We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Grand Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Italia
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a double room (double bed). The room had a nice size closet, TV (no English speaking channels), hair dryer, soap, shampoo, conditioner, bidet , not sure if a/c works well because the outside temp at end of May was pleasant. There are 2 straight back chairs and a desk, a safe in the room big enough for an ipad. no iron or wash clothes. There is a frig. Ice is hard to come by but they have it if you ask. There is a bar and a small eating area but not sure if they serve meals all day. I don't believe they have wifi, but there are computers available to use. The hotel is located nicely in area for walking to the Dumo, shops, bars/ restaurants.
We would stay there again

The city is very quaint and a wonderful place to vacation

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheretonext123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    76
    55
    18
    10
See reviews for
33
88
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 14 nights in July 2013. My room, 312, had a double bed and an armoire, a desk and chair. It was large as far as European standards go. I was fortunate to have a small terrace that did double duty as my clothes line. :)

My bathroom was quite narrow. The toilet smaller than normal and you had to sit a little to the side. LOL. This did not bother me at all!

I did go buy my own hangers for 5 euro to make things easier for me. I jus wanted to unpack and be organized.

There is a lovely terrace on the third floor, which is for all to share. Our group took full advantage of this!

There is an ample variety of breakfast options including fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fresh rolls and juices. I always found something to eat.

Staff is very accommodating. Location in the town is central and convenient to all the sites!

I would definitely stay here should I be fortunate enough to visit Orvieto in the future.

Room Tip: The higher the better but the 3rd floor is convenient for using the outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opal91086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morbio Inferiore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Small room, and I mean SMALL. The doors can't completely open as they smash against the bed all the time, including the door of the minibar. Small tv with only a very few channels, and only one plug to charge your appliances.
Very small bathroom, VERY small. If you are claustrophobic you would never be able to shower, as the shower is that small you can't even turn around...
Breakfast is ridiculous for a four star hotel, very small choice, and I hate the fruit juice coming from an automated machine.
Very friendly staff. Shame.
Overall, I would not be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somoro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orvieto hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We only stayed on night in Orvieto but the hotel was really close to shops, lovely traditional restaurants and sites. Our room was lovely and spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The staff were cordial but still very helpful. The only issue we had was that our shower didn't seal properly and leaked under the door into the main room about a metre. Breakfast was average. We also had no issue with the bells waking us up during the night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We spent 2 nights in Orvieto, which is a lovely place.
We took a taxi from the station to the hotel, as it would be too far to walk with luggage from the funicular. We booked the same taxi driver to pick us up and take us back to the station, the day we left.
Our room was very large, on a corner, facing the street. It had 2 large windows, a couch and desk. The bathroom also had a window, a bath and it was quite large.
The trouble was the church bells at night. We could hear them all night long. Our matress was very hard.
The shower over the bath tended to flood the bathroom, no matter which way we turned it. The bathroom door was showing signs of being wet all the time.
Breakfast was included on room rate and we found it to be quite poor. Coffee came from machines, which we operated ourselves. They sometimes dispensed awful coffee and sometimes water! The only morning we saw eggs was when a large tour group stayed overnight. By the time we got to them, they were dry and hard. There were live weevils in the muesli and the choice of food was very slim. No one attended at breakfast time.
Internet was included but we couldn’t get connection in our room, so we had to resort to the lounge area.
Orvieto is very small and the hotel was a short walk from everything.
We spent 2 full days exploring it. There is plenty to do and see and some great places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangeley, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The hotel has a wonderful location. It's very close to the Duomo and all the shops in lovely Orvieto. And, it's very clean. But... The bed is the hardest bed I've ever tried to sleep on and the pillows aren't much better. Very uncomfortable. Then there's the noise, from the hallways, the street, and the bathrooms in the hotel. Very difficult to get a good night's sleep here. The TV is miniscule, the breakfast is unexciting and the coffee is really bad! I would recommend this hotel because it is clean and the location is great but, I'd recommend with a substantial warning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Our family was happy with this hotel down a small street off the main shopping street in Orvieto. 5 minute walk from main square (Duomo). I will say it was a little difficult to drag our bags from the main square bus stop due to the uneven streets. Without bags it was quite a pleasant and easy walk. The breakfast was ok typical European breakfast buffet (bread, yogurt, a few cereals, cheese, meat). They did make me an espresso when I asked for one. Front staff was a little indifferent but not flat-out rude. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquila Bianca
Hotel Aquila Bianca
#17 of 30 in Orvieto
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Italia

Property: Grand Hotel Italia
Address: Via di Piazza del Popolo 13, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique palace built on the 19th century, the GRAND HOTEL ITALIA is located in the historic centre of Orvieto, next to the suggestive "Palazzo del Capitano del Popolo", now Convention centre, to the Cathedral and to the most important monuments of the medieval city. Its large terraces with hanging gardens are open over the panorama of the city of the tuff, discovering the antique beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing