We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am dreaming of going back!”
Review of Locanda Palazzone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Palazzone
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Ootmarsum, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
“I am dreaming of going back!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was more than we expected!
The service was great, Lodovico and his family were very nice, the pool and the view were beautiful! The beds very good, it was quiet at night, the breakfest was very good, we tasted the wine more then once! We all agreed, this was the most beautiful place we stayed in Italy! And we would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mardi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    25
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
43
123
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The cherry on the cake of our honeymoon was here. And it truly delivered. We had the winetasting evening meal which was very special and intimate. A beautiful location which oozed style and class which we really appreciated as our treat destination.
We met some lovely guests from minnesota and consumed lots of amazing wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fabzz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent five nights here at the start of August. The hotel is perfect in every way. The rooms are beautifully designed, spacious and with lovely views. Beds are vast and comfortable with crisp white linen; everything we want from a hotel room. Bvlgari green tea toiletries were a treat and appreciated.

We were travelling with a two year old and the hotel owners went that extra mile to ensure we had a relaxing and enjoyable time. Our table was set with high chair and plastic cups when we arrived at breakfast, our bib/cup was washed and returned, and the owners even put on a wash load of children's clothes for us and I don't think we were charged for this. Thank you.

The terrace where meals and breakfast is served is an exquisite place to sit. We booked this hotel because we could eat an evening meal within range of baby radio. The food was very good, although dinner was perhaps a little fancy for the scale of the operation; less ambitious, more traditional italian fare would be just as successful and well received. I would urge the hotel owners to keep the dinner offer in season. It is a key part of experience and convenience of the hotel. It's why we booked. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a suite but if you have little children, the family room might be best as there was a scantil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sienacinquecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent 2 days at Locanda Palazzone while exploring Orvieto. We lived in the family-suite, which was perfect, also for 2 couples - not only families!

The property is lovely with a swimmingpool from heaven! You can easily spend hours there! Also a self sevice bar at your disposal by the pool!

Our highlight was the late night dinners! The food was PERFECT. Fish seems to bee their speciality, since they produce white wine! Which also is just lovely. We bought several bottles from their selection. The owner gladly make a guided tour of the property.

This is the place to stay during exploration of Orvieto!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The family suite can accomodate both a family and two couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichterNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We recently returned to this lovely place, and it was every bit as gorgeous as we remembered. Peaceful and set in the most lovely position. Ludovico is the perfect host and the staff are great.
Dinner is overlooking the vineyards and is always unusual and delicious. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucindadm d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Palazzone is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Lodovico, Sylvia, and Babu are engaging hosts and there when you need them, the building is modern and tasteful, the room was spacious, the poolside and surrounding vineyard is beautiful, the breakfasts are tasty, the 5 course dinner we has one night was memorable, and its all 10 minutes from Orvieto - one of the nicest hill towns in Italy (in our opinion). There really isn't anything to fault with this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are upstairs with views over the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vaughan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

In a beautiful setting the main building has been well restored. Amongst the vineyard the pool is a nice place to relax. Can't help getting the feeling though that for so much going for it and the price point, this place doesn't quite stack up. Rooms are spartan for this level of hotel. Whilst there is a restaurant on site, it is a set menu for the gastronomically adventurous and quite expensive. Although the menu is meant to change each day, it didn't in the four nights we were there, so we only ate there once. Given it is a well regarded winery you would think it would be easy to organise a tasting. Apparently not, we were told unless outside guests arrived and we wanted to tack on with them our best chance would be to just buy a few bottles over the evening meal. Booked through mr & mrs smith, one we wouldn't necessarily go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howey1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.7 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
479 reviews
6.6 mi away
Relais Borgo San Faustino
2.9 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#6 of 30 in Orvieto
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Palazzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Palazzone

Property: Locanda Palazzone
Address: Loc. Rocca Ripesena, 67, 05019, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here in Umbria, overlooking a romantic view of the Duomo of Orvieto , along the route of the ancient Via Francigena where pilgrims refreshed themselves before journeying on to Rome, we welcome you and accommodate you in elegant suites restored in the authentic style of the 14th century. At the Locanda Palazzone surrounded by our vineyard, our guests can discover the flavours of Umbria in our Enoteca, dine on the terrace on summer evenings, swim in the pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Locanda Palazzone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Palazzone Orvieto
Locanda Palazzone Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing