We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very, very nice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
killermag...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very, very nice”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was well presented, clean and comfortable with everything we needed... Piero and Ornella went out of their way to help make our stay pleasant and make us feel welcome (many thanks, and apologies for the delayed review). The location couldn't be much better, perched on a hill and a very short walk to restaurants and shops... highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shellystl...
stlouis
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I did not want to leave”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are no words to describe the quaintness, scenery, the history, and the people. Ornello and her husband were very helpful and sweet. The art work by her is a special treat. All the amenities. Plus it's right next to a beautiful church.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italytrav...
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Place”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nicest place we stayed in Italy: clean, attractively decorated and large (living room/kitchen; bedroom; bath). Absolutely gorgeous view of countryside from the picture window in the living room. The hosts were extremely nice and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“COSY APARTMENT IN A MAGIC CORNER.”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is located in one of the most beautiful corner of Orvieto. From the window of the living room there is an amazing view of the landscape around the town.
The apartment is cosy and clean. The description on the website is accurate. . We were four people and found the space absolutely comfortable. The bedroom is silent, spacious as also the bathroom. The living room, where there is the second bed is large and bright. In this area there is also the space of the kitchen where we could prepare our breakfasts and also a dinner for the 31st of December and found it well equipped.
The furniture of all the apartment is nice with many creative and nice solutions.
We stayed four nights at the end of December during Umbria Jazz Winter. In those days the temperature in Orvieto was very low (never over 0°), but due to the perfect heating system of the apartment and the natural protection of the old walls we stayed well without feeling cold.
Ornella and Piero are very friendly and helpful and always available for any necessity.
We want recommend this place to all our friends and hope to come back for the next edition of Umbria Jazz Winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0uis419
Vero Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A BEAUTIFUL apartment in a charming city”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ornella was watching for our arrival and found us immediately after we parked our car. She made sure that we were familiar with everything in the apartment and helped us with the "where to go and what to see" in Orvieto. She and Piero called us and stopped by to make sure that all was going well. They were both very, very kind and helpful. We loved the apartment and loved Orvieto. We highly recommend Casa San Giovenale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoT...
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perched on the edge of the city wall - Orvieto perfection”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa San Giovenale is THE ideal vacation rental in the fabulous, historic hillside town of Orviento. The apartment is perched at the city wall with breathtaking views over the valley below. It's one bedroom and one bath are large (bathroom is gigantic by European standards). The living / dining room / kitchen is large and well appointed. Bedroom is lovely. And there is a delightful private patio. The Casa is steps from all of Orvieto and about 50 feet from the not-to-be-missed Chiesa San Giovenale, a 12th century church which, while not as grand as the Duomo (which is fabulous) is beautiful, moving, and decorated with extraordinary frescoes. Perhaps the most wonderful thing about it is the neighbors. We had charming and enlightening conversations with the neighbors on city events, the Italian language, WW II and other topics. The Casa would be perfectly wonderful for a very extended visit. Can't give it a high enough recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greynomad...
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful and historic”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely place to stay. The views are excellent, the renovated accommodation comfortable and the hosts, Piero and Ornella welcoming and helpful. If you are going to Orvieto make this your place to stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing