We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Picchio
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Corso(Orvieto)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Virgilio(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Badia di Orvieto(Orvieto)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
155
219
74
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
219
74
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew buildinghome made cakesold towntrain stationthe ownerlovely womanlower townyogurtwalled cityfamily run hotelstay there againthe main hotelhard boiled eggscontinental breakfasttriple roomvisiting orvietohill town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband I spent one night in this small hotel as we were returning our car and taking the train to Rome. The location was convenient to the train station, car rental and the funicular. We had a room in the annex on the first floor with a lovely balcony. The room was spacious and clean with a good WIFI connetion. We were able to park our car in a garage. The breakfast was good with lots of cakes prepared by the staff. The only drawback with the location is the funicular stops running 2030 so we opted to eat near the hotel. We were there on Sunday and the restaurant recommended by the front desk was closed. Overall, a good value and convenient location to the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex that has a nice balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent one night at this small hotel and it was very nice. Our room was a good size compared with other rooms I've had in Italy. Breakfast was wonderful -- bene dolce! The hotel was an easy walk (less than 5 min) to funicular, which gets you into the old city of Orvieto. The price cannot be beat - wonderful value for what we got. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We got a very restful overnight stay in this hotel. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk from the Orvieto train station. There's a signposted road in between a pizza place and the petrol station that can be easily missed in the dark (happened to us). The road leading up to the hotel is steep but manageable. We got a room in the new wing, on the highest floor. Be warned that there are no lifts in the new wing. The room was spacious, clean, and wifi-access was appreciated. Breakfast was pleasant, with lots of cakes lovingly prepared by the friendly staff there. We found it an easy walk to car rental agencies nearby to pick up our rental.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ask for a room on a lower floor if you have heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Despite the woeful air-conditioning* I really liked this small hotel. My wife and I had a room in the new building with a pleasant view of the nearby hills. Apart from the aforementioned air-con everything was up to three star standard and we had a large flower bedecked balcony which we really should have made more use of. The breakfast room was rather twee reminding us of an English B+B and although cakes are not really my thing at that time of day the coffee was to die for. The location could be seen as either good or bad. The hotel is close to the train station making it handy for arrivals and departures but is at the bottom of the cliff. There is a funicular railway running up and down the cliff but this stops at 2030.. If you wish to descend after that hour there's a bus at 2110 or an expensive taxi ride home. A third option is to take the unlit walking path down to the hotel's door. We only tried that during daylight hours and found it easy to miss and slippery in parts.
* I later found inadequate air-conditioning to be commonplace in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,371,973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This family-run hotel was fine for the purposes of our one night stay in Orvieto. It is not in the historic part of town on top of the hill. Rather it is very close to the train station and the funicular which takes you up to the beautiful and charming part of Orvieto. Please note that the last funicular down to the hotel is at 8:30 pm, so there was no time to linger in the evening. We were in the main hotel in a small room on the third floor . It was clean with a small balcony. We had to catch an early train, so we didn't sample the breakfast. The owner was very gracious and offered to deduct that from the price of the room - an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews