We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Borgo San Faustino
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“boutique 5 star”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

what can i say... we did not expect this... everything was perfect - the room, the service, the restaurant, the swimming pool...the farm trip.... the SPA... everything...we came here this May for a couple of nights for a stop over on our car trip through Italy and this was the best experience we had. This place is somehow amazingly well managed... We went to different places in Italy after this and those were dissapointement in comparison to Borgo San Faustino... attaching pictures here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    233
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
99
560
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent 3 days at the resort and it turned out to be a wonderful stay. We have found a great pool and a very nice spa area. The view from the room or anywhere in the resort, is spectacular.
The staff are cheerful and always very helpful.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Borgo San Faustino is a nice and quiet place hidden in the hills east of Orvieto. The drive from Orvieto is around 15 minutes via mostly curvy mountain roads, not recommended in rain or darkness. Since Borgo San Faustino offers breakfast and dinner, it is a good idea to have dinner on site to avoid a drive into Orvieto. We had booked two nights with mezza pensione at the standard rate and were upgraded to a nicer room on arrival. The room was nicely decorated and clean. A desk and chair would definitely have been a plus for a longer stay.
The place seems to offer various activities for summer travellers. There is a swimming pool, a jaccuzzi, and a playground for children. The surrounding hills invite guests to hike and mountain bike. For a winter stay in inclement weather, we would have appreciated a cosier general area in the main building, maybe with a fireplace or piano.
Borgo makes its own olive oil and wine, which we tasted at dinner. For an agritourismo, farming activities were invisible. The vineyards are off site, and we could not detect any activities related to oil, cheese, or salume making. The place comes across as a collection of chalets and rooms rather than an agritourismo.
The first dinner we had was phenomenal, with various choices offered for each course. We also had the local red wine, which was good (you pay extra for beverages). The dinner on the next night was somewhat restricted in choices, but still good. The waiter's attention this time seemed to be more with people associated with the owner(s). The choices offered at the breakfast buffet were good and plenty.
We could not detect a Wifi connection, but in all fairness, we had not asked.
All in all, Borgo San Faustino seems to be a good choice for a quiet retreat with good access to Orvieto.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

My brother and his wife just got married in Orvieto and both their families stayed in Borgo San Faustino. We would like to thank the manager Maurizio and his wonderful staff for making the whole week so special for us all.

Borgo is set in a beautiful location, overlooking rolling Umbrian hills and has something for everyone, young and old: a great pool, hot tub, gym, sauna, table tennis, bowls, and lots of comfortable corners for just reading, playing cards or chatting over a gin and tonic.

Eddi the cook provided wonderful food all week, and especially a fantastic wedding banquet in a magical and memorable setting. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

We have stayed in a number of agriturismi around Italy, and this is one of the best for friendliness, value for money, good food, and wonderful views.

We can highly recommend Borgo San Faustino for a relaxing break.

  • Liked — Food, wine, views
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

we are an Irish couple who through friends arranged to get married and stay here aug 07. The setting is fabulous and the staff very welcoming. The staff do not overcrowd and you are not treated like you might be by hotel staff but this was the way we wanted it. We did not take up half board but did have a few meals here. Our wedding reception was just as we wished they took worked with us to give us the meal we wanted.. wow... there was so much food.. and the bill was very reasonable. they have a number of tiers/terraces and when set up with the wedding flowers it was magical.

The rooms are traditional Italian style-tile flooring, wooden beds, some four poster. the main dining area overlooks the pool and the valley, vineyards etc the whole setting encourages intimacy and has plenty of space for the few people who reside to spread out. the pool is great and we spent most of our days (and some midnights) down here. there are some steps around the place so maybe not suitable for those with walking diffs. you can stay in cluster rooms like apartments where four rooms lead of a living room or can stay in separate rooms in outer buildings. you need a rental car though as everyting is a drive away, though accessible.. we spent a lot of time in and out to orvieto.

I could tell more but if you have questions please make contact with me. I have attached a few photos to give you a flavour. this really is a hidden gem.

  • Liked — The entire setting/location could not be beaten
  • Disliked — have no complaints-at all and we were there for a week...
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank STICKGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

I would like to tell you all about my Christmas holiday at "Borgo San Faustino"

everything was perfect in the first day, the rooms were good and Orvieto is one of the most unic places in Umbria

but for our surprise at the firs lunch we found it wierd how the crew treated us, first of all we didnt get what we had ordered the amount of food wasnt enough and we had to ask several times for all

this continued for 2 days when on the second day one of the workers of the place with who we talked told us that the manager thinks that we wont pay them at the end

in that presice moment we left the place payind for the whole remaining week

This is a terrible place with owners that dont respect people
Its a shame because it is written in the Michelin guide

So if you go there please let them see your wallet first!!!! so you will get treated nicely

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank grony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2005

Found this agriturismo through Michelin which is unusual as Michelin lists very few agriturismos. Very glad they did in this case.

Outstanding view of the country side, particularly from the pool & other outdoor areas. Has many facilities not offered by many agriturismos such as a bucci ball area & very well equipped gym.


Take the half board option as it is a great value and the food is wonderful. Rooms are very nice & well decorated. We stayed in one of their out buildings which is new, but the interiors are charming. They have also included nice touches such as mohair blankets in the rooms which came in handly as when we stayed there it was a little chilly & we used them while reading around the pool. It is those touches that make it a superior agriturismo.


The location was good & about a 20 minute drive up in the hills from the interesting town of Orvieto.


The Filippi family are very hospitable, although be prepared for very little english being spoken. I do not consider it a problem if you know at least a little of Italian for the traveler.

Helpful?
2 Thank Triplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
3.8 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
567 reviews
6.6 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
280 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
354 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
461 reviews
6.8 mi away
Altarocca Wine Resort
Altarocca Wine Resort
#2 of 30 in Orvieto
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo San Faustino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo San Faustino

Property: Relais Borgo San Faustino
Address: Localita San Faustino 11, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Borgo San Faustino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving in Borgo San Faustino you feel the sensation of being in a place where tranquility and peace blend with nature. The houses of the 14th century, forming the village, have been beautifully restored recreating a warm and romantic atmosphere. Inside the estate of 300 hectares of woods and meadows and streams that form a small lake, there are herds of cattle and the famous Chianina Cinta Senese pigs, the farm with crops and orchards, gardens, deer and wild boar living in total freedom in the private reserve. The Borgo San Faustino is now a Relais. Its simplicity and its surroundings infuse warmth and harmony. Everything contributes to make the stay unique and unforgettable experience: rooms carefully refined, peaceful atmosphere is elegant and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Relais Borgo San Faustino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing