We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Upsetting Experience”
Review of Oasi dei Discepoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasi dei Discepoli
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Upsetting Experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

There was a small refrigerator in the room, and I travel with medicine which must be kept cold, and taken with milk. Every day, the maid would take my medicine and my milk out of the refrigerator and put it on the table. This was bizzare and unacceptable. We repeatedly spoke to the manager at the front desk, he just shrugged his shoulders and said he has no control over what the maids do. The same manager was there every day and night, he said he lives there in the hotel, so we couldn't complain to anyone else. I asked another guest who was bilingual to write a note in Italian explaining to the maid that the medicine must be kept in the refrigerator, but she kept taking it out. We bought some duct tape and taped the refrigerator door shut with another note asking her again to please leave the medicine in the refrigerator. Every single day, for 5 days, she took it out. The air conditioners are controlled by the front desk, you have to go downstairs and ask the manager to turn it on. He turns it off when you leave, so the rooms are like a sweltering sweat box when you get back each evening. My medicine was destroyed by all this, and we simply could not understand why they kept doing it and why management wouldn't tell the maid to stop. The maids have no right to go through the drawers, dressers, closets or refrigerators when a paying guest has their personal belongings in them, they are there for the private use of the guests. It was a horrible feeling to know our belongings were being examined while we were out sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    151
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
93
143
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent one night late Sept, 2011, hotel restaurant was closed. There were no restaurants nearby, closest was several km's away. Hotel was in residential area, but was close to the autostrade.Room was okay and had a great view of Orvieto. Skipped the very meagre breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The location is not perfect. You have to take a bus to get to the tourist center of the city. Other than that, it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdanBenaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The shower is too small that you have to take a bath at the bathroom outside the shower.
The room is too small for a triple room.
The restaurant informs that works until 08.00 PM but unfortunately at the date that I was at the hotel it not happened.
There is no service to carry the luggage.

Room Tip: Bad quality, too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orvieto hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Young lady at reception, helpful, charming and very approachable. Breakfast very poor, but otherwise average with nothing else outstanding. Pity they don't sink a pool!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pythonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t-a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we stayed in this hotel for one night . The room was big (2 double beds and one single bed), very clean and the shower was o.k.
the staff was helpfull. The hotel is close to Orvieto (2 min. drive),

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nura_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Hotel Oasi Dei Discepoli in Orvieto showed up in a quick search, we booked it, and then crossed our fingers. No worries! Signs on the streets guide you to it, and there is a large parking lot. A beautiful building, large room with four windows and two doors onto a balcony overlooking trees. Very clean, quiet, quality linens, good breakfast, English-speaking staff. But you do need a car to sightsee in the old city (it's not far though), as the hotel is below in the new part of the city. Our only regret is that so little of the hotel's history seems to be available -- it must have been a seminary or religious school, we're guessing, going by the attached chapel and the name of the hotel. There were several tour buses in the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mclaughc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#8 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Orvieto
Hotel Orvieto
#21 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 29 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gialletti
Gialletti
#10 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasi dei Discepoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasi dei Discepoli

Property: Oasi dei Discepoli
Address: Via Piave 12, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasi dei Discepoli 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oasi dei Discepoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasi Dei Discepoli Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing