winding roads and you will need a car- their is a car rental right at the train station. Be aware not to park in the Orvieto parking lot after 9 PM - we did, got locked in the lot without a car and had to be rescued by the police. Orvieto is a charming town but can be seen in a day.

I would highly recommend this BB and will be back.

Room Tip: If you want views and don't mind climbing lots of steps get rooms on the top floor. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.9 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Locanda Palazzone
Locanda Palazzone
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Cioccoleta
Agriturismo Cioccoleta
#2 of 40 in Orvieto
376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Altarocca Wine Resort
Altarocca Wine Resort
#2 of 30 in Orvieto
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietra Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietra Campana

Property: Pietra Campana
Address: Localita La Badia 40, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pietra Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing