We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but perfectly acceptable, a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Umbria Ristorante
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Reviewed 21 July 2011

pros:
- near the autostrada
- very reasonable cost for parking
- good food in the restaurant
- short walk (5 to 10 minutes) from the funicular to reach the city
- good price

cons:
- rooms facing the street could be noisy
- interior is dated
- rooms have the basics but not much more
- air conditioning was weak - not working properly

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were very well treated. The accomodations were very clean, comfortable and centrally located.. The attached restaurant was exceptional. The staff - both hotel and restaurant - were very polite, helpful, and professional. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My dad and I stayed here on an epic motorbike tour around Europe (10,000 miles in 2.5 months). Up until this point we had not had the most positive experiences in Italy, but the Hotel Umbria more then made up for it. We stayed here for two nights, using it as a base to train it into Roma for the day for the usual sightseeing.

A wonderful twin room was supplied with some nice 'old world' charm, that was roomy and clean. A big Italian style breakfast each morning, and some nice, unassuming and polite service. The hotel went above and beyond to facilitate our motorbikes, where they found some space around the back in a secure area - any motorbike tourer will state that this is one of the most defining things about any accommodation.

And to add to the positives, Orvieto is a nice old town, and the walk up to the old walled city is a great way to finish the day before having a good value 'Turistico' menu from the hotel restaurant. It is also only 2 minutes walk to the train station over the river, and close to a number of restaurants.

The only down side would be some street noise, but the owner is in no position to stop the traffic, and to be honest, we found that on a touring holiday it is very hard to find accommodation away from traffic, especially in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazST1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

There's nothing special about this place- no view, uninspired surroundings in the modern lower town of Orvieto Scalo, dated decor. But it's perfectly functional and convenient to the A1 motorway. There was an elevator and it worked, our room was normal-sized (for Italy) and even had a small flat-screen TV with BBC. The bath was fine - stall shower was slightly larger than the average. We heard the train go by once in the evening, but otherwise it was fairly quiet. The beds are extremely firm, even by Italian standards. Breakfast was actually more varied than expected, with a decent pastry/bread selection, cereal, yogurt, and some delicious fresh fruit. We checked in quite late but were able to eat dinner in their restaurant - again nothing special but a decent meal with pleasant service. Wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for the vacation of a lifetime, but it's fine for a stop-over if you're heading to or from Rome, and hilltop Orvieto is a gorgeous little town that's pleasantly off the (non-Italian) tourist beaten path.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamasviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2005

We stayed in Ristorante Hotel Umbria for one night. It was right off the tollway, which was good for us because we had to drive to Rome early the next morning. However, if you want to spend alot of time walking around Orvieto, this would not be a good place to stay. We had a five/ten minute drive uphill into town (too far to walk). No one at the hotel spoke English. It was very quiet, we never saw any other guests or people in the restaurant part. The room was big, with nice large windows and a television. The room and bathroom were clean. It was on a busy street, which was noisy at night. Overall, it was nice enough for a night. We needed to be near the tollway, so it fit our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ghenz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Moreno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelumbria, Direttore at Hotel Umbria Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Orvieto
Hotel Orvieto
#23 of 30 in Orvieto
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
479 reviews
2 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#13 of 30 in Orvieto
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
282 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Penisola Hotel
La Penisola Hotel
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gialletti
Gialletti
#11 of 30 in Orvieto
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Umbria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Umbria Ristorante

Address: Via Monte Nibbio 1/3, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: £51 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Umbria Ristorante 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Umbria with its recently renovated and refurbished rooms, offers a warm and pleasant atmosphere with easy access to the historic centre. The hotel is easy to reach as it is located about 1 km from the A1 motorway exit (direction town centre) and 300 metres from the train station situated near the funicular railway, an ideal alternative to cars to quickly reach the historic centre of Orvieto. The structure is equipped with every kind of comfort within its category; rooms with bathroom, telephone, safe box, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, Satellite TV and also a view of the cliff which can be admired from the room windows and from one of the two restaurant rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Umbria Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbria Ristorante Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing