We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible visit”
Review of Grand Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Italia
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very poor. No ice as they tell me machine is broken every day even though in the mornings the owner (?) Michela assures us that well will have ice that evening. I tip the "bellman" 10 Euro to go to local bars and other hotels and it appears.
Air conditioning although on to max is totally inefficient. Front desk co-owner (Paolo) pretends "No English speaking"
No maid service today.
This is supposedly a 4 star. In our book its a two at best.

Room Tip: forgetta bout it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a lovely hotel this was and very much in the Italian style. We stayed here one night on our way back home. The hotel is very well situated for visiting the lovely cathedral and square and soaking up the atmosphere of Orvieto which is well worth a visit. The rooms were great extremely spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely a great size. The public areas were very well furnished and the staff were very pleasant. The only down side to this hotel is that we found it noisey we were in a corner room and you also have two striking clocks to contend with throughout the night so be warned. The breakfasts were excellent and we could actually have a cooked one which made a change and was very good. The other thing which surprised us was the fact that there did not appear to be any air conditioning so we had to open the windows which didn't help the noise factor.

Room Tip: If at all possible try and get a room at the back of the hotel which should be less noisey but you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bed was quite comfortable. Bathroom was exceptionally small - shower looked like it came out of an RV. Door opened and hit slanted roof. Others reported no such problem. Great terrace for drinks. Charming lobby/bar. Great location in the center of town just barely off the piazza.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CV D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved this hotel, our room was on the top floor and we had a balcony and a terrace. The views were amazing, to say the least. The room was a perfect size and the bathroom was bigger than our last hotel in Siena. The only odd thing was that we had two twin beds (made us think of Lucy & Ricky). The breakfast was good, eggs, bacons, toast and some pastries. The hotel is centrally located, it was reasonably priced, the parking is different, we had to pay for it, which was fine and we had a little walk to get to it. The WI-Fii was a little spotty, If we get the chance I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!! I am sure they all had good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Grand Hotel Italia. Our room was on the top floor and had a balcony with a stunning view. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The shower worked well. Breakfast was fine and included eggs and bacon. The hotel is centrally located and reasonably priced. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Right in the centre of this beautiful town. Couple of early problems with no toilet paper at all in the bathroom and our luggage sent to a wrong room two floors up. But other than that, no complaints, the room was a really good size and fast reliable wifi which has been lacking elsewhere on our trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a pleasant stay here. Our room had a beautiful view of the valley. The room was extremely large by any country's standards, and the bathroom was large and well-appointed. Breakfast was fine. The location could not be beat, tucked away in the old city of Orvieto - lots of atmosphere and easy to reach the keys spots in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeCodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquila Bianca
Hotel Aquila Bianca
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#20 of 30 in Orvieto
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Italia

Address: Via di Piazza del Popolo 13, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique palace built on the 19th century, the GRAND HOTEL ITALIA is located in the historic centre of Orvieto, next to the suggestive "Palazzo del Capitano del Popolo", now Convention centre, to the Cathedral and to the most important monuments of the medieval city. Its large terraces with hanging gardens are open over the panorama of the city of the tuff, discovering the antique beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing