We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and handy for the motorway”
Review of Hotel Orvieto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orvieto
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This is my third stay here we we stopped to split up the drive from venice to naples. Its handy for the motorway, and while its next to the railway line, high speed railway line and motorway it did not wake me up. Air con in the room worked just ok, though toilet did fail. Not much to do and it was quite a sight to see almost all the guests troop off down the road at 7.30pm to a nearby hotel for dinner'. Breakfast was fine. did have a short drive a round and found it handy for the railway station and the little railway that takes you up to the old town. At 50 euros a night then hard to fault, but would not want to stay for a more than 1 night. Internet use was free but very slow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkeysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orvieto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

I needed a hotel desperately 2 days before Easter Sunday and I could not find anything with availability. I stumbled upon Orvieto Hotel on Trip Advisor and went for it after reading the reviews. The rooms were 75 Euros including breakfast. The staff were very friendly and nice.
When I saw the hotel I was very disappointed. It is located right NEXT to a train track and in a very unattractive location. Both me and my husband woke up several times because the walls were paper thin. You felt like you neighbor was in your room when he coughed...
and above all the breakfast was clearly bought from a very cheap wholesale super market which we found it disgusting. We had to park our car in the parking lot. During the night my husband heard a car alarm going off. The whole night he was paranoid that it might be ours...but of course this is not the hotel's fault.
Maybe we are bit too picky but overall I think I chose to pay 30 bucks more and get a good night sleep and a more edible breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cannes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

This is a hotel we use frequently for single nights when have to visit Rome. Its about 70 miles from Rome, but we like to be outside.

The staff are friendly, but don't speak much English, which isn't really a problem as I'm not there to have a conversation with the them.

The rooms are modern, well appointed, and some thought has gone into them, and it is appreciated. The rooms have a more boutique feel to them than you would normally expect and some time and thought went into the rooms. They have achieved a pleasant balance of high quality and uniformity throughout the rooms without creating the anonymity of a chain hotel like Ibis.

For us the hotel is perfect as its right next to the Autostrada.

We will certainly be staying there in during 2010.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We arrived at Hotel Orvieto late in the evening from Rome airport, it’s easy to find even though we had sat nav with a big sign on the roof. Reception booked us in OK from our reservation Note: they don’t speak English and I would describe my Italian as very rusty and quite limited but this did help and phase book would come in handy.

First impressions from the outside weren’t that great and when we got to our floor (3rd) the scene was something from the old Eastern European block(!) I did get better...

Good – The room was a good size, very clean and so was the bathroom both looked quite new and well maintained, the bathroom fittings were in fact quite contemporary with a nice big shower. Note: like many Continental European hotels there was an absence of a plug for the sink, a universal plug is recommended. Towels were plentiful and fluffy. Unfortunately despite the room's cleanliness...

Bad – There were 2 main factors that caused us to end our stay early.
1) In total we stayed at HO 4 nights and we only achieved 1 night with constant air-conditioning. The control in the room didn’t seem to have any relation to the air coming out of the vents and it was often ‘turned off’ in the middle of the night, once from about 2am causing us to wake in stifling heat. The alternative was to open the window which wouldn’t have been too bad as it was cool enough outside except for the 2nd issue.
2) Living near a train track at home I figured it wouldn’t be too bad as previous reviews had mentioned the vicinity of the trains and with the window closed it was bearable. I forgot that trains on the continent are much bigger than in the UK and also that Orvieto is on the main Roma Firenze north south train line. The trains could be fairly compared to big jets taking off and they started passing from around 5am, and with about 400m of open space between our room and the track there was nothing to dampen the noise. Not recommended for light sleepers.

Ugly – The inside of the room was basic but OK, it could be improved with some more natural light. The corridor was frankly rather off putting, no natural light and horrible brown-grey carpet tiles.

In summary - This hotel does feel like it’s tried and has been looking at how other hotels in its price range do things. There was loads of cupboard space with lots of hangers provided, a mini fridge (unfortunately it was useless at keeping stuff cold), flat screen TV with ‘SKY’ (only one remote, for the TV and visible multi-plug full of wires), desk and chair, neutral coloured bedspreads. Were it fails is location and making sure everything is up to scratch. Being in Orvieto scalo as opposed to the centre (the pretty bit on the hill) but charging not much less, being too close to the trains but not ensuring that the windows can be kept shut and not including breakfast.

Would be fine if you are passing through for a night. Special note: We were originally booked for 7 nights but decided to move out after 4, both the hotel and booking agent were really good at sorting the cancelation and I only paid for the days we stayed with no extra fees.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2DayDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrea_blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annarosa C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari111982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annarosa C, Direttore at Hotel Orvieto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Gialletti
Gialletti
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#29 of 30 in Orvieto
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#8 of 30 in Orvieto
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Umbria Ristorante
Hotel Umbria Ristorante
#22 of 30 in Orvieto
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orvieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orvieto

Address: Via Angelo Costanzi 63, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orvieto 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 stars, near the historical center of Orvieto, reachable by car in just five minutes. Easily accessible from the most important lines of communications: 300 meters from the exit of the motorway A1, 1 km from Orvieto train station and 1 km from the characteristic funicular. The historical center of Orvieto is also accessible by bus from the stop in front of Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orvieto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing