We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eccomi1
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely rental! An old property meets a contemporary artist and it works wonderfully.

The town of Orvieto boasts 1200 caves and there are two evident in this apartment! One is illuminated under a glass door...and no, we did not venture down... and the other is an ancient cistern.

Besides that, the kitchen is modern and very functional. It doesn't bother us that there is no microwave, nor dishwasher and I do know how to use Italian coffee
pots, so all was OK!

The bathroom is great and the bedroom is too. Nice and comfy bed, that can be separated into two twins.

Cute little patio outside should you like to have breakfast or a glass of wine.out there.

OK...do you want to know the best part? It is the owners!!! Ornella and Pietro are fabulous hosts and they will do everything to make your stay wonderful. We met them one night for pizza, with their children and another family and it was as if we were members of the community! I love them already.

So, if I had to mention a drawback it would be this. Our place was a great place to watch a sunset, so we had a lot of tourists peering in the window as we sat with our glass of wine in the living room. A little annoying, but very little.

If I get to return to Italy, I will definitely seek this place out again.

Thank you for your hospitality, Ornella and Piero!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halchorp
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great view, AMAZING hosts”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed at Casa San Giovenale previously, and it is lovely...amazing view, super comfortable, Etruscan cistern and caves visible from a floor-window in the living room (yes, really). Casa San Giovenale is the quieter medieval end of town, and your hosts will help you park after you drop your luggage off, if you're driving.
But, seriously, the best part is the gracious hospitality of Piero and Ornella. They are warm and brilliant and kind, and if you have the opportunity to stay with them, you will love them, too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlothEnte...
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and hosts”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having visited Orvieto before and used the town as a base, we wanted to return and spend more time there. We booked Casa San Giovenale because it looked perfect for our needs, and we were not disappointed - it surpassed all our expectations. The house is in one of the oldest parts of town, built over an Etruscan cistern, in an area that is very quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes walk from the heart of town. It has the twin benefits of a fantastic view - the sunsets were amazing - and a private courtyard which catches the sun but also has shade, with a table, chairs and parasol. It benefits from a lovely breeze, being more comfortable than the centre of town during the heat of the day. The house is well-equipped, clean and comfortable with good wifi, tv and cd player. We lived there very comfortably for two weeks. It is light and bright - Ornella's paintings provide wonderful splashes of colour. The bed is extremely comfortable and the linens are good quality. The bathroom has a shower over the bathtub, which is powerful and has endless hot water. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the sitting room was very comfortable. There is a washing machine with a fast programme - with that and the courtyard, we were able to wash and dry clothes within half a day. Piero collected us from the train station and took us back there when we left. Ornella provided us with lots of information and contacts in the town, recommended places to eat and even made an advance booking for us at a restaurant for when we arrived, saving us struggling to do that with our limited Italian! She and Piero were wonderful hosts and could not have been more helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Casa San Giovenale as a wonderful place to stay and would stay there again ourselves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizM441
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Casa San Giovenale is an absolutely fantastic location and apartment., We have rented many places in the past and this was our all time favourite. Ornella has done the decorating herself and the love shines through. We loved being able to look out the large front window at the most beautiful view or to sit in the courtyard and have a glass of wine. There was so much to see in Orvieto that we will have to go back. Ornella and Piero are fabulous hosts that couldn't have been more accommodating. Not only were we were picked up and delivered back to the train station but they took the time to suggest many sites to see and recommended restaurants. You will not be disappointed if you rent this apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
2 reviews
“Casa San Giovenale was better than we would have imagined.”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Casa San Giovenale is located in the oldest part of Orvieto. The view was amazing, the bathroom completely updated, beds were comfy and the little stone courtyard was perfect for enjoying wine and antipasto. Ornella and Piero told us what to see, gave us an excellent map of Orvieto attractions and even made us a dinner reservation for our first night.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“Amazing hosts, lovely apartment, gorgeous town!”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Casa San Giovenale is absolutely lovely! We stayed there for three nights during a month-long trip in Italy. Had I known what I would find there, and had any inkling of what lovely people Piero and Ornella are, I would have booked a much longer stay.
But we enjoyed every minute of our time in Orvieto and came to enjoy our five minute walk to great restaurants and shops as part of our daily ritual-- getting to know little landmarks and the faces of neighbors.
The apartment is outfitted with books,a bowl of candies, quality linens, a well stocked kitchen, and Ornella' s whimsical paintings.
We have been home a few weeks now and continue to rave about beautiful Orvieto and the lovely Casa San Giovenale.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
LOVELY Gail!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is so great to be able to stay right on top of the cliffs overlooking the beautiful valley below, farms and distant hills. Orvieto is a very special place to stay with its ancient architecture, cobbled streets and historic way of life. No dishwasher, but it is nice to embrace the authentic way of life. The hosts, Ornella and Piero are warm and welcoming.
As there is a fair amount of walking over cobbled hilly streets I wouldn't recommend it for disabled people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing