We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views and Top Quality Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altarocca Wine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altarocca Wine Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
993 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,998 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Top Quality Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not much here not to like. Beautiful rolling hills of wine and olive orchards. Nicely appointed large rooms. Two large pools, fitness room, and a solid restaurant. Rooms are air conditioned and have wifi.

Run by Emiliano and Sabrina this country resort is about 15 minutes north of Orvieto by car. There are about 20 rooms/apartments but more are under construction. Rates are 110-150 euros for a double.

The property itself is hilly and steep in places. It is a lovely walk from the top building to the reception and restaurant building, but it is a moderately hard 10 minute walk and steep in places. The path is well lit and safe.

This is the perfect place if you just want to hang out by a pool with a great view and chill. There are short hikes in the area with lovely views of the surrounding area. And, Orvieto is worth a visit as one of Umbria's best hill towns.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Room Tip: Top building ("Olio") is close to the upper pool and has great views but is a hike from re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    166
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
136
449
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent 2 restful days and 3 nights in this beautiful resort. We had a 1-bedroom apartment with scenic views of the surrounding landscape. It is quiet and peaceful day and night so you can really relax. There are trails to walk or ride (bikes are available). There are multiple swimming pools. The apartments are fully equipped including kitchens, so you can purchase local products and make your own meals. However, the food at the restaurant is amazing and I would suggest letting the excellent staff take care of you! It is easy to reach Orvietto and other spots if you want a day trip.

We were with a tour group and had to leave, or we would have stayed additional days. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MethosAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I rented one of the 2-bedroom apartments for our Italy trip with his parents. We were located near the new swimming pool up the hill, so about a 10-minute stroll to the restaurant. We loved our relaxing stay here! The swimming pools were nice, but still a little chilly in early July.

We only spent about 2-hours in Orvieto itself as we simply wanted to enjoy relaxing by the pool with our wine, cheese and olives. So peaceful!

My only complaint would be that after 2 nights, the four of us had tried everything on the restaurant's menu. It would have been nice to maybe have a daily special or additional menu items. For breakfast, we thought there were plenty of items to choose from, and the cappuccinos were perfect!

We would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerberagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, MT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I ended up here on a whim while traveling Italy. We meant to stay one night, but because of the beauty of the region, the great staff, and the overall environment, we ended up staying 2.
We dined in the restaurant both nights, doing the two different food and wine pairings. The meals were incredible! The presentation flawless. Very impressed with the restaurant. The breakfast spread was good, a nice variety.
I know there were others staying at the resort, but it felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The view over all the vineyards and the town are breathtaking. We had a sliding door onto a patio that overlooked a backyard area with olive trees and a neighboring vineyard. Most of our time was spend on that patio sipping wine and taking a breather from the more hectic touring aspects of Italy. There was light rain most of our stay, creating mist and rainbows over the valley and the vineyards. And there was a bathtub in the room! No better way to relax on vacation!
Would recommend this resort to anyone, although after more than a few days, you may run out of things to do. We went in the fall, so weren't able to take advantage of the pool. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKitty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The resort is in a beautiful setting and the views are amazing. Spent 4 nights there and dined in the restaurant on 3 of them. The food is superb but the menu range varied according to how busy they were. A big party on the Sunday night reduced the restaurant menu to half - a bit tough if you were anticipating a particular dish that was pulled as a result! The apartment was great for sleeping in but as there was no comfortable furniture to sit on and the TV was situated near the ceiling, evenings in were not fun. The two swimming pools were of a very high standard and never crowded. Just one word of warning for those of limited mobility, the pathways all have pretty steep sections - but, then, what do you expect in a hillside resort.

The staff were very helpful and the architecture is classic modern Italian but don't rely upon satnav to get you there. 'Jane' obviously reverted to her military ancestry and directed us along pathways that even tanks would baulk at! A quick phone call to Reception soon had us back on civilian roads to our target. All in all, an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view appear to be family sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you want a secluded and relaxing stay in Orvieto (a bit of distance from the centre of Orvieto though), this is a good option. You can overlook the beautiful rolling hills of Umbria from the hotel,
and they have a nice swimming pool (actually two, though we used only one), a proper size of gym for workout and a lovely restaurant where you can enjoy dining outside too. Food is nice with a few modern touches, rather than typical and rustic local Umbrian cuisine. Service is attentive and you can enjoy your meal till the end. The only small disappointment is breakfast variety - 3 years ago, I also had breakfast and at that time there was a wider range of options yet now just another Italian breakfast, as you may imagine what they are.
Perhaps because they already established good enough reputation, so breakfast quality is no longer their attention or simply recession has forced them to do so?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I spent 2 nights at this resort and I wish I could have spent more days there.
Perfect place for you if you want to spend relaxing days at the beautiful countryside of Umbria. The surroundings are awesome and the atmosphere is so peaceful.
The resort itself consists on couple of apartments and on the main buildning (where the reception is) are couple of rooms. I had single room at the main buildning and the room was clean and beautifully decorated with minibar.
The 2 pools were perfect! From the upper pool you can watch the beautiful sceenery while swimming or taking sun. The pool areas where clean and taking cared of.
The breakfast was simple Italian style buffet. There is also restaurant where I ate once good salad for lunch. Unfortunately I hadn't possibility to eat dinner there as we went out to Orvieto town for a dinner.
Beautiful place to have weddings!
The town of Orvieto is half an hours drive away from the resort. Toscany is just around the corner and there's one hour drive to Rome.
I had the priviledge to get to know the owners and they were really warm-hearted people.
If I have The possibility, I will definitely come against to this resort!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the main buildning, ask the room with the balcony and view to the countyside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia_L79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 28 in Orvieto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 28 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altarocca Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altarocca Wine Resort

Property: Altarocca Wine Resort
Address: Loc. Rocca Ripesena, 62, 05010, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort, spreading across almost thirty acres of organic vineyards and olive grows, comprises four villas with suites and apartments, three sun-kissed swimming pools, an incomparable wellness SPA, an advanced gym and bicycles at your disposal to explore the surroundings. The Altarocca Restaurant, awarded two forks by the Michelin Guide, is an eminent destination for exploring the traditional cuisine of Umbria. The Altarocca Winery is a veritable wine boutique, where you can taste a range of wines, including our very own ones, in wine tastings with chocolate and other delicacies. These ultimate ingredients will turn your holiday in Orvieto into an unforgettable experience of our prestige hotel. The Altarocca Wine Resort will give you a breath-taking view of the Orvieto rock and the Umbrian hills. The prestige lodgings are displaced in four excellent villas, which are connected by pathways leading through herb-scented olive grows and vineyards. Give in to temptation and... Be divine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Altarocca Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Rocca Orvieto Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing