We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We only stayed one night, but great B&B. We came in later than expected, but found a note with directions to our room where we found the key, and our room all ready to go! Right next to Duomo. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast great and brought to the room. Clean and rather large room. You cannot beat the value of this B&B!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We checked in with Serena upon arrival. She was in the family bar on street level. Serena was very cheery and helpful. She showed us our apartment upstairs even offering to carry my bag for me up to the 3rd floor. The apt was nice with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. We bought some bread, cheese and wine at the street market and had lunch on the small balcony off our kitchen. Breakfast is served in the family bar downstairs. The B&B is centrally located to the businesses, duomo and the upper bus stop. From the train station take the funicular to the top and the the bus to the main piazza. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and loved it. Our room was very inexpensive and had a nice living room, kitchen, and patio. The location was central above a small restaurant owned by the family. Our host Serena was fun and helpful. This was the best value of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Two nights in Orvieto was not enough! We were able to see the town high on a hill as we exited from the autostrada. On arriving in the old city we parked the car in a central parking lot and walked to the Residence La Magnolia. The owner, Serena cheerfully walked with us back to our car and directed us to the free parking area not far from the B and B. The lovely apartment had a kitchen, dining area, living room and large bedroom. There was a beautifully carved wooden room divider shaped like a tree that provided a small separation between the dining area and living room. The breakfast included a cappucino, choice of some really nice pastries, juice and yogurt served in the wine bar on the first level of the building which is run by Serena's brother. The other menu items served later in the day looked great and we enjoyed a glass of the local red wine one afternoon. La Magnolia is an easy walk to the cathedral, museums, shopping (great ceramics), restaurants and other sites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013. The room we had was beautiful. The bathroom was very large, with a nice sized shower with plenty of hot water. We were there on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. I guess you normally have breakfast in the bar downstairs, but the bar is closed on Wednesdays. So, they delivered our breakfast to our room. Because we had to leave very early on Thursday she delivered a traveling breakfast to us Wednesday afternoon. All in all, we loved this place and would highly recommend it. It is very convenient to the main square in Orvieto (1 block). The square is where the huge Duomo (cathedral) is located.

Room Tip: We had one of their best rooms, although we didn't select it. It had a queen or maybe king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmulho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent two nights here in early October. The apartment was huge with a full kitchen and living room in addition to the bedroom overlooking the street. The double windows and shutters kept the street noise out. Serena was so kind to us. We had a great time. I hope we can return one of these days. Orvieto is a magical town, and La Magnolia is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertBeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

For two weeks this September, my husband and I visited the magical Etruscan hilltown of Orvieto known for its glorious Duomo (with its frescoed chapel by Luca Signorelli). Orvieto is surrounded by the glorious Umbrian countryside with its undulating green hills and cypress trees. The landscape rivals the beauty of Tuscany. You can hike the trail that makes a ring around the city or venture out to the walking trails beyond.
On the main street of town there is a jewel of a B&B called La Magnolia - in the piazza where a real Magnolia tree stands! I was astounded by the beuaty and spaciousness of our apartment with its frescoed ceiling and fully equipped kitchen. It was light and bright and the furnishings and decor are exquisite- all for 65 euros a night.
La Magnolia is owned and run by the very lovely Serena, an Orvieto native who speaks English. She can share hints about places to visit, eat and drink. Make sure to take the Etruscan underground tour in Orvieto and check out nearby Civita di Bagnoreggio. Serena also rents out a small house and lovely apartment in the old part of the city.
Breakfast is abundant in the bar below-Da Brozzi (At the Brozzi's - it's a family affair) run by Serena's two handsome brothers.
A word of caution for older travellors - there is no elevator and there are stairs to climb!
Do not miss the opportunity to visit Orvieto and stay at La Magnolia for a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: We loved our apartment with the frescoed ceiling! Each apartment that I saw was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#1 of 54 in Orvieto
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B La soffitta e La Torre
0.1 mi away
Valentina Bed & Breakfast
Valentina Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 54 in Orvieto
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Duomo 29, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range: £52 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Magnolia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Magnolia Bed And Breakfast
Residence La Magnolia Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing